1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Quick Answers / 'Newbie' Questions

Discussion in 'Civ4 - General Discussions' started by Civrules, Oct 29, 2005.

  1. Tephra

    Tephra Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2005
    Messages:
    7
    20. In CIV (1 or 2 i cant remember) you used to get to build your palace whenever the Citizens loved you... has this gone?

    21. Spaceship victory how do you launch it? Last night I had 1 turn left in the game (before 2050) and i finished the final part (and all multiples of the other parts) but it didn't launch...

    22. Last night I was able to build Canon's a few turns went by and I went to build some more canon's but I wasn't able to, only Catapults. I had to wait a few turns to go by before I could build them again.. whats up with that?
     
  2. jordanandsteph

    jordanandsteph Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    Messages:
    19
    Location:
    Sonoran Desert
    how do you chat in multiplayer mode?
     
  3. S_Money

    S_Money Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2005
    Messages:
    1
    This is probably a really stupid question, but how do I bombard cities and units? I have catapults and I can attack with them, but that causes them to be destroyed. It does collateral damage, but doesn't reduce the city defense bonus. So how do I bombard cities to reduce their defense bonus?
     
  4. thedaian

    thedaian Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2005
    Messages:
    95
    Location:
    Ohio, USA
    20. No, the palacing buildup is gone. It would have been a neat thing to keep in, though.

    21. You no longer actually launch the spaceship, it does it automaticly. If you can't build any more of the ships pieces in cities, and all the parts are done, then, you should win. I'm not sure if it takes a turn to actually "launch", though. Anyone want to verify this?

    There's an button that's got a picture of a target on it when you have catapults, or any other seige weapon selected. Click that. (I didn't see it at first, myself.)

    23 (i think). Is there a "free range" camera option? Sulla's walkthrough topic mentioned it, but I haven't figured it out yet. Did it get turned off for the final release?
     
  5. fastspawn

    fastspawn Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Messages:
    60
    i am confused about the concept of power in Civ IV

    does it actually increase production as in previous versions?
    I don't think so. an icon appear at the world map showing that this city has power along with the religions.
     
  6. Prince David

    Prince David David di Xeno

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Messages:
    201
    Location:
    Twin Cities
    Can you make armies in Civ IV?
     
  7. Birdjaguar

    Birdjaguar Hanafubuki Retired Moderator Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2001
    Messages:
    40,048
    Location:
    Albuquerque, NM
    No. The very cool promotion system has replaced it.
     
  8. rahidz2003

    rahidz2003 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2004
    Messages:
    17
    Location:
    Charlottesville, VA
    25) How do you skip the second intro movie (the one about how the earth began, yada yada)? It's nice the first few times, but having to listen to it for 5 minutes every time is getting annoying :(
     
  9. Birdjaguar

    Birdjaguar Hanafubuki Retired Moderator Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2001
    Messages:
    40,048
    Location:
    Albuquerque, NM
    Mouse click works for me.:D
     
  10. rahidz2003

    rahidz2003 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2004
    Messages:
    17
    Location:
    Charlottesville, VA
    Thanks...for some reason, it doesn't work for me though, guess I'll have to find a way to get rid of the intro :(

    *adds to list of bugs*
     
  11. Birdjaguar

    Birdjaguar Hanafubuki Retired Moderator Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2001
    Messages:
    40,048
    Location:
    Albuquerque, NM
    Haave you also tried: esc, enter, & space bar?
     
  12. woodelf

    woodelf Bard

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2003
    Messages:
    15,036
    Location:
    Gallery
    I'll post my GNP question here....

    I'm getting pounded in GNP in my games. What am I doing wrong? My total has been less than half of the average of the other civs! Horrible.
     
  13. Pragmatic

    Pragmatic Prince

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2001
    Messages:
    539
    I double-clicked on a city, and it's production queue appeared at the bottom of the screen. Have you tried that?
     
  14. DarthCycle

    DarthCycle WWII Freako

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Messages:
    290
    26 - Can there be more than one religion in a city? If so, where is the information/ratios about the different religion present ?

    27 - What are the different ways to convert a city from one religion to another?

    28 - I send missionaries into cities with a religion already present, and they always fail, why? How is the success/failure ratio calculated?
     
  15. Pragmatic

    Pragmatic Prince

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2001
    Messages:
    539
    26) Yes, you can get more than 1 religion in a city. I was trying for all seven religions in all of my cities (for the Free Religion civic). I don't know where the ratios are on a city basis, but the Convert advisor (F7, I believe?) tells you on a worldly basis.

    27) I don't think you can convert a city. You can only add to the religions.

    28) One of the religious civics prevents non-state religions from being spread. That could be the problem. However, I was running on Free Religion, and was having failed attempts to spread my religion(s) around.
     
  16. BlackMonsterUK

    BlackMonsterUK Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2002
    Messages:
    18
    Location:
    London
    29) Where can you see the buildings your city currently has? I know you can zoom into a city and have to guess what each building is, but is there a list somewhere on the city screen that I've missed?
    30) How can you destroy buildings? For instance, when I change my religion I want to get rid of temples and monasteries of old religions in order to convert quicker. How can I do that?
     
  17. woodelf

    woodelf Bard

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2003
    Messages:
    15,036
    Location:
    Gallery
    Crap, forgot to number mine, like going to a deli....

    31) I'm getting pounded in GNP in my games. What am I doing wrong? My total has been less than half of the average of the other civs! Horrible.

    :D
     
  18. KrikkitTwo

    KrikkitTwo Immortal

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Messages:
    12,322
    29 on the right of the city screen is a list of the buildings

    30..don't know if you can destroy them, (since they don't cost maintenance any more) but you don't need to, you will never get rid of a religion in a city. And I don't think religious buildings in a city discourage another religion from coming in (not sure though)
     
  19. avonhun

    avonhun Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2005
    Messages:
    6
    bump these questions (only 17 has been answered to my knowledge)

    good ones Krikkitone

    also,

    32. Are people finding the worker automation adequate? A few times it has seemed like there could be more useful improvements and sometimes later in the game my workers are just sitting in a city when they could be improving others.

    and

    33. how do you turn on window mode?
     
  20. avonhun

    avonhun Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2005
    Messages:
    6
    Oh, and one more:

    34. I am a little confused about which wonders are for everyone and which can only be built once in the world. It seems like they all say "only 1 left" or something like that. Is there somewhere I can look for this info?
     

Share This Page