Quick Answers / 'Newbie' Questions

Discussion in 'Civ4 - General Discussions' started by Civrules, Oct 29, 2005.

  1. a4phantom

    a4phantom Perma-newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,062
    Location:
    MN, USA
    What happens if you defy an Apostolic Palace resolution? Specifically, Justinian's got it and he's trying to call off my war. Since I've taken one of his cities I now have a token Buddhist population and am technically a member. I lost the vote (every other Buddhist city belongs to Justinian or his buddies) and the ceasefire came into effect automatically and at an inopportune time without me getting a second chance to defy it. What would have happened if I'd defied it?
     
  2. Roland Johansen

    Roland Johansen Deity

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2003
    Messages:
    4,292
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    If you defy a resolution then the resolution will always fail, no matter the votes for and against.

    If you defy a resolution that would also have failed when you had voted no, then the same thing happens when you would have voted no: the resolution fails.
    If you defy a resolution that would have succeeded when you had voted no, then the resolution fails, but each city with the AP-religion or every single city
    in case of a UN-resolution gets 5 additional unhappiness for 20 turns multiplied by the game speed modifier.

    So in your case, you would have been able to continue the war and the single captured city would have suffered 5 additional unhappiness for 20 turns multiplied by the game speed modifier.
     
  3. a4phantom

    a4phantom Perma-newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,062
    Location:
    MN, USA
    Sheesh! So my one captured and still revolting Buddhist city would have been slightly more ticked off than they already are. Justinian will pay for this embarrassment and inconvenience brought about by my own ignorance!


    Incidentally, I just used the UN to get nukes banned. My mother would be proud.
     
  4. llamadesign

    llamadesign Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    17
    Civ 4 questions here. This is my first Civ game and I am an ULTRA noob so these are very basic questions.

    Beginning of the game:
    ================================

    1) How do you start getting +gold per turn? Does building cottages/hamlets/towns do that?

    2) What makes your gold start to drain? Building military units? Workers? Both?

    3) What's the fastest way to expand your borders early in the game?

    Later in the game:
    ================================

    4) Is there a way to reduce overcrowding in cities? I frequently have a good number of angry citizens because of this and I don't know how to fix the problem.

    I know I have more questions but I'm at work so I can't think of any more right now! Thanks!
     
  5. Crowqueen

    Crowqueen Token forum woman

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Messages:
    629
    Location:
    Reading, UK
    Hiya, llamadesign, welcome to the forum.

    1) Either reduce your science slider (i.e. reduce the percentage of commerce you devote to science) until you start showing a profit, or build a lot of cottages, marketplaces, courthouses and anything else that either reduces maintenance or adds to wealth/commerce.

    2) Military units. There are a certain number of free units, then you start paying to support them. Workers I'm not sure about but using them to mine gold or to chop forests or provide extra resources will in the long run mean your economy runs into surplus rather than deficit (if only it was that simple in real life!).

    3) Either play a Creative leader or found a religion or build monuments/Stonehenge. You only need the immediate radius/"big fat cross" around your cities but you will sometimes find that borders expand readily enough to encompass tiles outside that range which hold resources that count as yours and are therefore connectable to your trade network

    4) I'm not sure but building things like temples and colosseums and trading for luxury resources like gems, gold, furs, etc makes sure that you placate citizens more readily, so reducing the unhappiness generated by overcrowding. There is a certain "happy cap" but someone else will no doubt expand on that as I don't really play much at higher levels and so I'm not aware of it being much of an issue in my games. Or else I just go all out to collect luxuries and other happiness enhancing things like temples etc and it never has an impact. With a Charismatic leader you can get +1 happiness from monuments as well so it is well worth getting Stonehenge for that.
     
  6. CCRunner

    CCRunner Deity

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    3,132
    1) Cottages and whatnot improve your commerce not gold. Commerce is what the various sliders at the top of the screen use. If you increase the gold slider (invisible) then your commerce can be turned into gold. Other ways to get gold include GP's GM's, merchant specialists, holy city shrines and the spiral minaret, as well as pillaging improvements and cities while at war.

    2) Maitenence. Your cities cost maitenence as well as military units. Certain civics cost more to use than others. Units cost even more money when they are not inside your cultural borders. There might be more things as well.

    3) The creative leader trait, a religion, or a monument.

    4) Build buildings that increase happiness or health. If you have theaters or coluseums, you can increase the culture slider to get more happiness. Check these excellent articles in the war academy-
    Ways into Health
    Ways into Happiness
     
  7. Roland Johansen

    Roland Johansen Deity

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2003
    Messages:
    4,292
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    This thread was created for questions like these.

    Your commerce ( :commerce: ) is divided into gold ( :gold: ) and science ( :science: ) by the so called science slider at the top left of the main screen (it's actually not a slider but a percentage that can be lowered and increased). If you lower the percentage of your commerce that is spent on science, then more will go to gold and your gold per turn (gpt) will go up (and the rate at which you research new technologies will go down). Since there are several costs like unit upkeep, city upkeep and civic upkeep, it is typically needed to divert part of your commerce production into gold to pay for these costs. If you divert more commerce into gold, then you will get a positive gpt rate.

    Note that there are several other things that can give you gpt independent from the science slider. At the start of the game, the most common ones are merchant specialists inside your cities and a holy city with a shrine.

    At high difficulty levels, it is harder to get a high science rate combined with a positive gold per turn rate as the costs are higher.

    If you earn more commerce, then a lower percentage of this commerce will pay for all of your costs and you can even get a positive gpt with a fairly high science rate. Buildings that enhance the output of gold (banks, markets, grocers) also help, but they are available later in the game.

    Every single city has a gold upkeep (city upkeep). Then there is civic upkeep. Some civics have a higher upkeep and some a lower one. The bigger your empire, the higher your city and civic upkeep, but you'll also have a bigger commerce production.

    All of your units also have upkeep cost, but you also have a limited free unit upkeep. So only after building several units will you have to pay for the extra units. The bigger your empire, the higher your free unit upkeep, so a big empire can have quite some units without having to pay any upkeep. But you typically also need a larger army to defend all of those big cities.

    Check the financial advisor (F2) for all things related to cost.

    Produce culture.

    If you happen to be creative, then all of your cities automatically 2 culture per turn and this will make your borders expand. If you aren't creative, then a monument is the cheapest and earliest building that produces culture. Later, the theatre produces far more culture for a fairly low building cost. Other buildings like a library, university, monastery and temple also produce culture.

    If you're using the caste system civic, then you can employ an artist specialist without any building requirements and can get the first border expansion quickly. Later after developing music, you can convert production ( :hammers: ) into culture to get that first border expansion.

    If you get a religion in a city, then the city will also produce a low amount of culture.

    No, you can't really reduce overcrowding in cities. Each citizen in your city increases unhappiness by 1 and this unhappiness is named overcrowding. The way to combat this unhappiness is by increasing your happiness by getting luxury resources, certain buildings and a state religion. As long as your happiness is larger than your unhappiness, all of your citizens will be working.

    It's key to manage the size of your cities so that you don't have unhappy citizens. Unhappy citizens contribute nothing and they do eat 2 food ( :food: ). You want to avoid getting unhappy citizens in your cities. This can be achieved by using low food (and high hammer or commerce) tiles when your cities are close to the happy cap. You can also use an early civic named slavery which allows you to hurry production by using population (named pop rushing on this forum). This lowers the population and thus avoids some of the overcrowding. But it does add temporary unhappiness and you don't have the population that could produce other things. But if the population is unhappy anyway, then it's better to use pop rushing to at least get some production.
    Once you have adopted this civic, then the option is available in each city close to the governor buttons.

    Then come back later and someone will surely answer them.

    And welcome to civfanatics!:dance::band::beer:
     
  8. llamadesign

    llamadesign Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    17
    Thank you Crowqueen, CCRunner7 and Roland Johansen! I will definately be back to pick your brains again soon! :goodjob:
     
  9. leckig

    leckig Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2002
    Messages:
    59
    Location:
    Columbus, OH
    how many turns goes between the vote until the resoult is announced?

    Also, do player always gets a chance to defy?

    How often is the voting?

    Thanks!
     
  10. Roland Johansen

    Roland Johansen Deity

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2003
    Messages:
    4,292
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    1

    Yes, except for the diplomatic victory vote. Defying occurs at the moment that you vote and not afterwards. Defying has the same result as voting no if the resolution doesn't get a majority.

    Once every 9 turns, modified for the game speed setting.

    You're welcome.
     
  11. r_rolo1

    r_rolo1 King of myself

    Joined:
    May 19, 2006
    Messages:
    13,818
    Location:
    Lisbon, Portugal
    Not exactly. You can't defy a "Stop the war vs...." resolution if you aren't involved in that war. Learned that the hard way, when the AP decided to stop my dogpile in Izzy asking to stop the war vs her before I could jump in....
     
  12. a4phantom

    a4phantom Perma-newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,062
    Location:
    MN, USA
    As I'm romping joyfully through Byzantium, each of Justinian's cities seem to have ten Execs for his corportations. Is that usual? I'm playing 3.13 + Bhruic.

    Also, is the Statue of Zeus amazing or what? I just encountered it for the first time (Justinian again) and I had to switch to Police State because my empire was slowing to a crawl with mere jails and Rushmore.
     
  13. Roland Johansen

    Roland Johansen Deity

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2003
    Messages:
    4,292
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    That's a well known bug which seriously hurts the AI. The AI builds a corporate executive in order to spread the corporation, however it doesn't have enough money to pay for spreading the corporation. When asked for a new construction order, it again recognizes that it wants to spread the corporation and thus builds another corporate executive and again it doesn't have the money to pay for spreading the corporation. This of course wastes the production of the AI. It was introduced in BTS 3.13 because this version removed the building limitation of 3 corporate executives. However it was supposed to be fixed with Bhuics patch:

    Because I personally wanted to absolutely sure that the AI wouldn't build too many corporate executives, I reintroduced a building limitation of 5 corporate executives on top of Bhuics patch, so I'm not absolutely sure if Bhruics patch completely fixes the error. But I've read reports of other players that it fixed the issue.

    So are you sure you have the latest version of Bhruics patch and have installed it correctly? For instance, can you see the culture that buildings produce when you select them for construction in one of your cities. (There was a bug in BTS 3.13 which stopped you from seeing this culture and Bhruic fixed it).
     
  14. DrewBledsoe

    DrewBledsoe Veteran QB

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,634
    Location:
    Cheering For Mr Sanchez
    Firstly long time no see ;) Hi again..

    In a couple of recent games. I have also seen the ai corps bug occuring. In those games, I carefully monitered the nations involved. It wasn't for a lack of cash that they weren't spreading, both ai nations I was monitering had dropped the science etc lvls, and were raking in over 1250:gold: pt.

    No, I suspect it possibly related to the order money gets spent by the ai. It all seemed to go on troop upgrades (often in preparation for a war). Then when the ai is either ready for war, or has reached a "power balance" it thinks is enough, up go the science/espionage etc. and no money is left for corps execs to spread.

    Question? In your games, have you ever seen the ai "save a little money for a rainy day"?, or even run at a gold level one higher than it needs to (and thus achieving the same)?

    It just doesn't ever seem to do this, unless incidentally or accidentally even. It must miss out on quite a few event "bonuses" because of this. Maybe it needs a target amount of "reserve gold" to keep especially in late game, 500 or 1000:gold: , depending upon nation size would be very easy to achieve, and might therefore solve the problem with corps execs sitting around for a lack of money....

    Just a few thoughts ;)
     
  15. friedonions

    friedonions Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    26
    Is it possible to survive when 5 strong ai on emperor declare war on you?

    playing Rise of Mankind 2 for beyond teh sword.

    i've never played on emperror before so I dont know if its worth it to keep fighting.

    i Posted a save I think, but you need the latest version of Beyond the sword plus the Rise of Mankind 2 mod also maybe the world map?

    edit: just tried playing it again and I managed to only get 1 guy to declare war so I think I'm ok now. but if you looked at the save tell me if you think I can still win the game. :D
     
  16. Roland Johansen

    Roland Johansen Deity

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2003
    Messages:
    4,292
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    Hi there. :)

    Your description of the bug mirrors the description from Bhruic which I've read. He also said that the AI first spends its money on troop upgrades and rush buying and only afterwards will it see whether it has some money to use for corporation spreading. My description was a bit shortened to "it has no money" because I didn't want to spell out the details of the bug.

    It seems to be pretty hard to really fix the basis of this bug like you suggest because the money spending on unit upgrades and rush buying seems to be in another phase of the AI's turn than the founding of corporations. So the two aren't in direct contention with one another for the AI's money. There just is no money left when it comes to founding corporations. You'd actually have to set a certain quota of money for each phase of the AI's turn. I don't know the real details of the matter, but it seems to be rather complicated to truly fix it.

    I haven't got the mod installed, so I can't look at your game. When you're at war with 5 AI's which are fairly strong compared to you and are also fairly close so that they can quickly send troops to fight you, then your first priority should be to get peace with several of them. Of course, the AI's attempts to conquer you are very dependent on their relative strength to you and whether they have troops in the neighbourhood to conquer you. If you will actually see several stacks of units cross your borders with a combined troop strength equal to 5 times your troop strength, then you'll need some genius moves (or very stupid ones by the AI) in order to become victorious.

    Did the Apostolic Palace vote to declare war on you or how did you get in a war with 5 AI civilisations?
     
  17. friedonions

    friedonions Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    26
    awesome thanks for the advice. Well I declared war on a guy who then became the vasal of catherine. then the next turn ghengis and giglamesh who had their own vasals all declared war on me for no reason. lol it was pretty funny. so I reloaded the save and gave stuff to catherine and ghengis and aslo didnt declare war on anyone. ghengis still declared war but I managed to defeat his army on my border.
     
  18. Skips

    Skips Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    Messages:
    35
    How do you decide between Cottages and Farms
    Is there any point building improvement outside your original cross
    What's a flood plain?
    Can worker boats do nothing to squares that dont have clams or fish?
    How can I tell how large my city can grow? Is that based on food somehow?
     
  19. CCRunner

    CCRunner Deity

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    3,132
    1. Cottages when you need commerce and are running a CE. Farms for population growth and an SE
    2. Only if it hooks up a resource. Otherwise no.
    3. it's a special kind of tile. It gives three food and a commerce.
    4. The only thing workboats can do is improve fish/clams/crabs, whales, and offshore oil.
    5. Each population takes up two food. So, assuming your working all twenty tiles, your max population will be food/2. Note: Unhealthyness also comes from population and will take an extra food for each :yuck: more than your health limit, essentially meaning each population takes three food.
     
  20. PieceOfMind

    PieceOfMind Drill IV Defender Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Messages:
    9,319
    Location:
    Australia
    This is probably not the best place to ask but it is a quick question nonetheless.

    I noticed that when unloading a spy into an rival coastal city from a boat (from inside the city), the spy can conduct a mission on the turn he is dropped. Normally you can't conduct a mission til the spy has spent a turn in the city. This seems a bit fishy to me and while I suspect it may be the minorest of bugs, others may like to think it's an intended feature.

    See technically the spy has not moved because sitting in a transport does not count as moving.

    This is using BtS 3.13 + Bhruic's patch.

    Anyway, bug or feature?
     

Share This Page