1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Quick Questions and Answers

Discussion in 'Civ5 - General Discussions' started by ori, Sep 25, 2010.

  1. Ansive

    Ansive Prince

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    346
    I would actually suggest turning on single player quick combat and quick movement. For me this makes the AI turns very fast.
     
  2. Sedivy

    Sedivy Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2014
    Messages:
    11
    Yes that is already all turned off via quick turns mod to get rid of animations and speed it up. It does help. I'd still however like to not have turn processing interrupted for pointless questions about embassy access or open borders every few turns from the same civ x 20+ other civs. If I ever want to allow access for these, I will initiate the trade. I accept these directly from the AI next to never and turns for other civs won't process until I get rid of each and every diplomacy screen. In other words, I have to sit and stare at the screen while it processes every turn, instead of finding something else to do. It's an old macbook I play on so this is really an issue later on in the game. Quiet diplomacy mod comes closest (for other dialogue that can be pointless) but does not address these two requests from the AI for some reason.
     
  3. chuckh89

    chuckh89 Prince

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2013
    Messages:
    335
    Location:
    Woodridge, IL
    If my allied CS conquers, and razes a Civ city that I am at war with,...Do I suffer a diplomacy penalty the same as if I took his city??


    -
     
  4. Ansive

    Ansive Prince

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    346
    No, you get no penalty.
     
  5. rover6695

    rover6695 Prince

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2014
    Messages:
    437
    1) How to find out which wonders and who has built each one?
    2) Can you send a GM on a culture bomb while at war with the civ?
     
  6. Browd

    Browd Dilettante Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    11,761
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Rural Vermont
    1. Go to the Global Politics screen (same place you check which social policies the other civs have adopted, and who is friends with, at war with, or denouncing others. As long as you've met the civ, it will show you which civ has built each wonder. It will not, however, tell you ion which city that wonder was built.

    2. Absolutely. In fact, if a civ is refusing to give you open borders, the only way to perform a concert tour with that civ is to DOW them -- position your GMs just outside their borders (with meat shield protection), DOW them, step your GMs over the border and perform their concert tours.
     
  7. rover6695

    rover6695 Prince

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2014
    Messages:
    437
    Thanks...how can I see how many wonders/where I have built?
    Also, how much culture to inject in a concert tour?
     
  8. Ansive

    Ansive Prince

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    346
    You can't see how many wonder's you have built.
    You have to go from city to city, there's a wonder section in the right panel in the city screen.
    You can also look at your score and divide the wonder score by 25 to get the total number.

    For the concert tour, the strength is determined by your tourism output from the turn the musician spawned. The strength is then written on the musician and won't change. Early game concerts are mostly worthless.

    On epic speed the formula is:
    = tourism * 1.5 * 15
    So for 100 tourism you get 2250 influence

    On normal speed the formula is probably:
    = tourism * 1.0 * 15
     
  9. Browd

    Browd Dilettante Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    11,761
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Rural Vermont
    The tourism formula is just 10 turns at Standard speed (not 15).

    it has been observed on multiple occasions that many of the game-speed modifiers (for epic, marathon and quick) in these formulas effectively get applied twice (and Great Musician concert tours appear to be no exception; hence, the 1.5 and 15 turn modifiers you observe on Epic).
     
  10. rover6695

    rover6695 Prince

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2014
    Messages:
    437
    WOW....I had no clue how great GMs were.
    It was going to take 68 turns for me to be influential with Sweden, I did TWO tours and am at 98%!

    Do you in this case tend to just stockpile GMs and never use them lil the end?
    I hardly see the point of wasting them on great works, as opposed to GW and GA.
     
  11. Browd

    Browd Dilettante Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    11,761
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Rural Vermont
    Stockpiling GMs is worthless, since their concert tour "power" is frozen at the level when they spawn. Either use them for a Great Work or burn them immediately on a (modest) concert tour. That's why many advise waiting to build the Musician's Guild until later in the game, when spawning GMs are "worth it."
     
  12. clearbeard

    clearbeard King

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2004
    Messages:
    691
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Delaware, USA
    One thing you could try is setting up a multiplayer game with no other human players. There are several streamlines applied to the AI in such a game, including no diplomacy offers: all diplomatic overtures have to come from you. I have no idea what else that might to do speed up or slow down your game though.
     
  13. Tzar Sasha

    Tzar Sasha Tzar of Nowheresville

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2003
    Messages:
    453
    Location:
    The Frozen Tundra
    Maybe I'm doing something wrong. I see some of the better players talk about getting a wonder like the Pyramids and then able to get a GE from it after 100 turns or so. I've never been able to do this. I always get scientists from the university specialists which keep pushing back the ability to get a GE to the point of never getting one.

    The only way I can for sure get one is to put specialists in the production buildings. But early on there isn't enough food to support all of them, so science wins.

    Too late for the current game, any tips to improve my chances for future games?
     
  14. clearbeard

    clearbeard King

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2004
    Messages:
    691
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Delaware, USA
    I think the idea is you build the Pyramids early, well before you have universities to run specialists. You can also take specialists out of your universities if you're getting too many GS points.
     
  15. chuckh89

    chuckh89 Prince

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2013
    Messages:
    335
    Location:
    Woodridge, IL
    What conditions are needed to get someone to vote for your desired selection in the World Congress,...

    I see the option, but not sure what opens this possibility...???

    Era?
    Technology?
    It is only when you are friends, and trade....or can you demand it, or have it involved in a Peace Treaty?


    -
     
  16. claudiupb

    claudiupb King

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2014
    Messages:
    767
    Location:
    Romania
    You need a diplomat in their capital. If you have one you can propose it during a deal. If they have a diplomat in your capital you can sell your votes for things like gpt or luxuries, etc.
     
  17. MightySpice

    MightySpice Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2016
    Messages:
    74
    Just a remark: after a long time playing BNW, i am playing Civ 5 vanilla right now. One thing i notice is that is much harder to keep up military. If you don't pay attention you have a never ending war!
     
  18. rover6695

    rover6695 Prince

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2014
    Messages:
    437
    Quick offshoot Q.....when does it make sense to trade for open borders?
    As soon as possible or just near the end, say modern era?
    I like to wait until I need it otherwise I see it as wasted cash.
     
  19. rover6695

    rover6695 Prince

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2014
    Messages:
    437
    What pantheons do you all prefer to use?
     
  20. rover6695

    rover6695 Prince

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2014
    Messages:
    437
    I notice that in a lot of games, my capital isn't much bigger, if bigger at all, than my 2nd or 3rd cities.
    When I am building wonders throughout the game-including the early game-I will switch from default focus to production focus-could that be a big reason why and is it advisable to almost never do this?
     

Share This Page