1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Quick Questions and Answers

Discussion in 'Civ5 - General Discussions' started by ori, Sep 25, 2010.

  1. Iamteehee

    Iamteehee I only play SV

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2016
    Messages:
    137
    Location:
    MN
    1. Sending internal trade routes will provide a rather significant amount of food, especially water routes (note that internal trade routes don't take away food/production from the city that is sending it). I usually use all food internal trade routes but there are a few reasons why someone might use production internal trade routes or international trade routes:

    Production: I mostly use this if I had a growth heavy production light coastal or island city and I switch most of my food trade routes to production trade routes close to the end of the game where the longer term investment of food matters less.

    International: There are a few reasons to use International Trade Routes:

    Gold (obviously): If you are going for a diplomatic victory or you are otherwise in need of gold, International Trade Routes can help.

    Science: International Trade Routes gives an empire science bonus (meaning that it is added directly to your cumulative empirewide science and is unaffected by bonuses like rationalism opener) to both civilizations in the trade route based on half the number of technologies that the other civilization has researched that the first civilization has not. Early game on higher difficulties, when your opponents are 4+ technologies ahead, this can be a very significant science bonus. (I believe you also will receive a few beakers from trade routes to civilizations that you have some degree of influence over, but that comes late enough in the game that it is irrelevant)

    Religious Pressure: International Trade Routes will spread religious pressure to both civilizations involved in the Route which can be useful for spreading your religion outside of the normal 10 tile pressure radius.

    Tourism: Having a trade route with a civilization gives you a +25% tourism multiplier which is useful for cultural victories.

    City-State Diplomacy: City-States will occasionally give quests to send a trade route to them which gives you a significant tourism boost. Additionally, the Treaty Negotiation tenet in Freedom will give you influence for having a trade route to City-States
     
  2. Acken

    Acken Deity

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2013
    Messages:
    5,637
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    QC, Canada
    I dont know what the outpost mod is but no I dont colonize in the late game. The main reason js that its too late to get back the investment. Some mods work on that by giving late game settlers that make new cities with rxtra buildings.

    Envoyé de mon SM-G903W en utilisant Tapatalk
     
  3. Sgtwolf00

    Sgtwolf00 Potential genius

    Joined:
    May 28, 2015
    Messages:
    464
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    @Browd Okay thanks!
     
  4. rover6695

    rover6695 Prince

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2014
    Messages:
    437
    Which mods?
     
  5. Sgtwolf00

    Sgtwolf00 Potential genius

    Joined:
    May 28, 2015
    Messages:
    464
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Okay I'm back with a quick question! If I wanted to request unit and building models and animations, (and other things related to those. Like UI icons). Where would the best place be to request them? Also where is a good place to find music? Just search around for it? Thanks!
     
  6. Browd

    Browd Dilettante Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    11,918
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Rural Vermont
  7. Acken

    Acken Deity

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2013
    Messages:
    5,637
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    QC, Canada
    I dont know about a stand alone butCBP does it
     
  8. mokyo24

    mokyo24 Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2014
    Messages:
    109
    Do you get extra warmonger penalty for simply staying at war? For example you declare war and then keep at it for most of the game without taking cities. Maybe farming Gold for Dutch, Culture for Aztecs or GG points for Sweden.
     
  9. Akbarthegreat

    Akbarthegreat Angel of Junil

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,827
    Location:
    Erebus
    NQMod does it too.
     
  10. beetle

    beetle Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2004
    Messages:
    6,229
    Location:
    Frederick, MD
    No, and unlike Civ4, there is no “war weariness” either. Plus the warmonger penalty for declaring war is lower in the early game and wears off over time. So you can stay at war for 200 turns, constantly killing units and pillaging, and all the AIs think you are peaceful!
     
  11. o_tembelis

    o_tembelis Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    [The links to the chat room aren't working for me --- this is the first time I've tried to access it.]

    ---- erm... nevermind. figured it out...
     
  12. mokyo24

    mokyo24 Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2014
    Messages:
    109
    Thanks. :)
     
  13. Iskiab

    Iskiab Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2014
    Messages:
    21
    I generally play on a civ 5 on a large map, deity and epic speed. A friend mentioned that epic speed makes the game easier, is this true?
     
  14. Bretwalda

    Bretwalda Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2001
    Messages:
    255
    Location:
    Budapest
    It's harder to rush you and also you are probably better general than the ai and that works better when you have more time and room to maneuver.

    Sent from my ZP951 using Tapatalk
     
  15. Iamteehee

    Iamteehee I only play SV

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2016
    Messages:
    137
    Location:
    MN
    What's the difference between Great Plains and Great Plains Plus? Which one has better starts on it?
     
  16. Ansive

    Ansive Prince

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    387
    Why does the AI ask to renew luxury trades for which you no longer have any extras copies of.
    And more importantly why does the game lie that you have 2 resources when that trade is offered.

    Sometimes I can deal with the loss of 4 happiness. But other times it can be quite crippling.

    I got to the point where I no longer accept any trades the AI is offering unless it says I have 3 copies of the resource.

    Is this a bug, or is the AI just programmed to be a jackass?
     
  17. beetle

    beetle Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2004
    Messages:
    6,229
    Location:
    Frederick, MD
    Because it is a good deal for the AI? The AI will also ask out of the blue for your single copy of a lux -- if you ever did that previously.

    Yes, that is quite terrible. It is a rather annoying bug.

    That is safe. It also always safe to trade on your turn. It is only for trades initiated by the AI on their turn that you might not really have the number of luxes that the trade screen lists.
     
  18. Ansive

    Ansive Prince

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    387
    Thanks for the answers beetle.

    I think this only happens with AIs you previously traded with and then didn't renew the trade.

    I wish there was a way to differentiate between ongoing trades and new requests.

    If you cancel an ongoing trade you lose 4 happiness for 1 turn. And if you're really unlucky the AI might trade away the resource, tripping the value of that luxury (this never happened to me).
     
  19. Sclb

    Sclb Emperor

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2015
    Messages:
    1,283
    You only see this bug when you trade on AI's turn. If you don't renew trade during AI's turn you won't see this bug. Usually this will happen if another AI didn't renew the trade or if you lost CS ally.
     
  20. vadalaz

    vadalaz Emperor

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2014
    Messages:
    1,256
    GPP is probably a bit better because it spawns Salt and it might have more luxuries in total, GP only uses vanilla luxuries I think.
     

Share This Page