1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Quick Questions / Quick Answers

Discussion in 'Community Patch Project' started by Theral, Aug 23, 2016.

  1. StevenV

    StevenV Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2016
    Messages:
    82
    Location:
    Hungary
    Thanks for the info. I did find where is it stored, but it seems it is in the original installation not in the mod. However I need to be careful because it is located different folders. It is called MIN_CITY_RANGE

    - c:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Sid Meier's Civilization V\Assets\Gameplay\XML\GlobalDefines.xml
    - c:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Sid Meier's Civilization V\Assets\DLC\Expansion\Gameplay\XML\GlobalDefines.xml
    - c:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Sid Meier's Civilization V\Assets\DLC\Expansion2\Gameplay\XML\GlobalDefines.xml
     
  2. civplayer33

    civplayer33 King

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2017
    Messages:
    965
    Is it intended that Great Works don't give Culture or Tourism to Puppet cities if put into their appropriate slots?

    I was trying to boost the border growth rate of one of my puppet cities since I can't manually buy tiles there but putting GW into its slots didn't increase Culture (or Tourism) and therefore didn't speed up border growth...
     
  3. steass

    steass Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Messages:
    82
    I have the exact same specs as you, but Nvidia GPU 860.

    Do you think that's the problem?
     
  4. vyyt

    vyyt Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Messages:
    2,317
    Location:
    Czech Republic
    Hard to say, there are to many unknown variables, but I think probably not.

    Do you use any of the aforementioned mods? Or are you playing only vanilla VP?
     
  5. Gazebo

    Gazebo Lord of the Community Patch Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    18,278
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Little Rock
    The penalty takes it to <1 for bonus, you'd need at least two IIRC to do that.
     
    civplayer33 likes this.
  6. civplayer33

    civplayer33 King

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2017
    Messages:
    965
    Tested and confirmed; you're right.
     
  7. bonniepbilly

    bonniepbilly Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    83
    When you have the WLTKD founder (Theocratic Rule) and wonder (Mausoleum), are playing tradition, and your capital is asking for a luxury that only city-states allied with someone else who has 400+ influence more than you, is there a way out?
    Save file attached (beta 12-18-1).

    Thanks!
     

    Attached Files:

  8. Stalker0

    Stalker0 Baller Magnus

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2005
    Messages:
    8,216
    Great Merchant. The WLTKD from him will reset the luxury after its over. Or the circus.
     
    CppMaster likes this.
  9. Dreifels

    Dreifels King

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2001
    Messages:
    747
    Location:
    Europe
    Quick Question: playing with DLC Modpack and 43-Civ Version Repository
    there I read "The MAXIMUM number of major civilizations is 43, the maximum number of total civs major and minor is 63"
    however, I only get it working with 37 civs and some (12 or 13) minors. As soon as I try to set up 38 civs or more I get a CTD when setup.
    What to do?
     
  10. Dimmy

    Dimmy Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2016
    Messages:
    46
    Gender:
    Male
    Hi all, any way to pillage your own tiles?

    IDK if it has been suggested before to be implemented in VP or if there is a mod allowing this. It could be seen as a burning land strategy when you retreat or defend your own cities, maybe with some temp malus for happiness if you would do that. Thoughts?
     
  11. Moi Magnus

    Moi Magnus Emperor

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2015
    Messages:
    1,867
    A bug report on Github? As long as you set less than 20CS and 43civ, it should work.

    That was suggested a long time ago, but refused due to:
    +Difficulty to train the AI to play with and against
    +Possible abuses with pillage/repair loops
    +Not a lot of support from the community
     
    vyyt likes this.
  12. besset

    besset Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2017
    Messages:
    132
    How do you warr effectively when you have literally no horses? No nearby CS with horses or allies that can trade them. It gets especially hard when you are in medieval and your neightbours have knights
     
  13. CppMaster

    CppMaster Emperor

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2018
    Messages:
    1,205
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Poland
    Old Denmark would be so happy :smoke:
     
  14. Moi Magnus

    Moi Magnus Emperor

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2015
    Messages:
    1,867
    Naval wars. Or unique units. And probably spamming land melee units (because anything else have low defense, so will instantly die to knights).
    Or avoid wars. Or enable strategic balance to prevent this situation from happening.
     
  15. Minh Le

    Minh Le King

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2018
    Messages:
    793
    Gender:
    Male
    I find that laking iron is even harder. You can still fight knight with pikemen, crossbow and trebuchet, or wait for tercio and canon.
     
    saamohod and vyyt like this.
  16. besset

    besset Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2017
    Messages:
    132
    Not if the terrain is very rough, I feel then you really need horses. Trying to fight the Aztecs in my current game with tercios and cannons. His cities are in the jungle so I can't really use crossbowmen either. Could really use some knights right now I feel, although I have no clue if I can even take his cities with the aid of knights.
     
  17. Minh Le

    Minh Le King

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2018
    Messages:
    793
    Gender:
    Male
    Then you will need to wait until field gun. Knight is not very helpful versus city either.
    In the mean time you can keep killing his units to cripple his economy.
     
    vyyt likes this.
  18. civplayer33

    civplayer33 King

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2017
    Messages:
    965
    Any idea what could cause a Culture bomb of ~37.000 in the Modern Era?
    Spoiler what I'm talking about :
    Culture_Madness.jpg
    I went back and checked and this actually happened in 1 turn: from turn 447 to 448, I just took the "after-pics" on turn 449.

    Edit: another question: can logging be turned on in the middle of a game without causing issues?
     
    Last edited: Jan 14, 2019
  19. vyyt

    vyyt Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Messages:
    2,317
    Location:
    Czech Republic
    You can turn on logging any time, but please note it will start recording from the moment you turn it on = the preceding turns will not be recorded.
     
  20. civplayer33

    civplayer33 King

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2017
    Messages:
    965
    Okay so I ran turn 447-448 again for the AI and checked the logs. Morocco had this interesting line in their logs:

    [1099.651] DBG: UpdateMoves() : player 7 Ahmad al-Mansur running AutoMission (NO_MISSIONAI) on Alexandre Dumas (Great Writer) id=11573

    He is also very likely the AI that got this Culture boost (I'm 99% sure for various reasons) and also the only one who had a Great Writer in their logs. So I have two questions:

    1. Could the above log line mean that he expended a GW for Culture?
    2. Is it plausible that a civ with a Culture yield of almost 2.000 per turn and probably more than a dozen Great Works can pop a GW for 37k Culture?

    If so, that would explain what happened...it would also be pretty insane since 37k for me would be 95% of my progress to the next policy, which is substantially more than I've seen GW able to provide.
     
    vyyt likes this.

Share This Page