1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

R.E.D. modpack

Discussion in 'Civ5 - Modpacks' started by Gedemon, Sep 25, 2010.

  1. Gedemon

    Gedemon Modder Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Messages:
    9,820
    Location:
    France
    It means that the mod's maker THINK you could be able to enable/disable it in the middle of a game and continue without issue. But the mod's maker can be wrong (rarely, but it happens :D)

    Here I think there won't be any problems, but I always suggest to be safe and try it on a duplicated save first.

    The problem with loading save is that previous version of R.E.D. (v14, 13, etc..) were not flagged like that and thus can't be loaded with v.15 (and following versions)

    Yes, it should not cause issues, but as said, better to do a double save of your current game, so that you can go back from it if needed.
     
  2. Gedemon

    Gedemon Modder Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Messages:
    9,820
    Location:
    France
    It's already done for all animal resource in the beta version posted a few post back :D

    do you there are other landmarks that will need to be rescaled ?
     
  3. [to_xp]Gekko

    [to_xp]Gekko QCT junkie

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Messages:
    7,943
    Location:
    Seyda Neen, Vvardenfell
    seems like Nutty's also rescales fallout, the barbarian camps and ALL resources. not sure what else would need tweaking :)
     
  4. Gedemon

    Gedemon Modder Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Messages:
    9,820
    Location:
    France
    Well, I would tweak those that would look giant next to a human figure. Are the mine so big for example ? or the barbarian camp ?
     
  5. [to_xp]Gekko

    [to_xp]Gekko QCT junkie

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Messages:
    7,943
    Location:
    Seyda Neen, Vvardenfell
    I think it's more for consistency than a real need for it :)
     
  6. Nutty

    Nutty Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011
    Messages:
    3,181
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Orange County, California, U.S.A.
    The barbarian camp is actually reset back to 1.0 (i.e., that's the only "resource" that's not resized--it looks really weird otherwise). Yes, the other changes to the non-animal resources are for consistency, but also to diminish Gedemon's "feature" mentioned wherein your units are mostly hidden, e.g., in the wheatfields. I also kind of like the fact that, as a bonus, the resources are a bit more discrete, i.e., not running to the edges of the hexes and overlapping with the foliage of the next hex.

    It used to have a lot of manual tweaking in it, but the post-G+K version of Smaller Landmarks is only 3 lines, but should only be 1:
    Spoiler code :
    Code:
    UPDATE 'ArtDefine_Landmarks' SET Scale = Scale * 0.75 WHERE (ResourceType LIKE 'ART_DEF_RESOURCE_%' OR ResourceType = 'ART_DEF_FEATURE_FALLOUT') AND NOT (ImprovementType = 'ART_DEF_IMPROVEMENT_BARBARIAN_CAMP');
     
  7. PAVLOS_GR300

    PAVLOS_GR300 Greek

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    235
    Location:
    Thessalonici, Makedonia, Hellas
    i how much time the new version will be out
     
  8. Gedemon

    Gedemon Modder Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Messages:
    9,820
    Location:
    France
    When I'll have repaired all the damage done by patch .674 to R.E.D. WWII Edition I'll update this one. A shame Firaxis had never answered to Thalassicus, Spatzimaus or me on the subject, it could have saved 2 months of mod's developments for me :/
     
  9. JTitan

    JTitan Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2011
    Messages:
    181
    Location:
    New York

    Ouch! :backstab:
     
  10. PAVLOS_GR300

    PAVLOS_GR300 Greek

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    235
    Location:
    Thessalonici, Makedonia, Hellas
    firaxis used to be modder friendly, it sounds very strange they did such a thing
     
  11. Gedemon

    Gedemon Modder Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Messages:
    9,820
    Location:
    France
    I suppose/hope that all their human resources are working on their next title and that we'll get news after it's released.
     
  12. Socratatus

    Socratatus Emperor

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,636
    Will be looking to download this as the game is on ordered. Good thing Steam hasn`t completely ruined modding.
     
  13. pawel0482

    pawel0482 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012
    Messages:
    44
    When will be new version of the mod?
     
  14. cleaner

    cleaner Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    Messages:
    104
    Hello Gedemon,
    I noticed in my current game that the Russian Chariot Archers don't seem to have any combat animations. Could this be caused by your mod? I remember before G&K, resp. the latest patch those units didn't have any animations, but Firaxis fixed it.
     
  15. Gedemon

    Gedemon Modder Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Messages:
    9,820
    Location:
    France
    *soon*

    Meaning counts in days, not weeks.

    Are you using Thal's VEM/GEM/CivUP mods ?
     
  16. cleaner

    cleaner Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    Messages:
    104
    Yeah, I do. the GEM and CivUP, both in their latest version.
     
  17. [to_xp]Gekko

    [to_xp]Gekko QCT junkie

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Messages:
    7,943
    Location:
    Seyda Neen, Vvardenfell
    that's caused by civup I think, it adds mounted archers unitclass which can't have combat animations due to modding tools being limited.
     
  18. PAVLOS_GR300

    PAVLOS_GR300 Greek

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    235
    Location:
    Thessalonici, Makedonia, Hellas
    i dont know if its something u can but pls fix the greek composite bowman(when guarded the arrow flies out of the body)
     
  19. Gedemon

    Gedemon Modder Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Messages:
    9,820
    Location:
    France
    yes, it's something I can do :D

     
  20. cleaner

    cleaner Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    Messages:
    104
    I see. That kinda sucks. I was thrilled when I saw they finally had animations... :c5unhappy:
     

Share This Page