1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Ready-Made 'standard' Multi-Figure Units

Discussion in 'Civ3 - Multi-Figure Units' started by Kryten, Jan 21, 2003.

  1. Kryten

    Kryten Smeee heeeeed

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2001
    Messages:
    1,672
    Location:
    Nottingham, central England
    :confused:
    I'm afraid that I am unable to reproduce this problem on my PC.

    After downloading the MF Paratroopers from page one of this thread, then loading them into Civ3, I find that the fortify.flc works fine for me.


    However, I wonder if the following could be the cause.

    Here is a screenshot of the ORIGINAL Paratrooper folder, just as it is 'straight-from-the-box'....
    (On the left is a display of the .ini configuration file)

    As you can see, there is a flaw in that there is a flc file with the wrong name, called ParatrooperForfity.flc .
    Firaxis corrected this by adding a file with the RIGHT name, called ParatrooperFortify.flc .

    Now here is a screenshot of the MULTI-FIGURE Paratrooper folder, after the new flc animations have been added and have overwritten the originals.....

    The faulty flc file is still there (with it's original size of 71Kb), but it serves no purpose, as the .ini file has no mention of it.
    It might as well be deleted for all the .ini file cares.

    I wonder if you could take a look at your own Paratrooper folder, and make sure that the flc & ini files have exactly the same spelling as the picture above.

    If they do.....then I am at a loss. :(

    You could try replacing the MF fortify.flc (size 198Kb) with the original fortify.flc (size 71Kb), or maybe renaming the ParatrooperForfity.flc to ParatrooperFortify.flc .
    This will restore the animation back to a single-figure one.
    Give it a try and let me know the outcome.

    Does anyone else out there have the same problem? :confused:
     
  2. Steph

    Steph Multi Many Tasks man Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2002
    Messages:
    18,162
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Pont de l'Arn, FRANCE
    Anyway, Paratroopers are used to seize ennemy key points, and keep them until reinforcement arrives. As they are often more ligthly armed than the ennemy, using stealth can give them a decisive advantage. So I think hiding when they fortify is a very smart initiative of the munits. This is real artificial intelligence : the computer evolves to increase its efficiency.
     
  3. Kryten

    Kryten Smeee heeeeed

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2001
    Messages:
    1,672
    Location:
    Nottingham, central England
    You sound like one of my software developers Steph....
    "....it's not a fault, it's an unexpected feature!" :lol:
     
  4. Steph

    Steph Multi Many Tasks man Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2002
    Messages:
    18,162
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Pont de l'Arn, FRANCE
    Yes, explaining that you are so good that your program does things you didn't expect but they are indeed better that what the user asked for is a good part of the developper's job...:o
     
  5. Jaybe

    Jaybe civus fanaticus Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2001
    Messages:
    2,547
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Vegas, Nevada
    Kryten,
    I have inspected the files and they are to your specs. I will have to see if it happens in a future game.

    I have given paratroopers a real combat mission in only one game to date, and that was months ago.
     
  6. Jaybe

    Jaybe civus fanaticus Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2001
    Messages:
    2,547
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Vegas, Nevada
    But of course! That is reportedly how Soren got the barbs so much better in PTW. :D
     
  7. pdescobar

    pdescobar Moo, baby. Moo.

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2002
    Messages:
    1,364
    Location:
    CFC or playing DyP
    Jaybe, I think you are seeing a known paratrooper bug manifest itself in the new multi-unit.
    Does this screenshot (from the thread http://forums.civfanatics.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=40711) match what you saw? If so, it's the same problem and is not inherent to the unit.
     
  8. Jaybe

    Jaybe civus fanaticus Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2001
    Messages:
    2,547
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Vegas, Nevada
    THAT'S IT! :)
    Although I did not see the head/helmet as in that screenshot.
     
  9. GIDustin

    GIDustin Emperor

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    1,392
    Location:
    Spearfish, SD
    Kryten:

    Do you know of any other place I can host the MF Modpack? I was about to update my site today with 140 Units and MUnits, but noticed I have 14MB left. I really dont want it to not be hosted, but I cannot host it for long. I could always hook up my own server, but there would be that 15kpbs speed max on it . . .

    GIDustin
     
  10. Kryten

    Kryten Smeee heeeeed

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2001
    Messages:
    1,672
    Location:
    Nottingham, central England
    Sorry GIDustin, but I don't know of anywhere that could host such a huge zip file....
    ....except maybe the official Civ3 site. ;)

    I wonder if Firaxis would be interested? After all, they do have several player created maps there. :)

    I'll ask them.
    ("Leave it with me.....")
     
  11. Hygro

    Hygro soundcloud.com/hygro/

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2002
    Messages:
    23,103
    Location:
    Montana
    while your at it, ask if you can do the PTW ones ;)
     
  12. Rellin

    Rellin Norrathian Gnome

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Messages:
    337
    Location:
    Chicago, Illinois
    Just got downloading all yer files and just wanted to say thanks for all the hard work.
     
  13. Kryten

    Kryten Smeee heeeeed

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2001
    Messages:
    1,672
    Location:
    Nottingham, central England
    Good News Everybody

    Thunderfall has made space here at CFC for the ENTIRE Multi-Figure zip file! :)
    See page one of this thread for the link.

    This huge zip is some 65 megs, and contains ALL 50 odd of the Ready-Made MF units.

    So those of you with fast connections can now downloaded them all in one go, while the rest of us poor mortals will just have to download them one-at-a-time.

    (My great thanks to both GIDustin & Thunderfall for making this possible) :goodjob:
     
  14. zulu9812

    zulu9812 The Newbie Nightmare

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2002
    Messages:
    6,389
    Location:
    Athens of the North
  15. Mephansteras

    Mephansteras Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2003
    Messages:
    125

    Hey, HERE'S an idea! Since the whole issue with the PTW units is so that Firxis doesn't lose money, why don't we see if Firaxis would be willing to distribue the PTW multi-units as part of a patch? That way anyone with PTW can get them, and Firaxis doesn't have to worry about people without PTW just grabbing them.

    Well...not any more then they already do, anyway.
     
  16. Steph

    Steph Multi Many Tasks man Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2002
    Messages:
    18,162
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Pont de l'Arn, FRANCE
    Perhaps they plan to include them in the CD for the next expansion pack?

    The one with Napoleonic units in the extra folder (like WWII in PTW), and some new flags in the editor (like Bonus against cav for pikemen, bonus against sub for destroyer, defend against Aircraft to make AAA and same, a variable upkeep cost for every unit, a variable movement cost for every unit in every terrain, a bonus in certain terrain for units to make mountain troops). possibility to decide if a worker job consume the worker?

    Just taking my wishes for reallity...
     
  17. GIDustin

    GIDustin Emperor

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    1,392
    Location:
    Spearfish, SD
    Are you kidding? That would make the next patch at least 50 MB!!! :p

    Good idea though. Unfortunately, I am sure that someone will install it and distribute them anyway.

    :(

    GIDustin
     
  18. Kryten

    Kryten Smeee heeeeed

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2001
    Messages:
    1,672
    Location:
    Nottingham, central England
    To be honest....I'm not sure.

    GIDustin created a monster 65 meg zip file of all 50 odd ready-made MF units for his excellent website, and because my connection is so slow, it is GIDustin's version that has been uploaded here to CFC.
    (I assume it does contain the updates....but only GIDustin knows for sure)
     
  19. GIDustin

    GIDustin Emperor

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    1,392
    Location:
    Spearfish, SD
    I am pretty sure it does.

    GIDustin
     
  20. Kryten

    Kryten Smeee heeeeed

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2001
    Messages:
    1,672
    Location:
    Nottingham, central England
    Thanks once again GIDustin. :goodjob:
     

Share This Page