1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

[BNW] Redesigned Colors and Icons (RCI) 2-7-2019: v. 3.0

Updated Civ Colors for Clarity and Aesthetics

  1. Oeneryst

    Oeneryst Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Successfully removed it, thanks! I'll reinstall the next version. I think what happened here was I tried further tweaking the colours and designs and ended up deleting something I shouldn't have.
     
  2. psparky

    psparky Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011
    Messages:
    431
    Gender:
    Male
    That's great! I was put off trying this mod because of the potential difficulty of removing it should I not like it. Having gained a bit of experience with making my own UI mods in the DLC style, I had a go at tweaking your mod into the same style, and it works fine (at least for BNW). All I had to do was create a simple Civ5Pkg file. I don't think the change to the config file is then necessary. Anyway it will be good to have an official version, and hopefully more people will try it this way.

    With your mod, the textures mod and religious icons mod I think my game looks beautiful - thanks for your excellent work.
     
  3. dylansan

    dylansan Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2013
    Messages:
    230
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Yep, that's exactly what I'm doing. I assume you used this technique to create it?

    The difficulty I'm running into is that it now interferes a bit with other DLC mods, and possibly regular mods as well. I'm working on figuring out exactly how to make it compatible with EUI for example, but it might take more troubleshooting for other mods so I'm not sure it's quite as rugged as before. Perhaps a bit disappointing, but hopefully it will work out.

    I might have to rely on those doing their own testing to figure out the best way to make it work. I'm admittedly not the most familiar with Civ modding, so there's plenty I don't know that others might be able to help with. Once I upload it, I'd appreciate if you could let me know how it works with other mods and figure how to improve compatibility.
     
  4. psparky

    psparky Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011
    Messages:
    431
    Gender:
    Male
    No, I didn't use the technique in the thread you linked. The Civ5Pkg file is just a plain text file, so I looked at the ones for EUI and Estebanium's texture mod and made my own (with a bit of guesswork). I then made a folder in DLC containing the new CivPkg file and the Assets folder from your mod. Seems to work fine with EUI and the texture mod. If you need help with making a Civ5Pkg file, it would be better to get advice form someone who actually knows what they are doing :) - it's one thing to hack one for my personal use, and another to make one fit for publishing. However I'm fairly confident that this method works.

    I have only modified LUA and XML to "improve" the UI, and used the same technique as above with folders in the DLC folder; I don't know anything about other modding techniques. Also, I don't use any mods that need to be activated through the MODS menu, so I can't comment on compatibility - however unless a mod changes some of the same files that you do, I wouldn't expect any problems.

    Good luck!
     
  5. dylansan

    dylansan Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2013
    Messages:
    230
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    dylansan updated Redesigned Colors and Icons (RCI) v. with a new update entry:

    DLC Modpack

    Read the rest of this update entry...
     
  6. SirCranburry

    SirCranburry Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    Could you please post a download with every individual icon of all sizes (32-256) so I can make a custom atlas? I only want to use your redesigned icons for specific civs, but they're all bound in one DDS atlas
     
    Last edited: Aug 2, 2017
  7. dylansan

    dylansan Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2013
    Messages:
    230
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    I haven't tested this, but would it be possible to simply remove the <Update> lines in PlayerColors.xml and PlayerIcons.xml corresponding to the Civs in question? That way it should use the default icons and colors.

    In fact, if you included your own atlas, you could change the update lines to use assign whichever atlas you like to each civ, so you could theoretically include icons from other mods if you felt like it.

    Let me know if that works.
     
  8. psparky

    psparky Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011
    Messages:
    431
    Gender:
    Male
    Hi

    Sadly the latest beta version does not work for me, possibly due to EUI. However I am continuing to use the previous version with my own hacked modpack implementation.

    I hit a bug which I think would also affect the previous standard implementation, which overwrites files in the assets folder. The file CIV5Civilization_Mongol.xml seems to be based on the vanilla version, rather than the later version, as it doesn't have the definitions for religions or spys. I believe that caused my game to crash when the mongols were present on reaching the renaissance era.
     
  9. Asterix Rage

    Asterix Rage Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,173
    RCI v2.0b. Conflict with VP (9-27) +EUI
    Prevent plantation to be built
    Also shrink options in RAS v15
     
  10. NebulousJaguar

    NebulousJaguar Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2016
    Messages:
    34
    I prefer the original colors for just a few civs, assyria, carthage, and byzantium. So I removed the update lines in both of those xml files. But for some reason I don't understand, these three civs still have the modified colorization when I load the game. So this mod is somehow remove-update-lines-to-use-default-colors proof. I'm trying to understand how this is the case. 0_o
    Very good job on the colors though, no complaints. It is just small matter of preference for these three civs specifically, or 4 civs actually. I just remembered that I like Russia's yellow and black alot.
     
  11. BANG BANG BANG!

    BANG BANG BANG! Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2018
    Messages:
    8
    I have. For reference, I ran it with the latest VP at the time of writing (5/20), 43-Civ + EUI, still causes the whole less game options thing when setting up a game. However! It does seem to work once you've made the game. Ensure you have NOT installed the faux-DLC (RCI v2.0) beforehand. Create a game of your choosing, apply the settings, generate the map, save, and close Civ. Insert the RCI 2.0b faux-DLC into your Civ directory, in order to tackle the problem of Vox Populi-exclusive game options not displaying. This will allow you to make a game with VP options, and will allow you to use RCI without issues. So you won't have that problem of you're previous game not showing the new colours. Note that this is just a theory, I'm still playtesting this to certify it works 100%. Give it a shot, and tell me what you think.
    Just tried to create a plantation, works fine for me. I think that was a bug that's no longer present in VP/EUI. But it definitely doesn't cause issues for me, anyhow.

    EDIT: My guide is outdated. Read below to see the post that references how to make it work, my method is obselete. My apologies.
     
    Last edited: Jun 3, 2018
  12. ryanmusante

    ryanmusante Regular Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2018
    Messages:
    1,078
    I just install into /Mods directory now and there are no issues.

    Edit: stick to text.
     
    Last edited: Oct 21, 2018
  13. BANG BANG BANG!

    BANG BANG BANG! Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2018
    Messages:
    8
    As I say, I'd like to see if other people have problems doing it this way. But, until I find out otherwise, this works for me. Whether it'll cause issues later on is another subject entirely. Each to their own, after all :)

    EDIT: My guide is outdated. Read below to see the post that references how to make it work, my method is obselete. My apologies.
     
    Last edited: Jun 3, 2018
  14. BANG BANG BANG!

    BANG BANG BANG! Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2018
    Messages:
    8
  15. CCruise

    CCruise Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2018
    Messages:
    35
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Austria
    Okay I did what he said and still, when playing with the same civ a second game my own civ colors are not adapted. Everything works except my own civ color. They would be so nice, help :crazyeye:

    Also, this guy is not the mod author. Wth?
     
  16. ryanmusante

    ryanmusante Regular Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2018
    Messages:
    1,078
    Last edited: Oct 21, 2018
    CCruise likes this.
  17. dylansan

    dylansan Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2013
    Messages:
    230
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    dylansan updated Redesigned Colors and Icons (RCI) v. with a new update entry:

    Structural overhaul as DLC mod - better compatibility

    Read the rest of this update entry...
     
  18. Asterix Rage

    Asterix Rage Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,173
    I don't have time to test it now.
    Does "Redesigned Colors and Icons (RCI) (v 5)" fully compatible with VP now ?
     
    Last edited: Feb 8, 2019
  19. dylansan

    dylansan Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2013
    Messages:
    230
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    I can't guarantee it without more testing, but it should be fully compatible now with v3.0.

    I ought to clarify that the mod itself is v5, which is separate from the version number of the overall project. It's just a modbuddy thing, as it doesn't allow decimal versions like 1.3, etc. I haven't actually changed any of the colors from 2.0 to 3.0.
     
  20. adan_eslavo

    adan_eslavo Archmage of all Pixels Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2017
    Messages:
    2,027
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Łódź, Poland
    @dylansan Do you plan to add upcoming VP Israel and Phillipines to your mod?
    I play with it and it works excellent now after your recent fixes! :)
     

Share This Page