1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Dismiss Notice
  6. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

Rhye's of Civilization - the fastest loading mod Expanded - PART II

Discussion in 'Civ3 - Completed Modpacks' started by Rhye, Feb 12, 2005.

  1. Barak

    Barak Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 1, 2003
    Messages:
    1,478
    Location:
    Chicago
    I have been playing about 4-5 games simultaneusly (well, not at EXACTLY the same time).

    I looked at Beta v3 in the editor, and the unit issues looked to be resolved. I can test it this afternoon (around 3PM CST or New York -1:00) I hope that can help you. I had planned to play last night, but Valentine's celebration and all, didn't have time.
     
  2. V. Soma

    V. Soma CFC Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    3,361
    Location:
    Hungary
    To Barak:
    Well, OK, I see if I can solve it to have a look at the forum late in the evening... :)

    Just have a look at my thread, I myself had some tests of Beta v3,
    I wrote about them there...
    One thing is that you can play fast games with CoE,
    the standard map indeed means shorter loading time
    (no wonder... but still a pleasing feature)
     
  3. Snorken

    Snorken Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    Messages:
    1,378
    Location:
    Sweden
    I would just like to thank everyone who worked on this mod, it's the best one out there! :)
     
  4. FooFight2000

    FooFight2000 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2004
    Messages:
    38
    Ditto that, the best mod and 6000+ posts proves that!!! Congrats on 6000 posts and you are right rhye, this thread being stickyed does not make up for have a 6000 posts thread. This new thread does deserve to stay stickyed.
     
  5. Thunderfall

    Thunderfall Administrator Administrator Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2000
    Messages:
    12,127
    Gender:
    Male
    I agree with your points, Drift. We certainly don't want to give that impression.

    At this point I think making the sticky a temporary one (ex. 2 weeks) is best. This way the new thread got some help in the beginning. After that, the thread would need to be active to remain on the top just like any other file threads.

    Those new threads were merged back into their main threads after the limit is raised to 3000. That's why you don't see them. :)
     
  6. Enkidu_Warrior

    Enkidu_Warrior Shaman

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2004
    Messages:
    310
    Location:
    Australia
    whilst on the one hand ROCX has lost some major presitge by losing the 6,000 post thread, i can see how others would be jealous of the lofty status afforded this fledgling thread. still, a couple weeks sticky hardly makes up for the accolades ROCX has earned through the time and effort of its development team.

    i would suggest that, rather than sticky this thread, the 6,000 post thread ought to be sticky. in fact, any mod that can generate 3,000 replies ought to be stickied permanently - but only the thread that got there. new threads should earn their keep like any other.

    just a couple cents
    EW
     
  7. V. Soma

    V. Soma CFC Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    3,361
    Location:
    Hungary
    As I promised: Clashing of Empires is now past beta! :)
     
  8. Rhye

    Rhye 's and Fall creator

    Joined:
    May 23, 2001
    Messages:
    9,468
    Location:
    Japan / South America
    the old one can't be made sticky because it bring the speed problem back.

    I think instead of "time" we need to have it sticky until we reach a good number of posts again (say, 500)
     
  9. Barak

    Barak Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 1, 2003
    Messages:
    1,478
    Location:
    Chicago
    Rhye, I remember reading somewhere in the old thread that there was originally a plan to have scenarios based on Rhye's of Civ. Are these plans still in the planning stage? (other than Aeon's that is)
     
  10. Rhye

    Rhye 's and Fall creator

    Joined:
    May 23, 2001
    Messages:
    9,468
    Location:
    Japan / South America
    No, Aeon's carrying on the main scenario project.
    All I did now was the MP version.
    I'm anxious to try it, because I'm at home with the flue, again (last time was 2 weeks ago, and that's the reason for the making of that map), and I don't know what to do, all day long.
    So I'm available anytime. If you can, we can play, regardless of the GMT
     
  11. V. Soma

    V. Soma CFC Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    3,361
    Location:
    Hungary
    Ah, Rhye, so you have time now!
    Care to see and try Clashing of Empire, the now born "baby"? :)

    I would really appreciate your opinion on it...
     
  12. Barak

    Barak Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 1, 2003
    Messages:
    1,478
    Location:
    Chicago
    Can't now, I'm at work. Maybe later this afternoon depending on my RL schedule.
     
  13. Blasphemous

    Blasphemous Graulich

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2002
    Messages:
    3,079
    Location:
    Jerusalem, Israel
    Some time soon I'm gonna get my rear in gear for some possible further development of the mod. I had some ideas a while back but I kinda forgot them around when I got busy with my exams two months ago.
    But I think first I need to play a bit on the latest version of the mod. I think I'll continue playing the Germany beta game sporadically but not as my main game, it's just too tedious to play with such a huge empire (because of loading times and enormous amounts of build order - a couple dozen every turn, and that's on slow years.)
    My problem is that I wanted to make a fresh install of the game and mod once I get to the updated version, but to continue playing on the beta game I'd have to install the beta as well... Oh well, still better than leaving things as they are. I think I'll do all of that tomorrow.
    EDIT: Rhye, be online on ICQ more often, that way we can quickly coordinate a 1v1 game on the multiplayer some time when we're both available... The forums is a bit too slow-moving to coordinate these things in a timely manner.
     
  14. Barak

    Barak Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 1, 2003
    Messages:
    1,478
    Location:
    Chicago
    I have had several good games that i stopped playing when I got into the late industrial period due to just getting boring to play. When my empires got too big, it stopped being fun.
     
  15. Rhye

    Rhye 's and Fall creator

    Joined:
    May 23, 2001
    Messages:
    9,468
    Location:
    Japan / South America
  16. Blasphemous

    Blasphemous Graulich

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2002
    Messages:
    3,079
    Location:
    Jerusalem, Israel
    I draw alot of satisfaction from managing a huge empire and planning (and then executing) massive invasions. But it's far too tedious to do often and turns are so long that it's not a thing you do for a just a bit but rather an activity for the evening.
     
  17. Barak

    Barak Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 1, 2003
    Messages:
    1,478
    Location:
    Chicago
    Hadn't thought of it that way. I guess I enjoy the challenge of the game. Once I am too powerful, it just isn’t fun. Plus managing all those workers, and dealing with the constant pollution takes away from the fun.
     
  18. Blasphemous

    Blasphemous Graulich

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2002
    Messages:
    3,079
    Location:
    Jerusalem, Israel
    Yeah, when it ceases to be a challenge it really does lose some of its charm... But since I've already won, the challenge is now to dominate the world, and it's still difficult with maniacal leaders like queen Elizabeth throwing nukes everywhere... I know that if I got tangled in a war with England and/or America, it would still not end well. So I have to be careful, take over SE asia, and then possibly some Pacific stuff, and then take over North America in a deadly blitzkrieg from the south... I would have to place enough troops in mexico to conquer my way through the east coast on the turn of the invasion, to avoid major retaliation... And if that's not a challenge, I must really suck at this game. =P
     
  19. Barak

    Barak Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 1, 2003
    Messages:
    1,478
    Location:
    Chicago
    In my most advanced game, I am Arabia, and have taken all of the middle east, Iberia, Italia, Greece, the balkins, and southern europe up to the Alps. My biggest competition is the English, Americans and Japanese. The French and Germans are pests, but have MPP with England, who I am not quite ready to take on yet.

    After I controlled the middle east up to but not including Constantinople it was fun to just let the AI declare war on me, and then let my war machine roll over them.

    My one wish is if we could figure out a way to stop the AI from settling south of Russia. It is annoying to find those little cities in Siberia and the Urals which do not belong.
     
  20. Blasphemous

    Blasphemous Graulich

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2002
    Messages:
    3,079
    Location:
    Jerusalem, Israel
    Well, I went and did it, a clean install of Civ3, Conquests, and RoX.... Saved me around a gig of space just by getting rid of the piles of old mods that I had installed. :)
    I'm gonna go start a new game in RoX, Emperor level, random civ. I won't settle for whatever civ I get, but I'm willing to play most.
     

Share This Page