Rhye's of Civilization - the fastest loading mod Expanded

Discussion in 'Civ3 - Completed Modpacks' started by Rhye, Feb 5, 2004.

?

Rate this mod!

  1. I can't play Civ without this: no more loading times!

    203 vote(s)
    66.6%
  2. A good mod, but I won't play with it

    54 vote(s)
    17.7%
  3. I don't like the map

    13 vote(s)
    4.3%
  4. I don't like the terrain

    9 vote(s)
    3.0%
  5. I don't like the additions

    5 vote(s)
    1.6%
  6. I don't like the rules changes

    21 vote(s)
    6.9%
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. KingOfCiv

    KingOfCiv Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2004
    Messages:
    50
    Location:
    Canada
    Rhye I know you just said that you were going to post an Alpha soon. I was wondering when do you think the finished product would be done? Give estimit in days please.

    KOC
     
  2. Lachlan

    Lachlan Great Builder of Civs !

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2002
    Messages:
    2,072
    Location:
    European Union
    Sorry i return to DyP 2 PTW

    I desinstalled all Civ 3 + 2 add-ons and reinstelled Civ 3 + PTW Only :blush:
     
  3. Rhye

    Rhye 's and Fall creator

    Joined:
    May 23, 2001
    Messages:
    9,723
    Location:
    Japan / South America
    :eek: why?



    I hope for the beginning of October. I usually respect deadlines, but there's a random factor: I'm still waiting for some units to be made by utahjazz7.
     
  4. Blasphemous

    Blasphemous Graulich

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2002
    Messages:
    3,079
    Location:
    Jerusalem, Israel
    1) While having an historically prominant UU is always good, just giving them a slinger instead of an archer or instead of a warrior would be enough in this case.
    2) I don't completely understand, could you please explain in more detail both possible schemes?
     
  5. Lachlan

    Lachlan Great Builder of Civs !

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2002
    Messages:
    2,072
    Location:
    European Union
    Oh, because i would play Dyp 2 PTW since C3C conversion is bad :(

    It's a few difficult because without the C3C Features :mischief:

    Your mod ? It's good but your World Map is too slow in my gust :rolleyes:
    I would like to taste the 134x130 C3C Rhye's Mod :crazyeye:
    Because the loading time should be decreased again :D
     
  6. Blasphemous

    Blasphemous Graulich

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2002
    Messages:
    3,079
    Location:
    Jerusalem, Israel
    Errr, Lachlan, you know that C3C comes with PTW also seperately from Conquests so you can run it through PTW without the features of Conquests?
     
  7. Rhye

    Rhye 's and Fall creator

    Joined:
    May 23, 2001
    Messages:
    9,723
    Location:
    Japan / South America
    the first proposal was dividing the lines:
    horseman->lancer
    knight->cavalry
    and moving the ansar, the keshik, etc. to the 1st path to allow them to upgrade from the horseman.

    instead what I've thought now is:
    horseman->light knight (or a similar name)->lancer
    heavy horseman (and using the Statue of Zeus for something else)->knight->cavarly.
    There's some redundance, but no UUs need to be moved.
     
  8. Owain

    Owain G Flashing Inaccessable

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Messages:
    219
    Location:
    Tennessee
    I like that scheme... the more you can upgrade a unit, the better imo. ;)

    What exactly is the reasoning behind the temple of Zeus spitting out heavy horsemen anyway?
     
  9. Chukchi Husky

    Chukchi Husky Lone Wolf

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2004
    Messages:
    7,772
    Location:
    Carmarthenshire, Wales
    Rhye, I am creating an alternative version of your mod. Its basically the same rules, but the change is that the map is replaced with a 80 x 80 Europe/Mediterranian map, involving European/Mediterranian civs. The map is distorted, with Britain and Greece out of proportion with the rest of the map (Greece, with some Mediterranian islands, make the Mediterranian Sea smaller).
    Here is an image of the British Isles from my map:
     
  10. Rhye

    Rhye 's and Fall creator

    Joined:
    May 23, 2001
    Messages:
    9,723
    Location:
    Japan / South America
    do you need an Europe+Mediterranean map?

    I've got one! It's 84x120 and it is an upgrade of the Napoleonic conquest map
     

    Attached Files:

  11. Rhye

    Rhye 's and Fall creator

    Joined:
    May 23, 2001
    Messages:
    9,723
    Location:
    Japan / South America
    In fact, there is no reason.
     
  12. KingOfCiv

    KingOfCiv Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2004
    Messages:
    50
    Location:
    Canada
    The reason is that the statue was built with IVORY...But it was to represent the Indian Calavery of ancient times I believe. I believe also we should add horses to the requirement of the Temple of Zeus!

    KOC
     
  13. Kjaran

    Kjaran Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2004
    Messages:
    57
    First of all, I imagine you have checked out Kinboat's egyptian pack with 10+ new models.. It rocks...
     
  14. Rhye

    Rhye 's and Fall creator

    Joined:
    May 23, 2001
    Messages:
    9,723
    Location:
    Japan / South America
    thank you, I didn't notice the pack! Unfortunately, the slinger is missing...I'll have to think of something else.

    EDIT: OK I've found it. The Axeman.
     
  15. Chukchi Husky

    Chukchi Husky Lone Wolf

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2004
    Messages:
    7,772
    Location:
    Carmarthenshire, Wales
    If my map doesn't turn out any good I might use that one.
     
  16. laxpimpj

    laxpimpj Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Messages:
    56
    what's up with the "goody huts." I loaded up RoC nine times in a row as england, every game both huts spat out barbarians.

    They just going to be barbarian huts now or what?

    Edit: Oh and the AI england always seems so far behind on tech, and now that Im playing as them it seems nearly impossible to keep up with the techs, and I am playing very stratigically. With 70 percent research focused on science, map making still took 65 turns.
    Someone castrate england?
     
  17. Jaguar

    Jaguar Lurker

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Messages:
    292
    I was seriously about to post the same thing.

    Observe this game. Emperor level, which is, if I recall correctly, the level that the mod is best balanced for. Several civs, including my Scandinavians, are into the industrial age. Colonies are sprouting up on both Americas, and all over Africa. I'm almost to railroads.

    Now where is England? They are still in Despotism, and don't yet have Construction.
     
  18. Aeon221

    Aeon221 Lord of the Cheese Helmet

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2003
    Messages:
    1,900
    Location:
    Hiding from the Afro-Eurasians
    Very strange!

    England always seems to be a leader in the games I play; maybe its just some weirdness, ghost in the machine stuff.

    On the other side of the world, Japan is really well balanced now. I am behind in techs (diff on emperor) but I have conquered china and korea and am moving forward from there. The really advanced AI has cav (Persia), most others dont, year is 16something. I have only limited contacts, not even all of Europe yet, but I am up to metallurgy and free artistry.

    Only change I would suggest would be replacing the bonus tile on the grassland next to the Japanese capitol. Not having it seriously crippled my start there (basing this on a game as Japan from the 2.3something version).

    Has ANYone ever played as Babylon or Israel (when was THAT added? hahaha)? If not, I just might start a game with one of them to see if it is indeed possible to even play as them haha

    Camels and Elephants are nice adds; they really add some flavor!

    None of the games I have played have had any major Euro's behind on tech; however, the Americans always seem to be screwed on that account (considering that they should have a massive tech advantage over natives in terms of weaponry)

    How about starting them off with a scout in England or something? Only way I can think of to give them a more "European" feel and advantage.
     
  19. Jaguar

    Jaguar Lurker

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Messages:
    292
    Babylon and Israel can both be won. Basically, each has the other to conquer.
     
  20. Chukchi Husky

    Chukchi Husky Lone Wolf

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2004
    Messages:
    7,772
    Location:
    Carmarthenshire, Wales
    I decided to use a new European map. It is a slight redrawing of mallan's 80 x 80 European map. This is what I have done so far. I willl probably change the map more.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page