1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Rise And Rule Revisited (epic mod)

Discussion in 'Civ3 - Completed Modpacks' started by Civinator, Jun 21, 2015.

  1. Doc Tsiolkovski

    Doc Tsiolkovski Deity

    Joined:
    May 4, 2003
    Messages:
    5,032
    Location:
    Köln, Cologne, Colonia. Finally.
    Ohhh...great!

    Thanks a lot for keeping the mod and the RAR community alive and bringing the mod to a new height. I really apologize for not answering, but well...I stopped from playing Civ out of frustration when CIV came out, and since I also stopped visiting CFC and other forums...well, I never saw the pm :crazyeye:

    Hm, might try to install C3C again :goodjob:

    Best
    Doc T
     
  2. Civinator

    Civinator Blue Lion Supporter

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,282
    Gender:
    Male
    :)
    Hi Doc Tsiolkovski, welcome back at CFC! :band::hatsoff:

    It is a great relief for me, that you gave your o.k. to the modding work I have done with RAR. :) RAR is the "mother of all Civ 3 mods" and the tradition must be continued.

    There are many civers who were frustrated with CIV -among them me - but in my eyes this means, that the modding of C3C must be continued and be improved. There were many new discoveries in the modding of Civ 3 in the last years. Especially the new editors, that are now available, allow a completely new modding of C3C. Worker specialists (units with limited worker settings that are used by the AI), teleporters and charm attack - these options now all are available to modders. Even units of different classes now can be set to AI routines of another class (so here some more experience must be gathered).

    There are some features I introduced to the modding of C3C that can be done with normal editors like the advanced autoproduction of heavy units. So some Tiger tanks can be added to Pz IIIs, some M103 to M-47s, some IS3 to T-34s (and so on) - all with only one building that is used for the different units that are autoproduced at the same time.

    By the way: In my eyes the setting of tanks in RAR (and RARR) is next to gamebreaking. I didn´t change here anything to keep as close as possible to the original mod, but now, as you are here, may be you allow to change her some settings. The tanks must be weakened. Than the counter measure with AT- and TOW-Infantry can be dimmed down, too. It´s a pitty, that normal WW2 infantry is not very useful with the current settings.

    I have read a number of posts, that the AI does not build many ships in RAR. This could be changed, if the production costs of ships are set significantly cheaper. Capital ships should be considered to be autoproduced by the advanced autoproduction methode.

    If all runs well in RL, the new RARR mainfile and the next biq can be uploaded next weekend. It´s always a good idea to reinstall C3C :) (so this becomes more and more complicated with every new version of windows).

    Cheers
    Civinator
     
  3. Node60

    Node60 Warlord

    Joined:
    May 27, 2015
    Messages:
    259
    Location:
    West Siberia
    We are looking forward to the new release. By the way, because there is hope that it will be stable, you may already need to think about the extended version?
     
  4. Civinator

    Civinator Blue Lion Supporter

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,282
    Gender:
    Male
    Hi Node60,

    as in the situation about a "stabel" version nothing has changed, here is the link to my answer: http://forums.civfanatics.com/showpost.php?p=13962892&postcount=203

    At present no extended version is planned (this is simply a matter of my limited free time). I want to read what Doc T. thinks about the mod after he has reinstalled C3C and installed and played the mod. The last post was mainly written for Doc T., concerning his outstanding position in the RAR mod, containing the hint, that he should wait with the download of RARR until the next version of the biq and mainfile is available (so he doesn´t need to handle the patch for the mainfile).

    Node60, the report you gave about the missing option to enable the Typhoon boomer sub is fixed. The setting for using that sub are enabled in the next version of the biq.
    Thank you very much for reporting that error. :)

    The same with the broken upgrade chain from submarines to attack submarines. This is also fixed with the next version of the biq. Again thank you very much for reporting that error. :)

    In the old version of RAR that is currently enabled on my pc, there is no upgrade option from an attack sub to a boomer sub (and in my eyes this makes sense).
     
  5. Node60

    Node60 Warlord

    Joined:
    May 27, 2015
    Messages:
    259
    Location:
    West Siberia
    Such an option to upgrade I did not offer.
     
  6. Civinator

    Civinator Blue Lion Supporter

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,282
    Gender:
    Male
    When looking into the German post you made, this is correct. :)
     
  7. jlvfr

    jlvfr King

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Messages:
    866
    Gender:
    Male
    Having a weird problem with a game. Am well advanced with the Turks (up to 1940); for some reason, half-way into the turn change, the game crashes... been trying to find out why, but no luck... :(
     
  8. Civinator

    Civinator Blue Lion Supporter

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,282
    Gender:
    Male
    Could it be the houseboat bug?
     
  9. ynot56

    ynot56 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Messages:
    96
    Civinator

    I am pretty sure that the Destroyer (WWI) upgrade path is also broken. Along with the heavy bomber to supersonic bomber.
     
  10. Civinator

    Civinator Blue Lion Supporter

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,282
    Gender:
    Male
    ynot56, I had a look at the upgrade path of the WWI destroyer as you reported it many posts ago, and it is working well with all civs I tested it. Please don´t forget, that the upgrade path is showing well only for the civ you are playing, as all units of a certain class are integrated into a single upgrade path, so cifspecific units can be hold in the upgrade path to units that are shared by some other or all other civs. So if you click on a unit of a civ that isn´t your civ, the upgrade path isn´t shown for that civ.

    What civ are you playing?

    I will have a special look at that civ, too concerning the upgrade path of WWI destroyers - and I will have a look at the upgrade path of heavy bombers.
     
  11. jlvfr

    jlvfr King

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Messages:
    866
    Gender:
    Male
    Is that when a civ has only a city founder unit left, in a ship? If so, then that's definetly it... how do I fix that?
     
  12. Civinator

    Civinator Blue Lion Supporter

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,282
    Gender:
    Male
    Yes, this is the houseboat bug. It was fixed by Firaxis in earlier versions of Civ 3 but reappeared back with later versions again. It´s the same sad story as with the submarine bug.

    Until now nobody found a proper way to fix that bug, as it is a bug in the programming of Civ 3. If you run into that bug, you must restart a saved game and eleminate the ship of that civ with the settler and only if the ship and settler are out of the game, you should conquer the last city of that civ. As long as you haven´t found that ship you shouldn´t conquer the last remaining city of that civ, as the bug will occur again as long as the settler on the ship exists.
     
  13. jlvfr

    jlvfr King

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Messages:
    866
    Gender:
    Male
    Found the damn boat! It was on the last square of the patrol zone of my last ship! :eek: now I can continue on my tale of world domination.
     
  14. Doc Tsiolkovski

    Doc Tsiolkovski Deity

    Joined:
    May 4, 2003
    Messages:
    5,032
    Location:
    Köln, Cologne, Colonia. Finally.
    Tempting, but I won't find the time in the foreseeable future.

    Anyway, I'm sure you caught the spirit of DYP/RAR :), so you have my blessing to change really a lot.
    I somewhat remember the reason behind some of the more puzzling features - RR with Explosives, seemingly overpowered WW1+2 tanks and huge sea transport capacities: help the AI...:rolleyes:

    RR - once the player can build them, we all spam the landscape in no time, skyrocketing production and food. Plus the annoying infinite movement. Besides, Steam Engines historically makes no real sense; they were around for a century before huge rail networks.

    Sea Transports - the AI builds too few of them, and we never found out how to improve the AI build preferences here, aside making them unreasonably cheap, like in Age of Imperialism, but this even more helps the human player.

    Tanks - this one is indeed difficult. I really tested this a lot, and for me, it finally gave the AI a chance to threaten (but not overpower) even an advanced player in the later game. In general, compared to vanilla, the standard defenders in RAR are weaker vs the standard attacker. We wanted to avoid the usual situation that the human just has to place like 2 Inf in a Metro, and losing a non-coastal city is almost impossible (the balance in the standard game is fine, because here the AI builds tons of units). OTOH, defender strength values are almost pointless for a human with enough artillery, especially when fast attackers can retreat. So, if the WW1/2 tanks are best attackers and defenders, it makes it harder for the human to march next to an AI city and capture it, while also making it harder to eliminate an AI invasion (the AI obviously never coordinates fast attackers, slow defenders and ari in one stack).
    I fully agree that this is highly artificial and lacks realism - so if you get to the same result with more elaborate designs like autoproduced joker units, even better.

    I'm interested in your solutions

    Best
    Doc T
     
  15. ynot56

    ynot56 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Messages:
    96
    Hi civ;

    Thanks for checking that out. I stated that I was unable to upgrade to the latest version. This could seriously be pilot error on my part. Given that, I played Polynesian. I checked the biq, again, it might have been to pilot error and that looked like it upgraded to another type of Destroyer wwI.

    Again, with Polynesian, I bought a airship that I upgraded to a medium bomber (betty equivalent), a long range bomber (b-29 equivalent), then a heavy bomber (b-47 equivalent), then to a strategic bomber (b-52 equivalent). When I got supersonic flight, it wouldn't upgrade to the supersonicv bomber (b-1 equivalent).
     
  16. Node60

    Node60 Warlord

    Joined:
    May 27, 2015
    Messages:
    259
    Location:
    West Siberia
    Civinator
    Here are my bug reports related to submarines, from the German Forum:

    ===
    Und ein weiterer Bug - Russian (zumindest zu, der Rest des Landes, habe ich nicht überprüfen) nicht verfügbar ist jeder Boomer Submarine, noch Tayfoon Class U-Boot.

    Und noch eine Frage zu U-Boote. In der ursprünglichen RAR Submarine (16-10-4) wandte sich an den Attack Submarine (20-16-6)
    ===

    I did not offer an option to upgrade "from an attack sub to a boomer sub".

    However, it does not matter :)

    We look forward to the next release.
     
  17. Civinator

    Civinator Blue Lion Supporter

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,282
    Gender:
    Male
    ynot56, I also checked the upgrade path for Polynesia to the supersonic bomber and all seems to work well.
     
  18. Civinator

    Civinator Blue Lion Supporter

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,282
    Gender:
    Male
    Node60, I had a look at these posts some time ago and Russia (and some other countries) now can build the Typhoon submarines. The unit always was included in the biq, but the countries who are allowed to build it (Russia -and if I remember well China and Carthage) were not enabled yet. The upgrade path from submarines to Attack submarines (and Akula Class) is fixed in the next version of the biq.
     
  19. ynot56

    ynot56 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Messages:
    96
    thanks, i must have screwed something up on my end.
     
  20. Civinator

    Civinator Blue Lion Supporter

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,282
    Gender:
    Male
    Biq RARR1.4 removed after 210 downloads.
    The current Version of the biq is RARR1.5.

    Changes in RARR-biq 1.5:

    1. Upgrade path from submarines to attack submarines fixed
    2. Boomer submarines of the Typhoon Class enabled for Russia, China and Carthaginians

    Fixes in RARR-mainfile, uploaded 25.10.2015:

    The new mainfile holds all fixes from the former RARR-Patches. Additionally the Ini and the soundfiles of the F-15 Strike Eagle, the sound files of the Asian Cavalry and the missing soundfile AA.wav of the Super Carrier are fixed.

    A big thank you very much to Madviking, Node60, Samez, keli, Fortis1, Uaargh!?, jlvfr, Kestrel18, Lord Plebian, TechieTubbies, Mr. Constantin, ynot56, rudy2 and Tigris of Gaul for reporting the errors! :)

    The link to the new biq and the new mainfile can be found in post 1 of this thread.
     

Share This Page