1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Rise of Mankind 3.0 (final version) design discussion

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Rise of Mankind' started by zappara, Mar 27, 2010.

  1. tejon

    tejon Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Messages:
    32
    Awww, but that's my favorite thing about Siam. :(
     
  2. Afforess

    Afforess The White Wizard

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Messages:
    12,239
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    Yes, sorry. The BTS developers coded the game so that only non-combatants should be workers. Units that can attack and build will cause issues.
     
  3. vincentz

    vincentz Programmer

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Messages:
    3,550
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Denmark
    Really?. I didn't notice it with my warlords. Is it only if they have worker AI or in general?
    I also added the ability to build roads and tradeposts with the caravan. They are non attackers but have some strenght if I recall correctly.

    How did you track down/discover the cause of the waiting bug?
     
  4. os79

    os79 Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,070
    Location:
    Eastern USA Coast
    Using his magic on my reported infinite loop with my AND log and savegame. He told me what caused it (you need to ask him how he did that exactly [interested, myself :D]). He told me about elephant riders and war elephants. I went into XML/Units and edited Unitinfos.xml to turn off the boolean value (1 changed to 0) for Worker AI and Build functions for both of these units, including their UUs. Then I booted my savegame and VOILA! Afforess' magic did it again and I could continue my game :D.
     
  5. vincentz

    vincentz Programmer

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Messages:
    3,550
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Denmark
    Very nice to get rid of another waiting bug, as it seems to be the only gamebreaker atm.
    I'll edit my warlords and put a patch in VIP
     
  6. Afforess

    Afforess The White Wizard

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Messages:
    12,239
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    Using Visual Studio 2008, and watching the code. It took me 4 hours to track that worker bug down to a specific cause. ;)

    Firaxis wrote the code for workers, assuming that workers always had no strength and couldn't fight. That assumption is what will cause Waiting For loops when you use units that can fight. The units work fine when the player is not at war, but when the player starts using the worker/military unit in war, it will try to build roads, then connect them to other cities; and because it's a military unit, it can find a "safe" path to a friendly city; but can't build a road because it's through enemy territory. A real non-combatant worker would be unable to find that path in the first place; which is why they work fine. (Plus, the AI doesn't send it's workers into enemy territory). Fixing the code would be a real pain, especially since Civ5 is 51 days away, and the fix is so simple...
     
  7. primordial stew

    primordial stew Emperor

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2005
    Messages:
    1,219
    Location:
    a puddle
    In RFRE the Legions can build forts, roads, and cottages (towns tended to spring up around legionary camps). This works fine for a human player, but in the brief period following the final split of the Empire the AI is left to control either the WRE or ERE, the problem is exposed. While the WRE is being overrun, the AI has the legions out doing work..

    I haven't tried to fix it, but instead just create more baddies when the WRE.isHuman. I might try modifying the danger function that wakes workers up, but it's very low on the list. Or perhaps adding a check using isAtWar and baseCombatStr into the work evaluation code so that during war combat units can only build forts? The AI doesn't build very many forts, so that might be good enough.
     
  8. Hyronymus

    Hyronymus Troop leader

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,865
    Gender:
    Male
    How about worker promotions? Or is that something for Civ5?
     
  9. tibi

    tibi Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    38
  10. JosEPh_II

    JosEPh_II TBS WarLord

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    15,705
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Western IL. cornfields
    Hey zappara.

    Will there actually be a RoM3.0? Or are you done with it?

    You don't post much anymore, and after 3+ years I imagine you're pretty tired of it all.

    I want to say again personally that I very much appreciate what you have done. You've given me many, many hours of enjoyment. Thank You So Much. It's been a Great Time here on the RoM forum since RoM 0.8.

    JosEPh :)
     
  11. zappara

    zappara Mod Designer

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2003
    Messages:
    2,781
    Location:
    Finland
    I'm working on next patch (2.95) and I'm trying to get v3.0 out by the time Civ 5 is released (or soon after). It's been really hot summer here in Finland so I haven't been modding that much... when thinking complex stuff like RoM, I'd rather do it on cold winter than on hot summer days. Besides I need "vacation" from modding from time to time or it starts to feel like work and not as fun hobby. ;)
     
  12. Afforess

    Afforess The White Wizard

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Messages:
    12,239
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    Amen.
     
  13. tibi

    tibi Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Amen! Hope "my" bug will be fixed in 2.95 :crazyeye:
     
  14. Arakhor

    Arakhor Dremora Courtier Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Messages:
    32,714
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    UK
    Take all the time you need, Zappara :)
     
  15. djknuddel

    djknuddel Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    First of all - thank you for your great mod. It enjoys me so much over years now. And its getting better and better.

    But one thing I always missed - more civs and leaderheads. So in the past there was an extra megapack to download, but there were so many civs in there that my computer can hardly handle them. There are a lot of errors caused by this megapack (black terrain bug, long loading time ...) so is it possible to add or remove civs in a more modular way? So that you can choose maybe 20 civs out of a pool of 200 existing at the installation. The problem here is that the previously released megapacks always load all included new civs - thats overwhelming.

    I've read in this forum about removing civs but that is very hard to do.

    What I dream of is an installer like Afforess did with the AND modmod, where you can choose the civs you want (or maybe some civ packs you want if that is easier).

    I really like variety and I cannot see Ragnar anymore :)

    Edit: One Thing I forgot: Enjoy the summer!
     
  16. gunburned

    gunburned Warlord

    Joined:
    May 22, 2004
    Messages:
    139
    Everything is just perfect. :goodjob:
    All that needs to be done is maybe adding all those civs and leaderheads from the 2.8mega pack. ;)
     
  17. generalstaff

    generalstaff Steadfast

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,095
    Location:
    California
    Zap already said he was going to update that for 3.0. He probably won't be adding it to vanilla RoM due to computer requirements. Although, he should merge in the modular LHs in vanilla RoM (and whatever ones he wants to add for 3.0) into the main leaderhead files for decreased loading time.

    Zap pretty much just has to finish adding pedia and strategy entries and replacing redundant buttons. As for the mega pack, he just has to add LHs to new civs to make sure they have at least 2 due to the Revolutions mod (as well as updating art, but that is a large task which is why we haven't seen one for 2.9).
     
  18. fox456

    fox456 Warlord

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Messages:
    181
    Wow, I like this idea too. Would it be possible to incorporate this modular approach to adding civs/leaders?
     
  19. turboraton

    turboraton Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Messages:
    83
    Hello there mate, greeting from Peru. Just registered to thank you and your staff (if you have one, if not DOUBLE thanks) because you just made a great game, the PERFECT game. We have a small community here and we all play your mod. Cant wait till you mod Civ5, the possibilities seem endless!
     
  20. Caeserportugal

    Caeserportugal Prince

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    526
    Location:
    Portugal
    Just wanted to see that I like youre mod a lot Zappara. I play Rise of Mankind together with Afforess's New dawn and it is my favorite mod. Keep up with the good work.:goodjob:
     

Share This Page