1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

RtW Scenario: 1936 World War!

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Road to War' started by Dale, Jul 11, 2007.

  1. Sir_Lagalot

    Sir_Lagalot Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    oops on double posting :(
     
  2. Sir_Lagalot

    Sir_Lagalot Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    Also, for such a version, make SURE to prevent the god awful Corruption and waste from killing empires. For instance; put forbidden palaces in locations of strategic area, colonies, and countries. This is appliable to Britain most notably, as there empire is incredibly vast, and will quickly drain the treasury without it. This also creates the effect of a "capital" kill within the area of interest. Say the japanese take Calcutta (or bombay depending on where you want it to be). Not only do the British lose a city, but given if its a capital, they also lose the ability to produce stuff there and lose vast amounts of cash, resulting in the quick capitulation of India to the rest of japan in very short order.

    The british empire, for instance, needs one in canada (ottawa), Johannesburg (african war between italians and british in somalia. Cairo (For north african war). Australia.
    You could set up the british empire either to have one player to control the entire thing, (with much micromanagement; More than the Americans or Russians!) or set it up as a permanent alliance in similar fashion to how the Peloponesian war mod was set up (distinct countries the player controls).

    The french, by example, would control Mainland france, and Vietnam (with a forbidden palace or effect similar there)
    Americans should have a forbidden palace like structure in the Manilla.
    (you get my idea, just turn up corruption up high so the effect become immediate on the empire in question so they quickly lose it)
    With russia, put a forbidden palace in vladivostok.

    Remove all areas of inconsequentiality: Notably South america, it will reduce turn time. This was one of the main achilles heel of the Ww2 global version of CIV 3, The god awful turn time (notably a MASSIVE south american war that was going on while the other war was going on). Every bit helps.
     
  3. GarretSidzaka

    GarretSidzaka Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Messages:
    4,696
    Location:
    Arizona
    hey dale make sure you add those new icons for the DCM to RtW!! :) i would hate to miss them in the next patch ;)
     
  4. MechatronicJazz

    MechatronicJazz Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    224
    Im really looking foreward to this mod. an interesting idea would be to set up the game to continue a little past the end of the war. Then u could include some of he other conflicts that directly followed ww2. Of course, I don't know how historically accurate the scenario would be after that. Another thing i'd like to see is more opportunity for creating alternate history. As it is, historical completely takes away control over declaring war. Free Play has almost no historical component, other than the map. It is basically a reg. civ game on a ww2 map. The half-way mode still allows little control. Is it possible to create a mode where u r free to declare war as u wish, but other civs r still likely to follow a somewhat historical behavior? This way u could change key events in the war, like the Americans joining, or the Germans turning on Russia. Personally, i'd like to try some less conventional things, such as conflict between the commies and nationalists in china breaking out during the war, or maybe even Canada trying to win complete independence from Britain (as they were controlled to some degree at the time). We would have lost of course, but it might have opened up a North American Theatre, as various countries could have used the opportunity to scoop up our many resources.
     
  5. krokodil

    krokodil Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Messages:
    46
    ty Dale for ctrl-w sry couldnt check message earlier, was on long hollydays :) i wanna try to make global map but never done it before most likely i will not be able to but lets see. if i have questions ill ask here, Happy Hollydays all!!!
     
  6. krokodil

    krokodil Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Messages:
    46
    Dale how do i change map size instead 85x113 to 180x360?
     
  7. Dale

    Dale Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2002
    Messages:
    6,986
    That's a lot trickier. You're better off starting a new game at the size you want.
     
  8. krokodil

    krokodil Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Messages:
    46
    hehe thats right.. i can do there ctrl-W also, ty
     
  9. krokodil

    krokodil Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Messages:
    46
    hehe thats right.. i can do there ctrl-W also, ty
     
  10. Laurier

    Laurier Prime Minister

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Messages:
    117
    Location:
    Toronto
    any eta on a playable version for this scenario?
     
  11. Ambreville

    Ambreville Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2006
    Messages:
    2,255
    Location:
    Windy City USA
    I'm not sure this is the right thread for this (let me know if not).

    I tried the newly updated RtW, Europe 1936, with patch 1. Wow, this is pretty impressive! :goodjob:

    Here are issues I ran into.

    Geographic Detail:
    Since I started with France, my comments will center on France (I had intended to try various civs). First off, the city of Rabat and surrounding areas (Morocco) are presently Spanish. Historically, this was a French-held region.
    The topography around the city of Nice (southern France) is wrong. High mountains need to extend south into the two spaces just north of Nice. The spaces northwest, northeast, and east of Nice should be at least hills. Right now, it shows the region as flat plains. OK, granted this is just a detail compared to the overall scale of the game, but it does have significant strategic and tactical consequences in the region.

    Relative Cost of Units:
    The time to build certain units seems out of proportion. For example, a fighter unit requires 240 hammers, a battleship requires 400 hammer, while an anti-tank unit requires 480 hammers! Why? The latter seems way too expensive.

    Artillery vs Anti-Tank:
    I noticed that artillery gets a +50% bonus vs tanks -- the same as an anti-tank unit. Wouldn't it be more logical to give artillery a +50% vs infantry instead?

    Relative strengths of early infantry units:
    The differences in strengths of national units seem excessive. Here are the strengths I could see:
    • Benelux 5
    • France 8
    • Italy 10
    • England 12
    • Germany 15
    What standard was used to determine relative strengths, especially in the mid-30's? "Pound-for-pound" in those times infantry divisions were fairly comparable. Relative strengths of divisions varied with actual numbers (boots on the ground), available hardware, and especially combat experience -- and certainly not national- or ethnic-based evaluations. Part of the ratings above probably have more to do with game balance (?) than historical accuracy. By the beginning of the war, how can one say that perhaps British infantry, or for that matter Italian infantry, were actually "better" than French infantry in the kinds of proportions suggested by the ratings above?

    Game Speed:
    This isn't a fault of the mod but of my own computer. I only have half a meg ram, which is clearly insufficient for RtW. By 1937, waiting for other civs to complete their turn took 2'13"... way too long for my taste. Sadly, I had to give up the game. That's a shame because the mod looked very exciting.
     
  12. Sir_Lagalot

    Sir_Lagalot Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    What ambreville said I think means that Anti tank guns should be removed. Anti tank guns were a specific Type of artillery and fit neatly into the category of artillery if it is given a Anti tank bonus. Against the infantry, artillery is relativly ineffective if they are dug in. They shouldn't recieve a buff against infantry, instead, infantry should recieve a big buff against collateral damage, as this represents there capacity to dig in effectivly to nerf its effects quite massivly.
    You could in coding design it so that a unit that is fortified for 5% gains 10% reduction in collateral damage, 10-20%...etc. This would most accurately depict artilleries effect against well dug in troops and still be very effective against moving armies.

    I've noticed this too. I find it highly unrealistic that such infantry has a very large difference in the unit strengths as well. a Drafted german infantry unit, should, Pound for pound, win against a Drafted dutch unit at a rate close to 50% with out added buffers {such as hill defense/city defnse bonuses} (notice I said "drafted" for a particular reason). The great powers the germans get should be from using combined arms (Bombers, fighters, artillery) to weaken lesser nations, not from having crazy Uber units to start out with. Part of the reason I put all infantry that start the game at very close strength levels (Biggest difference is that of 10-15{german to chinese units} for very obvious equipment differences of the two nations)
    was that the equipment for infantry from all different nations didn't vary too greatly. The biggest determinant between the units should be the experience each units has. My suggestion for realistic *infantry* is that they only advance one strength level per turn, but each upgrade Gives the units unbelievable buffs against units that were designed for the units. when units are upgraded, the equipment is slightly changed.

    An example of this would be German early infantry. should start out with an Anti tank (+25% buff against armor) The basic gun is a rifle, and the anti tank capacity is that of Anti tank rifles (very little).

    When upgraded to improved German infantry, the strength increases by 1, but a Massive buff against city attack and siege weapons would be introduced due to the great introduction of automatic weaponry infused in it. A slightly bigger anti tank buff would be given to it, due to the increase of weaponry available to the individual units across the board.

    The advanced german infantry would technically be equipped with highly advanced weaponry of the era, and thus would be given a Massive attack bonus against armor types (Introduction of Panzerfaust/Shrek) while still advancing only a few numbers in actual strength to its desired level.

    Ranks, instead of raw unit strength, should decide unit power to a higher degree. (To give the german units an "edge", instead of giving more raw combat power, give each say, 3 free upgrades (Which duly represents the experience level of the german army, but no necessarily its equipment).

    (This would also allow you to potentially nerf the anti tank guns out of the game)
     
  13. Genghis_Kai

    Genghis_Kai GEM modder

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Messages:
    1,214
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    Dale,

    Although you haven't explicitly mentioned, I can see that you are using v2.2 of Giant Earth Map to build the global scenario. Are you aware of my latest update v4.1? It is definitely a better map.
     
  14. dziban303

    dziban303 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    I tried the 4.1 map. Its great. Dale, take note.
     
  15. Eadro

    Eadro Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Is there any downloadable Beta Version of the World map yet?

    I've been holding my breath for half a year, but still cannot find a download link to the world scenario or an entry in the current patches that this has been included.
     
  16. Joe Harker

    Joe Harker 1st in the Premiership!

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Messages:
    2,812
    Location:
    Coventry!
    Not yet, be patience, i believe it is in the next beta update! :)
     
  17. Laurier

    Laurier Prime Minister

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Messages:
    117
    Location:
    Toronto
    any eta on a playable version for this scenario?
     
  18. Dale

    Dale Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2002
    Messages:
    6,986
    The 1936 Global scenario will be available straight after the next BtS patch. :) It will be in the add-on for the next patch (which will also add back in Hitler, swastika, etc).
     
  19. krokodil

    krokodil Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Messages:
    46
    woot!!!! i thought Dale retired, im glad to hear world scenario will still be out one day.

    also i have suggestion if u could make 2 new improvements for workers to build:

    1st - Detention facility where u can put max limit 5 workers in it. when worker in jail he

    doesnt cost any gold per turn.

    2nd - Concentration camps - where we can place captured workers (ex soldiers,setlers,

    workers if in the future we will able to capture enemy inf turn them to pow-worker) each

    pow could be just like a worker but will not have effect in jails instead in CC they could

    make 2 shields and 1 gold to nearest city and maybe 1 unhapiness if country sensitive

    to war wearness.

    probably lots codings to do all that but could be fun and players would try to get more

    pows alive instead just killing.

    In options when we start game we could get button to turn on or off DC & CC worker's

    ability for those who would rather not see any pows nor inmates.

    Sry for asking alot all the time but this will make this game even better.
     
  20. Joe Harker

    Joe Harker 1st in the Premiership!

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Messages:
    2,812
    Location:
    Coventry!
    You don't have any idea when that might be do you ;)

    Just i am really desperate to play on that map! :)
     

Share This Page