1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Screenshot analysis!

Discussion in 'Civ6 - General Discussions' started by Camikaze, May 11, 2016.

  1. elitetroops

    elitetroops Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2012
    Messages:
    5,681
    They upgrade as soon as you enter a new era. No point having that in tooltips on the tech tree since half of the tech advance you to a new era.
     
  2. Siptah

    Siptah Eternal Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2016
    Messages:
    5,161
    Location:
    Lucerne
    roads upgrade once you reach a new era. not a specific tech, that's why it's not in the tech tree.

    Edit: too late.
     
  3. fmm

    fmm Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    255
    Cool. Do we know what each era of road does?
     
  4. Cerilis

    Cerilis Not Warlord

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2013
    Messages:
    2,929
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Germany
    And what about railroads?
     
  5. Fourmi1

    Fourmi1 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2016
    Messages:
    46
    Location:
    Strasbourg
    A little bit off topic, but have we already saw air combat in civ 6 ? I heard it was "different" but no more info... which is kind of unsatisfying :D
    (if you have videos, please share ;))
     
  6. KrikkitTwo

    KrikkitTwo Immortal

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Messages:
    12,322
  7. Denkt

    Denkt Left permamently

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Messages:
    3,654
    You can build airstrips so they do not need as long range.
     
  8. Dark_Jedi06

    Dark_Jedi06 "Deus ex Machina."

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    1,399
    Gender:
    Male
    You can see that when you enter a new era which unlocks a road upgrade, you'll get an alert informing you that your roads have been upgraded. It's tied to the era and not a particular tech in said era.
     
  9. Silverdawn

    Silverdawn Prince

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Messages:
    490
    Here is an example from reaching the Modern Era in Quill's Norway game. There is a notification on the right side.
    https://www.twitch.tv/quill18/v/92199463?t=3h26m14s
     
  10. stealth_nsk

    stealth_nsk Deity

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    5,513
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Novosibirsk, Russia
    Do we know what happens with unit promotions on making Corps? They clearly aren't recreated, so it looksl ike original unit's promotions are kept - if that'strue it's always good to use green unit as the one to join.
     
  11. joncnunn

    joncnunn Senior Java Wizard Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,621
    Location:
    Missouri
    Quill pulled up the encyclopedia for that on whichever of his Roman video he reached the social policy allowing cops. Your last sentence actually is a paraphrase of what's in the encyclopedia; which recommends combining highly promoted units with rookies after explicitly making it clear that only the highest xp unit's xp and promotions are kept.
     
  12. Sansa_Stark

    Sansa_Stark Prince

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2016
    Messages:
    531
    Is it clear what Urban Defenses do? Bombard ability is clear, but I am not sure about the rest.

    It says 200 Fortification strength, is this the same as "Outer Defense" which is gained by Ancient, Medieval and Renaissance walls (each give +50 OD). So, does this mean that a) it stacks with any walls you have, b) it does not, which means that once you discover Civil Engineering it doesn't matter if you have any walls or not, or c) Fortification Strength and Outer Defense is something totally different?

    I am confused.

    Spoiler :
     
  13. elitetroops

    elitetroops Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2012
    Messages:
    5,681
    The answer is B), it obsoletes walls. You can't build those anymore after Civil Engineering, but all your cities have the toughest version of them automatically. Interesting thing in Marb's videos, he captures a backwards Scythian city and on the same turn he captures it, the city immediately has the ability to bombard with his modern weaponry. When a more advanced civ with Civil Engineering captures a city, it will be next to impossible for the backwards civ to take it back.
     
  14. SaiH

    SaiH Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Messages:
    209
    Location:
    Austria
    In this video (at about 19:25) you can see the movement of a biplane:

    Spoiler :
     

    Attached Files:

  15. UnknownHuman

    UnknownHuman Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2016
    Messages:
    85
    I feel it should take some times before applying the bonuses from the conquering civilization. Do we know if a captured city can build buildings/districts/units the turn it’s taken, or is there a period of civil unrest like in CiV where you can’t build anything, because if it’s the case it would be a good way to have this delayed application.

    In a similar way the game as it's shown to us right now feels very harsh if you lose cities, because in the press build cities can be razed in one turn and because conquered cities can quickly be profitable, adding the fact that city defences are not that strong, it make someone with a weak army, which is the case of Prince AI, very vulnerable.
     
  16. fmm

    fmm Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    255
    Does anyone see if there is a way to tell from the Great Person acquisition screen how many times you will be able to use a Great Person's effect? Some Great People (Merchants/Engineers especially) can activate their effects multiple times, but there seems to be no rhyme or reason to when this is possible. For Great Artists, Writers, and Musicians they can activate as many times as there are Great Works listed, as far as I can tell. But again, some Great Engineers can e.g. activate an ability that grants a lot of production to a wonder multiple times, and it doesn't seem like there is anything in their ability description indicating this.
     
  17. elitetroops

    elitetroops Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2012
    Messages:
    5,681
    They are immediately productive. But a lot of the buildings will be pillaged upon capture and need to be repaired. Since this is the screenshot thread, here are a couple taken the same turn Marbozir captured Madrid:





    Ranged strikes from both city center and Encampment are immediately available. Immediate full fortification health. At least you don't need much backup units as long as you manage to capture the city.
    It appears not. I've never seen any indication of multiple charges, neither have the youtubers until they notice they have them.
     
  18. fmm

    fmm Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    255
    Hopefully that gets fixed before the release.
     
  19. Denkt

    Denkt Left permamently

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Messages:
    3,654
    You can see an icon in the bottom right corner then you select a great person. The number tell how many actions are left.
     
  20. elitetroops

    elitetroops Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2012
    Messages:
    5,681
    The question was if you can see it before you buy the great person.
     

Share This Page