1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

[SDK] Dale's Combat Mod!

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Modpacks' started by Dale, Apr 27, 2006.

  1. Dale

    Dale Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2002
    Messages:
    7,031
    DCM Announcement!

    It's a big day for this mod. :)

    Version 1.02 has been released for Vanilla Civ 1.61 AND NOW Warlords!

    Please see the first post for download links. :)

    Dale
     
  2. strategyonly

    strategyonly C2C Supreme Commander

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    20,563
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MN
    NICE, i am putting you on the Warlords list.:goodjob:
     
  3. Spartan117

    Spartan117 Immortal

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,180
    Location:
    Chicago
    released for warlords already..:eek: :goodjob:
     
  4. rockinroger

    rockinroger WoC Team Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,312
    Location:
    Overland Park, Kansas
    Allright new version, giving it a go!!!
     
  5. keldath

    keldath LivE LonG AnD PrOsPeR

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2005
    Messages:
    6,652
    Location:
    israel
    great job dale!!!

    one q,

    did you change the ai settings? perhaps to be alittle smarter in wars?.....
     
  6. Forsaken

    Forsaken Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2005
    Messages:
    99
    Is there anyway i can play this mod with the PBP mod or do i have to bug them about adding yours cause i like what both offer.
     
  7. boneys26

    boneys26 BTS Play session tester

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2005
    Messages:
    839
    Location:
    Coventry, England
    Vanilla or warlords now I'm stuck:goodjob: Nice work Dale..... I'm off to go flip a coin :crazyeye: :thumbsup:

    @ Keldath :eek: The AI uses this mod better than me so far:cry: .... god help us if Dale made it smarter too:eek: :sad:
     
  8. strategyonly

    strategyonly C2C Supreme Commander

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    20,563
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MN
    Had a stacked stall on next turn, playing as American. Still has a little qirky look when fighting.
     
  9. rockinroger

    rockinroger WoC Team Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,312
    Location:
    Overland Park, Kansas
    Hey Dale Im playing your mod, version 1.02. Im experiencing ctd, heres the auto save file from 2 moves before the ctd. Dang it all I was looking forward to playing this also. Im going to download this mod for warlords and try it also.
     

    Attached Files:

  10. Jaybe

    Jaybe civus fanaticus Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2001
    Messages:
    2,560
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Vegas, Nevada
    rockinroger, that attached file doesn't look right ("Shortcut to..." and file size).
     
  11. keldath

    keldath LivE LonG AnD PrOsPeR

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2005
    Messages:
    6,652
    Location:
    israel
    hi dale,

    hope you fix the new ctd by
    strategyonly , and rockinroger ,

    cause i want it so bad to work perfactley :)

    your the man!!!!
     
  12. Forsaken

    Forsaken Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2005
    Messages:
    99
    I downloaded it last night and started playing this mornin and i'm up to 588 AD and no problems orther than another Civ beat me to Great Wall ;) GGRrrr
     
  13. rockinroger

    rockinroger WoC Team Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,312
    Location:
    Overland Park, Kansas
    Jaybe, I did have trouble uploading the file. a couple times it said it was to large for a zip file. So maybe I should retry it? Ok here is the file right b4 it crashes, the turn before. I think I got it right this time.
     
  14. Dale

    Dale Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2002
    Messages:
    7,031
    rockinroger:

    Sorry mate, couldn't load your save. Crashed while initialising. Usually indicates that something's been changed, or there's custom assets. Happens to me with boneys files too every now and again when he forgets about his own units. :)

    strategyonly:

    Yeah, the quirky look is due to how I've been fixing these stall bugs. The stall occurs in the graphics engine, so sometimes the animation will play sometimes it won't, depends on the situation of the combat. But in the end, its just a simulation anyways. :)

    Dale
     
  15. strategyonly

    strategyonly C2C Supreme Commander

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    20,563
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MN
    OK Bro, will give it another shot, thx for the quick comeback.
     
  16. Snerk

    Snerk Smeghead

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2006
    Messages:
    7,624
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Norway. You'll never leave
    Great mod! one question though,
    How does combat odds work with this mod?
    Do you get your combat odds for succesfully defeating one stack with another?
     
  17. doompigeon

    doompigeon Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Messages:
    98
    More likely than not, I'm the one screwing up here...

    but it seems to me, that in the warlords compatible version, winning battles doesn't generate points towards great generals...

    Could you look into this?
     
  18. doompigeon

    doompigeon Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Messages:
    98
    (Otherwise this is a simply brilliant mod, btw)
     
  19. upstart

    upstart Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    Messages:
    145
    I've got a few questions after trying the mod out(warlords ver.) for the first time that I didn't see answered in the few pages I looked:

    1...Are we able to 'turn off' the stack attack with the menu option(revert to 1 vs 1) and leave the MAD and ranged bombardment on?
    2...I have seen a enemy unit heal itself while it is phillaging(sp?) a road and while attacking my units. Is this supposed to happen? I thought the only way units heal(in vanilla at least) was not doing anything at all?
    3...Why are there units that are still alive at 0.0 power? Shouldn't they have been defeated in the previous attack?
    4...In one attack I had a group of 2 warriors(full health) vs. AI's 1 warrior(almost dead) and 1 archer(full health)...I lost and AI took no damage whatsoever. Does this mean that if I have no ranged units in my stack, the archer will take out melee units every single time?

    Anyways hope you can clear that up for me...thanks for all the work on the mod!
     
  20. strategyonly

    strategyonly C2C Supreme Commander

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    20,563
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MN
    OK tried again and was playing as Egyptian Empire and wasnt even attacking or being attacked and the game stalled on next turn??
     

Share This Page