1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Slaves, Hostages and Prisoners of War

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Caveman 2 Cosmos' started by Dancing Hoskuld, Sep 23, 2011.

  1. Dancing Hoskuld

    Dancing Hoskuld Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    23,547
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    When a city goes into starvation I can see the crime cannibalism happening but not based on crime level. Which means it would need to be built by a different mechanism just as the disease: kuru is. That is not a problem and could be implemented quite quickly.

    So that is two that you have convinced me should exist, but I am not convinced about the off events. Having them only turn off by turning the world view on is not enough.
     
  2. Azurian

    Azurian The Azurian

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,092
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    I was thinking that Mainstream Cloning Tech would obsolete Slavery. Slavery would be replaced by a Clones Caste like in Huxley's Brave New World. Right now its just buildings im planning, have no idea for Units.

    The Media Hivemind Tech would have buidings required for indoctrination. Another Inspiration is the movie The Island (2005).

     
  3. Sgtslick

    Sgtslick Emperor

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2002
    Messages:
    1,688
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Melbourne
    The production slave that gives 10 hammers is quite overpowered. Is it possible to cap how many you can put in the one city? Otherwise, I think it needs to be reduced to like 6 hammers imo.
     
  4. Dancing Hoskuld

    Dancing Hoskuld Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    23,547
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    I was going to make the specialist slaves require two unspecialised slaves when I figured out how to do it.
     
  5. Faustmouse

    Faustmouse Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    3,523
    This makes no sense I think. It would be much cooler if every mine/factory etc Improvement and BUilding would you allow to add one Prod Slave. And every Farm and Farm Buidlings (Orchads too) would allow you to add one Farm Slave etc.
     
  6. Dancing Hoskuld

    Dancing Hoskuld Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    23,547
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    And how would I know what buildings are which especially as more and more are being added?
     
  7. Faustmouse

    Faustmouse Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    3,523
    IIRC there was a list in the forum. All buildings should be categorized and I guess this was done because they want such a categorization in the game.
     
  8. Sgtslick

    Sgtslick Emperor

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2002
    Messages:
    1,688
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Sounds ok. Could it be restricted by population even? Say like 1 specialist slave per 12 pop or something. In my current game my capital has 9 productive specialists (+90:hammers:) and its only size 20, i'm in classical era. I also built heroic epic and some other +military unit production buildings and when i'm building military units it makes like 600+ hammers a turn ;)
     
  9. Dancing Hoskuld

    Dancing Hoskuld Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    23,547
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    I could but I am not sure I should.:mischief: Theoretically 3 slaves = 1 population and there have been a number of nations in history where the slave numbers are greater than the population. Wasn't Sparta 10+ slaves per Spartan man or woman?

    If we could overcome the problem with the Great Wall throwing slave revolts out or come up with a better slave revolt that did not spawn units we could increase its frequency as the ratio gets larger...
     
  10. Sgtslick

    Sgtslick Emperor

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2002
    Messages:
    1,688
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Sounds like a cool idea about the slave revolts!

    I only want to help balance them, I don't really care how its done tbh. I can safely say in my current game these slaves are probably the only reason i'm still alive :lol:
    Abused them to the max, so I feel a bit guilty I guess :mischief:

    However you want to balance them is fine by me, would just love it if something was done.
     
  11. Il Principe

    Il Principe Prince

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2005
    Messages:
    491
    Location:
    Hanau, Germany
    Don´t forget that Deltas and Epsilons were also engineered to perform better at certain tasks. Like those meant to work in a foundry cope more easily with high heat enviroments.

    But it shouldn´t obsolete slavery. Slavery would probably still a cheap alternative to better and more obidient, but more expensive to produce clones.
     
  12. FrankCastle-

    FrankCastle- Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    The AI civs know how to handle captives?

    I mean I just had a great game with just me and 3 other civs in a large map, I enabled barbarian world in custom game and it was a struggle to survive (but it was fun - capture, convert and build a horde of axeman). However sometimes I see a captive just fortifying some AI city instead of being used so I was wondering if they also benefit from "worldviews" the way the player can.
     
  13. Koshling

    Koshling Vorlon

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    9,254
    They do. If you see them hording a lot that they should be using post a save for analysis.
     
  14. FrankCastle-

    FrankCastle- Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    I see. Do you know if there are going to be more "worldviews" in the future? I mean terrorism is in the OP as planned for the future.
     
  15. Dancing Hoskuld

    Dancing Hoskuld Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    23,547
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    Terrorism will be in both as black ops and a religious decision at least.
     
  16. FrankCastle-

    FrankCastle- Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Cool, I mean more options for us :D
     
  17. Azurian

    Azurian The Azurian

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,092
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    We also need a Slave Mechanism for Mainstream Cloning but we convert food and gold into hammers.
     
  18. Burton

    Burton Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2013
    Messages:
    13
    where can I find the captive units in the XML?
    thanks
     
  19. Dancing Hoskuld

    Dancing Hoskuld Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    23,547
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    In the folder Modules/DancingHoskuld/Captives.
     
  20. Dancing Hoskuld

    Dancing Hoskuld Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    23,547
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    I want to finish off the slavery and sacrifice part of this. Two things are left to do

    1) restrict the number of special slaves so that you have to have more normal slaves that special.

    2) give a few turns of golden age for each sacrifice based on religion and buildings (both in the city and in the nation).
     

Share This Page