1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Slaves, Hostages and Prisoners of War

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Caveman 2 Cosmos' started by Dancing Hoskuld, Sep 23, 2011.

  1. Dancing Hoskuld

    Dancing Hoskuld Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    23,547
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    I use the onCombatResult event. I don't think it is called/activated in the case of 3.

    I also only consider land units. Sea units are handled by the War Prize mod.

    The Captives mod only captures the three "Captive" type units. There is no check for capturing hardware along with the people.
     
  2. Hydromancerx

    Hydromancerx C2C Modder

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    16,281
    Location:
    California, USA
    Back in the old days of RoM/AND I brought up having a "Hacker" unit, perhaps having a "Hacker" or altleast "Hacker" promotion on units could help increase the chance of capturing Robotic units (and maybe even Mechs too).
     
  3. Faustmouse

    Faustmouse Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    3,523
    Then we might need a Mech CC as well?

    Also, is there a way to capture (or be able to) both, the Siege Weapon and the crew? I haven't really understand what you mean by "there is no check".

    Also, how do you make a table here? I'd like to post our values so people can discuss them before I calculate at which values each unit will actually start.
     
  4. Dancing Hoskuld

    Dancing Hoskuld Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    23,547
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    No code. I haven't had my coffee yet this morning. :D
     
  5. Thunderbrd

    Thunderbrd C2C War Dog

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    28,428
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    We have one - AssaultMech.

    @DH: Is there anything that you're using to filter out a check if a captured unit is already derived from the battle? Just curious why you wouldn't be able to do both already. Perhaps onCombatResult won't register if the siege weapon is already captured? Maybe the unit is already destroyed so can't be called for in your code when this takes place?

    Not 100% sure how it works but there's a calendar looking icon along the top of the post box (on the same line where you see B I U etc...) that's used for it. I believe I've copied cells from a document like that then surrounded what I copied by the [ TABLE ] [ /TABLE ] commands and had that work before but I can't recall for sure.
     
  6. Dancing Hoskuld

    Dancing Hoskuld Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    23,547
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    I am almost certain that the onCombatResult is not activated if the unit has been captured due to the capture tag. I have never seen it called when missionaries or workers are captured. Probably there is no combat for a result. It is part of the magic that is the dll:mischief:
     
  7. Thunderbrd

    Thunderbrd C2C War Dog

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    28,428
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    Yeah, part of the complex weave of code in combat resolution I'm sure. I can see why it wouldn't with workers and other 0 str units but I'd have to really evaluate to see where onCombatResult isn't firing when the unit's already been captured in the example of a siege weapon. Ah well... would probably be imbalanced otherwise anyhow.
     
  8. Faustmouse

    Faustmouse Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    3,523
    Ok I give up, I can't make a table. I basically tried every symbol on my keyboard, but I can only make one column :(
     
  9. Dancing Hoskuld

    Dancing Hoskuld Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    23,547
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    Find a table and quote that and go advanced to see how it is done.
     
  10. Faustmouse

    Faustmouse Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    3,523
    I tried yesterday and just couldn't fine one :crazyeye:
     
  11. Dancing Hoskuld

    Dancing Hoskuld Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    23,547
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    look here
     
  12. Faustmouse

    Faustmouse Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    3,523
    Here are the stats for the CC's TB and I decided on:
    If you think some things are really odd, please complain.
    I'm going to make a plan this weekend for units and therefore I need this values FIXED. Will be very annoying to change them after that again and again...

    For a nice table, see DH's post below. Please some feedback!
     
  13. Dancing Hoskuld

    Dancing Hoskuld Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    23,547
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    Some formatting and comments

    Column 1 Column 2 Column 3 Column 4
    CC Capture Chance Capture Resistance Notes
    Combatant (Military) 0 10
    Civilian 20 -10
    Criminal -10 -10
    Explorer -30 -20
    Swarm -50 50
    Ruffian 25 -10
    Wild -50 0 Already has kill result which means handled on the unit
    Subdued -40 0 Already has kill result which means handled on the unit
    Tamed -20 0 Already has kill result which means handled on the unit
    Ballistic -30 -20
    Melee 10 0
    Throwing 5 -5
    Archer 0 -10
    Siege -20 -20
    Gun 10 10
    Hi Tech 10 10
    Clones 10 50
    StrikeTeam 0 30
    Rocket Launcher -20 -30
    Mounted 10 20
    Wheeled 20 -20
    Tracked 20 -10
    Dreadnought 10 -5
    Hovercraft 20 -20
    Antigrav Craft 20 -20
    Balloon -50 0
    Helicopter -30 -10
    Assault Mech -40 30
    Robot 0 50
    Nanite -30 70
    Missile -100 100
    Doom -100 100
    Law Enforcement 30 -10
    Health Care 10 -50
    Entertainer -50 -50
    Diplomat -50 -50
    Trade -50 -50
    Combat Worker -50 -50
    Recon -30 -20
    Hunter 20 10
    Hero 10 50
    Defensive Siege -20 10
    Gatecrasher Siege -20 -20
    Field Siege -20 0
    Urban Siege -20 0
    Wooden Siege -20 0
    Gunpowder Siege -20 -10
    Rocketry Siege -30 -20
    Energy Siege -30 0
    Mount on
    Horse​
    10 10
    Mule​
    0 0
    Camel​
    0 10
    Llama​
    0 0
    Elephant​
    0 10
    Giraffe​
    0 10
    Bear​
    0 20
    Deer​
    0 10
    Bison​
    0 0
    Rhino​
    0 10
    Mammoth​
    0 20
    Zebra​
    0 10
     
  14. Faustmouse

    Faustmouse Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    3,523
    This is witchcraft!!! :eek:
    When I use the | symbol ist just don't show what is behind it. So a table with

    CC| Mounted| 20|1
    will just say: CC

    Thank you very much!!!
     
  15. Dancing Hoskuld

    Dancing Hoskuld Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    23,547
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    There are three "capture" mechanisms

    - capture tag on unit
    - kill outcomes on unit
    - rest which activates the onCombatResult Python event I use in the Capture Slaves mod
     
  16. Hydromancerx

    Hydromancerx C2C Modder

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    16,281
    Location:
    California, USA
    @DH

    So Mounted Mules, Llamas and Bison have no Capture Resistance? That's seems wrong. Especially for the Bison. They should get at least 10.
     
  17. Faustmouse

    Faustmouse Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    3,523
    @Hydro: It's not true that they have no resistance. They are also Mounted, resulting in 20% resistance and also Combatants, which is again 10%. Some mounts have additional resitance because they are a) intimidating and/or b) they will run away with the (unconsicous) rider on them.

    Edit: I don't know how fast Bisons, Lamas and Mules can actually run with a person sitting on it's back, but if you still think they deserve more resistance, just tell me.
    The rest looks good to you?
     
  18. Dancing Hoskuld

    Dancing Hoskuld Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    23,547
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    If you are running Slavery World View you get a +10% chance to capture on all units. This should probably be increased.
     
  19. Faustmouse

    Faustmouse Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    3,523
    Yes. We will come to buildings later. The general plan is:

    1) CC's -> Waiting for general approval

    2) Units -> Adjusting units will require "fixed" CC values since for example a Mounted Infantry will right now have a value based on: Mounted + Horse + Melee + Combatant. So when I want the Mounted Infantry to let's say start with 10% capture chance, I have to calculate it's base value now (which is 30% just from the CC's) and then give him a -20%.

    3) Promotions -> Review Promotions to see which might get a bonus/malus for capturing (iE Berzerk will get a malus for capturing but bonus for resistance) and develope new Promotion Lines.

    4) Buildings and Civics since they are the most global thing.
     
  20. Dancing Hoskuld

    Dancing Hoskuld Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    23,547
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    If that building is not done firs you wont be getting any captives except from barbarians(+15%) and cities (+5%).
     

Share This Page