1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

So you want to see gameplay, huh?

Discussion in 'Civ5 - General Discussions' started by 2K Greg, Sep 8, 2010.

  1. Mr Greenfinch

    Mr Greenfinch Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2005
    Messages:
    37
    Location:
    Isla de Muerte
    Every time anything interesting happened the "camera" moved away to another place. Can it be turned off somehow? An example: I attack and have only 0.001 sec to see the result because the focus moves to my another unit on the opposite side of the map.

    2K Elizabeth - very nice voice - it was a pleasure to listen
     
  2. CannonballJack

    CannonballJack Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    No kidding. It was nowhere near the most important information revealed.

    That, of course, was that 2KGreg plays Civ until 2 AM and has an opinion on what to build and research on his first turn. We now know for a fact that he's One Of Us.

    One! Of! Us! One! Of! Us!
     
  3. Link

    Link Scarves

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,706
    Lets try to be civil, people.
     
  4. the343danny

    the343danny Emperor

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    498
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    What do you mean? This conversation is pretty civil. Kinda weird though, that the community will all the sudden start talking about taking cloths of games in a thread like this. Sure there has been threads in the past that involve these things but I wonder how it got to this point from Greg doing a live stream of a game.
     
  5. moopoo

    moopoo King

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    729
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    SO ANYWAY, if i were to download this at a later date, what kind of file size would i be looking at?
     
  6. Fizticks

    Fizticks Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Location:
    Colorado
    From what i saw in the pre load threads your lookin at 4.77 gigs or so, but with a download speed of 4-7 megs XD
     
  7. Boris Godunov

    Boris Godunov Prince

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2002
    Messages:
    401
    The Steam download is ~4.5G I believe.
     
  8. moopoo

    moopoo King

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    729
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    EDIT: ignore this, i just looked through the previous posts
     
  9. Azazell

    Azazell Prince

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2005
    Messages:
    349
    Location:
    Szczecin, Poland
    Very Cool show - 2k Greg! :)

    Immortal isnt to hard for you 2k Greg? I playing in prince and is hard for me :D
     
  10. PieceOfMind

    PieceOfMind Drill IV Defender Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Messages:
    9,312
    Location:
    Australia
    First of all, great effort guys.:hatsoff: I think overall the demo by the three of you was a big success, and I got a much better idea about the game than I had previously gotten from the millions of near-identical preview articles.

    My comments on the video:

    Search feature: Hmm, well obviously putting in the exact name of a unit is going to be one of the easiest things for the search function to do, what about if you spelt panser?
    What about game concepts like capturing cities? (I'm just nitpicking, wishing you actually showed a better example of the search)

    Popups from huts seem to look a bit annoying. Considering they rave about how popups are now moved first to the notification area, I think it would be nice if popups from such trivial things as huts and natural wonders didn't demand immediate attention, especially when not asking you to make a decision - just OK! Hope those little popups can be turned off.

    Disappointed to see that zoom-to-cursor is not in the game. This is a really good UI concept but it is hard to appreciate if one has not experienced it before. I always refer back to the example of Supreme Commander so at least people who have played that game know exactly what I mean. Having to use the arrow keys on the keyboard or the minimap doesn't seem tedious until you see how intuitive, smooth and fast it is to just use zoom-to-cursor all the time.

    I noticed Decisive Victory was not a guaranteed complete victory. His scout did not finish off the barbarian.

    I hope to see a Don't Cycle Units option. After he fights and doesn't kill that barbarian, the camera pulls him straight away to another unit before he even gets to see the end of combat properly. (Barely gets a moment to see the xp float up and be displayed)

    Advisor commenting that city states are not in to win the game. This will disappoint some of the realism-obsessives, because it pulls the player out of immersion. Personally I don't care - just expect to see people complaining about it.

    When they were commenting on number of city states that you put at start of game, I wondered if there is a way to select a random number? IMO it would be more fun to not know in advance exactly how many city states there were remaining to be met.

    Turn times appeared to be very slow. I'm hoping it was due to the demands of other software on that system. I'm not all that optimistic about it though. Timing the turns revealed even 5 second or more turns in the 3000BC era, but hopefully that is not typical.

    By the way guys, it's PIE-ety. Not pee-ity. :p (or maybe that's just regional variation)

    Regarding the ability to "lock" citizens to a tile while still being able to set a focus, fantastic idea Firaxis - I applaud you.

    Oh noes, the graphics glitch was pretty bad. Overheated graphics card maybe? :s Gosh my graphics card is fanless - I wonder how it will do. :s

    Excellent to see the detailed info (advisor) screens have not been skimped on. :goodjob:
    Deal History screen - very cool - I would never have thought of putting that in.

    All the overlays in the strategic mode look great. It didn't look like it was possible but my only request would be that you be able to choose icon overlays to see simultaneously rather than have them all or have only one. e.g. see both improvements and resources but not units.

    Watching the last half hour of video now...
     
  11. Niniux

    Niniux Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2006
    Messages:
    63
    Location:
    Edmonton
    Did you time the ones in the war against France? There seemed to be about the same length between turns, so maybe it just takes a few seconds, regardless?
     
  12. PieceOfMind

    PieceOfMind Drill IV Defender Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Messages:
    9,312
    Location:
    Australia
    All I know is TMIT's gonna be pretty annoyed if turn times are like that. ;)
     
  13. VikingMaekel

    VikingMaekel Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    81
    Location:
    Ghent, Flanders
    Are you kidding me? The "bass player" Garret wore a Pip-boy shirt! You possibly can't appear more professional to a bunch of gamers than that! Now the gamers know that that particular producer games, he's in the known.
     
  14. Schalke 04

    Schalke 04 Knappe

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2002
    Messages:
    429
    Location:
    Münster, Germany
    If Greg was sitting there, wearing a made-to-measure suit with a tie, I would think: what a slippery Babbit - I don't feel represented by him.
    So I am thinking: easy and likable guy, hopefully he will get well rewarded for his work - He is one "of us".
     
  15. PieceOfMind

    PieceOfMind Drill IV Defender Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Messages:
    9,312
    Location:
    Australia
    Another thing I noticed in the second video was that Greg accidentally fortified a unit, ending its turn. I was wondering why it would be that fortifying now causes a unit to end its turn? (i.e. use up the rest of its movement points) What reason would there be for preventing a player from changing his/her mind and selecting that unit again but with the intention of moving it?

    Reminds me of the blockade mission in civ4, which also annoyingly ended the unit's turn when there was no need for that to happen. (at least in that case there may have been technical reasons for doing it, something about breaking and creating trade routes again)
     
  16. V. Soma

    V. Soma long time civ fan

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    3,829
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Hungary

    I find it OK that fortifíing is so (if really so).
    I mean, yes, to fortify is an action, like to move a hex, and even more so,
    yes, it should take the unit to end its turn...
    ...and hey, just be careful about what you order your unit to do :)
     
  17. PieceOfMind

    PieceOfMind Drill IV Defender Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Messages:
    9,312
    Location:
    Australia
    But I ask of you, why?

    In civ4 if you told a unit to fortify, it would lose focus or "end its turn" but it would still have its movement points left in case you changed your mind and moved it later. When a unit is in focus (i.e. selected) you are allowed to go to other units and give them orders first, coming back to move the unit afterwards.
    Importantly, in civ4 a military unit that didn't move for its turn just fortified automatically. You can just keep pressing spacebar every turn for a unit and it will earn the 25% fortification bonus.

    But why make it more difficult on the player and make it even more important that they be careful what button they press?
    Unless there is a specific gameplay reason why units that have been told to fortify must not be able to unfortify during the same turn, it's bad design to make the fortify action irreversible (on the current turn).

    Thinking about it, I can only assume there is a reason it happens this way. I haven't analysed rules and mechanics of the new game as closely as many of people on this forum, but I'm guessing there could be something like a combat bonus given to units adjacent to fortified units. That would mean it would be unfair to be able to fortify and unfortify a unit in the same turn. Maybe it has something to do with a Zone of Control exploit. I just don't know.
     
  18. Evocatus

    Evocatus Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    Messages:
    98
    Location:
    Netherlands
    That was an interesting demonstration. I cast a glance at it from another screen, since I was occupied with more pressing matters. Going to look for a replay now. Oh, my copy got preloaded, biatch! :)
     
  19. craig123

    craig123 Prince

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    314
    Location:
    UK
    Great presentation last night Greg - thanks :D

    Yes evrett, I have to agree. Here's how I expected Greg and Elizabeth to look when I tuned in:

    Spoiler :

    Imagine my shock when I saw this:

    Spoiler :

    I refuse to buy a computer game from a company that tolerates such a shoddy appearence in its staff. Until 2K adopts appropriate attire for a working environment I will be protesting outside its headquarters. Anyone joining me? :rolleyes:
     
  20. Szpilman

    Szpilman Void Co. Chairman

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Messages:
    746
    Location:
    Cola
    Hey you're feeding our troll! He's still not quite there with Gandhi but has been putting some weight lately.

    Anyways, thanks a lot for the show Lizzie! You sure should have popped in and knocked Greg out of his chair to show how it's done, still you were a great hostess voice and humour and all!
     

Share This Page