1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

SteamDB: "Bison" Depot??

Discussion in 'Civ5 - General Discussions' started by Scirocco16V, Nov 15, 2013.

  1. bevelnator

    bevelnator Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2013
    Messages:
    67
    Stalin was in civ4 and I don't believe that it was banned in Russia, so I don't think it's a USSR Civ.

    WAIT A MINUTE. What if the dlc adds the motherland calls, which couldn't be included due to copyright issues in Russia?
     
  2. Talcove

    Talcove Slayer of Spies

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2013
    Messages:
    792
    Location:
    Mississauga
    A DLC that only adds one wonder? Unlikely. But if it did, I'd totally get it (At the right price).
     
  3. bevelnator

    bevelnator Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2013
    Messages:
    67
    I personally doubt it, considering the dlc is called bison. But the possibility should always be considered.
     
  4. Petiscator

    Petiscator King

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2012
    Messages:
    785
    Location:
    Brazil
    Bison = Blocked In Soviet Only Nations :p
     
  5. bevelnator

    bevelnator Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2013
    Messages:
    67
    :eek: You figured it out!
     
  6. Lord Xavius

    Lord Xavius Mostly Lurking

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    571
    Location:
    The Internet
    There is a species of bison found in Eastern Europe. Clearly, this means... I've got nothing.
     
  7. Talcove

    Talcove Slayer of Spies

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2013
    Messages:
    792
    Location:
    Mississauga
    So I just looked a bit deeper. Of the three sub-packages that were added withing the last 24 hours, all of them, in their history tab, have every single Civ 5 DLC/Expansion added to the package. I think, and this does seem somewhat more logical than the other suggestions, that this is the Civ 5 platinum, or diamond, or whatever edition. A one-stop package for every piece of the Civ 5 puzzle.

    No idea why it's called Bison, though.
     
  8. Petiscator

    Petiscator King

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2012
    Messages:
    785
    Location:
    Brazil
    I noticed another thing. The item I linked (blocked to the ex-USSR) and all the other five items in the Bison depot seem to include the Bison depot in itself. Does that make any sense? It's like a big package containing 6 big packages that contain the first big package. It doesn't make any sense. Either that or I don't understand that website, which is most likely.
     
  9. Sir Parker II

    Sir Parker II Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2013
    Messages:
    123
    Location:
    Ohio, USA
    Bison = Animals
    Humans =Animals

    Humans confirmed.
     
  10. Haig

    Haig Deity

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2,456
    Location:
    Finland
    I think this seems pretty likely, which is sad because it would mean no more Civ V dlc or expansions.. (I think?).
     
  11. Guandao

    Guandao Rajah of Minyue and Langkasuka

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    5,559
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    New York City
    I'm :(:(:(:(:(:(:(:(


    But there must be those who go, :D:D:D:D:D yay now on to Civ6!!! (which will have the same boring leaders for France, India, Russia, Germany, Rome, etcs :mad:)
     
  12. otaman1

    otaman1 Prince

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2013
    Messages:
    2,697
    The first depot stuff in the first link are deleted or hidden. But why?
     
  13. Talcove

    Talcove Slayer of Spies

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2013
    Messages:
    792
    Location:
    Mississauga
    Hey, maybe they'll change it up this time around.

    #CaligulaForRome I'd love to see what they do with the leaderscreen. ;)
     
  14. Tsuchinoko

    Tsuchinoko Warlord

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Messages:
    207
    Location:
    Deep Underground
    Not necessarily. People were saying the same thing when Civ V Gold came out, but we still ended up getting additional content after that. They could be releasing a 'complete' edition up to this point in the hope that people who haven't got Civ V yet will buy it in the Christmas/New Year's sales. They could even be doing it in preparation for releasing a third expansion at some point next year (I hope :p).

    I don't entirely understand the intricacies of the Steam DB site, but with these recent developments it does seem like "Bison" could be a 'Platinum' edition of the game. Though perhaps it could represent multiple packages: one which is just a new DLC scenario pack and one which is the complete Civ V bundle (which might include the new DLC as well - hence why the depot links to previous content). Wishful thinking on my part perhaps?

    Either way, if they do intend to release it for the Christmas Sales we should be finding out within the next two weeks for sure (I think I heard rumors that the Steam Sales were starting sometime next week).
     
  15. Magma_Dragoon

    Magma_Dragoon Reploid

    Joined:
    May 10, 2008
    Messages:
    2,354
    It was never adequately explained to me how a statue can have copywrite protection, especially a statue built by communists.
     
  16. Aaron90495

    Aaron90495 King

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Messages:
    926
    Location:
    'Murica
    The proposals that this is a Platinum Edition make perfect sense, but there is something off: why would they enter it as 'Bison'? If they've indeed shifted to codenames to throw us off, I just don't think they would do that for something as inconsequential as a complete edition that we wouldn't care about.
     
  17. Myomoto

    Myomoto Prince

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2013
    Messages:
    301
    Hasn't there been a couple of civ 5 sales recently on steam? Probably might have hurt those sales if the cat was out of the bag that a platinum edition is coming out.
     
  18. PhilBowles

    PhilBowles Deity

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2011
    Messages:
    5,277
    Germany and Russia have had varied leaders in the past - isn't Civ V the first to use Catherine? I'd like to see Peter the Great.

    Just as long as they have civ-specific advisor screens, and one of Caligula's advisors is a horse.
     
  19. Magma_Dragoon

    Magma_Dragoon Reploid

    Joined:
    May 10, 2008
    Messages:
    2,354
    Civ4 had a lolita version of Catherine
     
  20. Teproc

    Teproc King

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2013
    Messages:
    835
    Location:
    Lyon, France
    Catherine has been in a couple Civ games before, definitely Civ II where they had a female leader for every civ. And yeah, she was also in Civ IV, I remember the picutre with her in military attire I think.

    Eh, I don't mind having the same leaders. For France, the only viable one they haven't done is Philippe Auguste, and no one has heard of him ever so I'm fine with him not getting the spotlight.

    Caligula would be hilarious though. Commodus would be even better but not as well known unfortunately, he was even crazier.
     

Share This Page