1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Stockade Borders

Discussion in 'Civ3 - Graphics Modpacks' started by Pounder, Dec 29, 2004.

  1. Wattos

    Wattos Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    Red Deer, Canada
    umm hey i downloaded this a wile ago and forgot to save my other borders. can anyone post it for me??
     
  2. Pounder

    Pounder Phaethon was here

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2003
    Messages:
    5,698
    Location:
    Your territory
  3. W.i.n.t.e.r

    W.i.n.t.e.r Frozen!

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2002
    Messages:
    5,070
    Location:
    Monaco di Baviera!
  4. Pounder

    Pounder Phaethon was here

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2003
    Messages:
    5,698
    Location:
    Your territory
    Does it ever become legal.

    Did Firaxis come out in the past and say that it is now ok to distribute as you wish. I know that they made the PTW Extras available to the public after Conquests came out.

    Then there are the forum rules.

    Knowing that you could not possibly steal the game one file at a time and the territory file is nothing that could be used unless you already had the game.

    Can it be posted or not:confused:
     
  5. W.i.n.t.e.r

    W.i.n.t.e.r Frozen!

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2002
    Messages:
    5,070
    Location:
    Monaco di Baviera!
    As far as I understand Wattos wants the Vanilla Civ borders. Of course the original borders can be sent... and its a often seen request too :D lots of people forget to back up their stuff and then come to the forums.

    Yes, I remember the discussion about not issueing units and copyrighted art and such that were too directly recognizeable as having been copied from new product/addon artwork. But that was namely to protect sales figures of the Conquests addon at its time.

    (Hey, with Civ4 comming out now- well, that means that I'll finally finish my modern marine (made from the TOW :D)
     
  6. Pounder

    Pounder Phaethon was here

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2003
    Messages:
    5,698
    Location:
    Your territory
  7. Pounder

    Pounder Phaethon was here

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2003
    Messages:
    5,698
    Location:
    Your territory
    I usually use these stockcade Borders in my game. I decided to upgrade them a bit.

    I've added some rock that has some translucent elements to them, so they appear different colours on different terrains.

    This gives the illusion that they are underwater on water tiles, they will appear greyer on tundra, they will appear greener on grassland and browner on plains and lighter brown on the desert.

    I didn't put any rocks on the hills/mountains borders only on the flat terrain borders.

    I no that most people don't care much about borders, but I continue to play with them.

    Comments/ideas would be appreciated.

     
  8. Ares de Borg

    Ares de Borg Norman Knight

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2004
    Messages:
    5,073
    Location:
    Heart Of Europe
    Interesting and well executed work, as usual! :) Good to see you're still improving our beloved game.
     
  9. Jerry'sGoldfish

    Jerry'sGoldfish Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,487
    Location:
    garlicpalace
    i would suggest another type of borders used in the germanic world - the dykes - like offa's dike...
     
  10. Blue Monkey

    Blue Monkey Archon Without Portfolio

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
    Messages:
    11,056
    Location:
    Timeless Isle
    Is this something that can only be done with the borders file? Or is there a way to make other pcx partially translucent?
     
  11. Pounder

    Pounder Phaethon was here

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2003
    Messages:
    5,698
    Location:
    Your territory
  12. timerover51

    timerover51 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2006
    Messages:
    3,475
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Chicago area in Illinois
    While I am not sure that I would try it, how do you add them to the game? I do think that it is an excellent idea as well as an outstanding graphic.
     
  13. Blue Monkey

    Blue Monkey Archon Without Portfolio

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
    Messages:
    11,056
    Location:
    Timeless Isle
    Which leads to a second question. Is it possible to make all of the border colors translucent? So that even the civ colors show a bit of the terrain underneath.

    Whether or not that is possible, would you mind posting an image of the palette / file & explanation of what you did? For the benefit of anyone else who wants to try their hand at it.
     
  14. Pounder

    Pounder Phaethon was here

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2003
    Messages:
    5,698
    Location:
    Your territory
    Civ colours can not be made translucent.

    I made two tutorials: How to Modify the Territory.PCX File, and Textured Borders.
     
  15. Blue Monkey

    Blue Monkey Archon Without Portfolio

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
    Messages:
    11,056
    Location:
    Timeless Isle
    If you mean this post it's hard to follow with no pictures.
     
  16. Pounder

    Pounder Phaethon was here

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2003
    Messages:
    5,698
    Location:
    Your territory
    OMG.

    Those are files that are supposed to be there, they are in the Civfanatics database.

    The links are still there, but obviously they have been deleted by Civfanatics.

    How many others are gone.

    Is that because I had over two thousand views and no responses, or are they just making room by deleting old stuff.
     
  17. Blue Monkey

    Blue Monkey Archon Without Portfolio

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
    Messages:
    11,056
    Location:
    Timeless Isle
    From the date of the post it might have been a victim of one of the hack / server migration "situations".
     
  18. Pounder

    Pounder Phaethon was here

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2003
    Messages:
    5,698
    Location:
    Your territory
    You must be right about the hack. I don't have the pictures any more.

    I will stick to responding to C&C threads. Mind you, not a lot of people mod the borders, so I'll probably just stick to posting finished work.
     

Share This Page