1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

The Ancient Mediterranean MOD

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Modpacks' started by thamis, Nov 29, 2005.

  1. thamis

    thamis King of Kish

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Messages:
    1,576
    Well, I gues you're right.
     
  2. MilkmanDan

    MilkmanDan Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2005
    Messages:
    54
    I'm getting my forums confused I think... but didn't someone mention that coastal cities should be considered closer to the palace for upkeep costs? Actually I'm pretty sure it was in Apolyton now that I think of it. But I suggested giving harbor improvement a reduced maintenance for the city.
     
  3. thamis

    thamis King of Kish

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Messages:
    1,576
    Interesting point. But it shouldn't be more than 10% I think.
     
  4. Killamike718

    Killamike718 Proud Maya User

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2005
    Messages:
    377
    Location:
    Staten Island, New York City
    For the MOD can you produce different size maps for preference like a standard map or a huge map? will that be available?
     
  5. Pococurante

    Pococurante Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2005
    Messages:
    40
    I'm curious too. I also like using the Marathon turn mod as well as the Huge landmass.
     
  6. thamis

    thamis King of Kish

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Messages:
    1,576
    I'll look into it. Right now, the mod only offers one standard-size scenario (the map that comes with it). We've got another map nearly ready, which is large and covers more of Europe.

    Once we've completed the main mod work, we're going to look into making MOD-specific map scripts, which will allow you to play on random maps.
     
  7. onedreamer

    onedreamer Dragon

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    6,580
    Location:
    Torino - Italia
    why ? On what basis... it might apply if the capital was itself a port, but otherwise I don't see why a port should cost less maintenance. Actually I would say it should cost even more because of the docks, harbor, arsenal etc.
     
  8. onedreamer

    onedreamer Dragon

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    6,580
    Location:
    Torino - Italia
    I think they would stack. Takes forest hills for example: the defense bonus is 75%, 50% of forest + 25% of hills.
     
  9. Masada

    Masada Koi-san!

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    Messages:
    12,509
    Location:
    Osaka
    On the cavarly

    1. They didnt have stirrups
    2. There idea of saddles were really just a blanket around the horse

    This made the knight style lance charges in-practicle the weapons that the companions of alexander fought with were more like spears and were used for cutting rather than thrusting. The romans cavalry werent roman they were made up of mercenaryies and tribesmen. The romans didnt use cavarly as a standard part of there army till well in the last days of the empire and they were only really copies of every other power of the day namely the sasiad persians. They could never really be called "good" they were a death spasm twitch to the increasing prevalance of mounted horse archers.

    Otherwise its a execcelent mod with some truly origanal concepts making use of the flexibility of civ 4

    :king:
     
  10. thamis

    thamis King of Kish

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Messages:
    1,576
    Both Forests and Hills are features. So feature + feature stacks. What about terrain + feature? I would assume that it does stack, but maybe not... We gotta try. ;)
     
  11. Gladi

    Gladi The ignored thread killer

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,312
    Location:
    EU- Czechia, City of Hundred Spires
    bright day
    Ahem Nobilis means rider... And gallic saddle was good, better than eastern saddles some would argue. Plus this althist ;).
     
  12. alinurdengizich

    alinurdengizich Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2005
    Messages:
    110
    Location:
    Istanbul, Turkey
    hey thamis,
    When will you release a new version?? (Without the faces of Sid:crazyeye: )
     
  13. MilkmanDan

    MilkmanDan Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2005
    Messages:
    54
    On the basis that it is easier/faster to reach a coastal city with news/orders thus the distance penalty of city maintenance should be lower. Since no city improvement in CIV costs more maintenance, the added costs of running the harbor don't apply with the new game model.
     
  14. thamis

    thamis King of Kish

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Messages:
    1,576
    Will take a while (I guess 2 or 3 weeks is a good guesstimate). We gotta replace everything that links to the technology tree in any way (which is nearly everything).

    The Sid faces will be one of the later things, because it's just artwork, not gameplay.
     
  15. Aku Armoton

    Aku Armoton Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Messages:
    84
    Location:
    Lahti, Finland

    And what's wrong with Sid's face?;)

    Thamis
    Don't rush because people are anxious to get new version out (including me), use as long time as it takes to get it ready. Your work is just amazing. Best mod I've played. :)
     
  16. Killamike718

    Killamike718 Proud Maya User

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2005
    Messages:
    377
    Location:
    Staten Island, New York City
    HAPPY NEW YEAR EVERYONE!!we are one year closer to the future!:scan:

    I agree that quality is overall better than the time it takes,:goodjob:

    although i am dying to get my hands on this mod i can bite my fingers till it arrives:cry:

    Thamis i just wanted to say, im learning the program Maya (something like 3dxmax) which i can soon help create future artwork for the project!(leader heads):mischief:

    i purchased the Lynda.com video for it soo i am going to learn it in a jippie and will soon go to work on helping the mod.
     
  17. thamis

    thamis King of Kish

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Messages:
    1,576
    Happy New Year!
     
  18. kevin2350

    kevin2350 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Messages:
    68
    Location:
    Armidale N.S.W.AUSTRALIA
     
  19. ckuyuk

    ckuyuk Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2003
    Messages:
    17
    Location:
    Ankara, Turkey
    Hi,

    Ancient Mediterranean is my favorite mod in Civ3. Now I will try it in Civ4, thanks for your efforts.

    Hittite civilization is not listed, is it possible to include them in the coming patches? Or can I add them myself?

    Regards.

    Sorry, after installation I saw that you already included Hittites.
     
  20. Nemovadit

    Nemovadit Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Messages:
    33
    Hello all and happy new year.

    Karhgath, does it really make sense to give spearmen (and HEA in general) a bonus against mounted skirmishers? Well if you're a hoplite or macedonian phalangist or a post Marius legionaire (better armour and shield), I don't think you've any advantage over a Scythian or Parthian horse archer... Thinking, like Crassus did, that one day or the other the archer will run out of arrows is a dangerous way of thinking...

    On your javelineer over archer argument, a javelin might be more powerful than an arrow (though one might wonder when it comes from a composite or longbow), but first of all you'll have to close on the archer. Hastati and legionaries used deadly pilla, granted, but those were phalanx killers more than archer killers. To kill archers, you need to get close first... better be on a horse for that (and the better the armour, the higher your chances to survive... though... Agincourt comes to my mind, sometimes it's a bad idea anyway).
     

Share This Page