1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

The Great War

Discussion in 'Civ3 - Completed Scenarios' started by Sarevok, Jan 25, 2004.

?

What do you think of this scenario?

  1. Its Great! one of the best out there!

    257 vote(s)
    54.2%
  2. Its a good scenario

    119 vote(s)
    25.1%
  3. Its ok

    40 vote(s)
    8.4%
  4. I dont like it

    58 vote(s)
    12.2%
  1. Rocoteh

    Rocoteh Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2002
    Messages:
    7,618
    Sarevok,

    Yes, Jutland was the exception, not the rule.

    First gigantic resources was spend on building
    Dreadnoughts,then they were seldom used!

    Best Regards

    Rocoteh
     
  2. Sarevok

    Sarevok Civ3 Scenario Creator

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2002
    Messages:
    8,407
    Location:
    Vancouver, WA
    indeed, I heard somewhere that range was much more important in WW1 rather than power or even speed. im probably wrong though.
     
  3. Rocoteh

    Rocoteh Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2002
    Messages:
    7,618
    Sarevok,

    I think the force-in-being concept shows that
    "what-if " questions is productive with regard
    to history:

    Assume the German Navy had been more aggressive
    and had met the Grand Fleet in a major battle
    November 1916 and that the outcome had been:
    The Grand Fleet destroyed.

    I think the common wisdom concerning Dreadnought -
    Battleships had been different from the current one.

    Best Regards

    Rocoteh
     
  4. Sarevok

    Sarevok Civ3 Scenario Creator

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2002
    Messages:
    8,407
    Location:
    Vancouver, WA
    they were too cautious, but with reason. They were up against a navy that had not lost a naval battle in 100 years
     
  5. Dr Corbett

    Dr Corbett Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2004
    Messages:
    76
    Yes, they were. And it was dumb of them -- but you, however, know the past in this game! Will you repeat its mistakes? Or will you soldier on using the same troop offenses and see what happens? Will you have engineers on the way to the front lines as it is to build trenches? Or will you march right through with the Schleiffen plan?
     
  6. Adler17

    Adler17 Prussian Feldmarschall

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    5,341
    Location:
    Schleswig- Holstein. Germany
    Hello everyone. I don´t have much time and a bit trouble with the internet so I couldn´t download the scenario until now. It is an outstanding one, better than Marla´s.
    Now my first look: German and Austrian soldiers should carry at the very beginning blue uniforms and Pickelhauben. The grey uniform with the steal helmet was not used until later the war.
    Some Ships of the German navy is written wrong, but that´s only a very minor problem.
    The German government was not an absolute monarchy, but a constitutional one to the constitution and a parlamentary to the reality since in fact nothing very important was done without the permission of the Reichstag. Even if Germany would have been a democracy the Reichstag would have declared war.
    At last the German navy tried it at least three times to involve the British main fleet after Jutland. But the British retreated whenever they saw a hint of a German capital ship... Because of Jutland I think German ships should get an extra HP.

    Adler
     
  7. Rocoteh

    Rocoteh Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2002
    Messages:
    7,618
    Adler17,

    I agree with you that Germany should be a
    Constitutional Monarchy.

    Here I also suggest an important rules change
    to version 1.1:

    Constitutional Monarchy and Democracy should
    have War Weariness: None.

    From my work with the ACW-scenario I know that
    War Weariness on scenario-level will produce
    unhistorical results.

    The names should be:

    Nassau
    Oldenburg
    Ostfriesland
    Prinz Regent Luitpold
    Seydlitz

    Thank you for your comments.

    Best Regards

    Rocoteh
     
  8. Gugu

    Gugu Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Location:
    Baia Mare
    it is not Rumania but Romania.
    you should raise Romania's aggression level.
    you made some small mistakes
    it is not the city of Galatz but Galatzi, and not Constants but Constanta. There should be oil around Bucharest.
    WHERE is the Danube river???? mit should pass throu Galatzi!
    Romania is an expansionist civilization.

    Great Work!!
     
  9. Rocoteh

    Rocoteh Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2002
    Messages:
    7,618
    Gugu,

    Thank you for your comments.

    Notes have been done, to be used in
    version 1.1.


    Best Regards


    Rocoteh
     
  10. Kristian95

    Kristian95 Dr. Minion

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2003
    Messages:
    211
    Location:
    Sunny California
    During WWI Germany suffered hugely from a lack of food (they imported alot of food of dubois origin from Denmark)... perhaps that should be implemented in some way...
    I don't know if it is possible, but if it is, I think the germans should have the food production of their squares limited, to emulate this... or is that too harsh ?? :) Just another idea :)
     
  11. Rocoteh

    Rocoteh Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2002
    Messages:
    7,618
    Kristian95,

    Yes, I agree.

    Starvation caused very high German civilian
    losses.
    Maybe there is a way within the game-engine to
    simulate that.

    We should work on that with regard to 1.1.

    Best Regards

    Rocoteh
     
  12. Gugu

    Gugu Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Location:
    Baia Mare
    Austria-Hungary had the same problem with starvation, they
    "imported" a lot of food from Romania.
     
  13. DeceasedHorse

    DeceasedHorse Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Messages:
    535
    Location:
    O.C. in the Summer,WU in the winter
    Simulating the effects of the British blockade will be difficult to do in Civ. Since every city has to produce food for itself, each individual city must be self-sufficent, where as in reality urban centers usually import food. I suppose you could cut off Germany from importing luxuries or resources, but this will be hard because the resource always makes it through as long as a single road link or a single harbor connected by one open sea square exists. I guess it would be possible if you gave the British a crapload of light units, but the AI would just stack them if left to its own devices.

    I have not been able to get the scenario to run (computer problems), so I don't know how the naval bombardment aspect is working out. I came up with a possible idea to help protect cities as well as make naval battles important. Is it possible to add a bunch of Coastal Fortress type improvements to a city, like Coastal Fortress 1, CF 2, CF3, ect? Since Coastal fortresses always take the first hit and don't really do anything else, this would make sustained bombardment neccessary, making it impossible to kill a half-million civilians in a week with naval bombardment. I have no idea if this is possible though; I haven't been very successful with the editor ;)

    It is unlikely that the Germans could have defeated the entire Grand Fleet. The Germans had better gunnery and armor, and the British employed defective shells, but they also had almost twice the dreadnaughts, and more and bigger heavy guns. Dogger Bank, Coronel, and the Battle of the Falklands were all fairly large engagments.
     
  14. Sarevok

    Sarevok Civ3 Scenario Creator

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2002
    Messages:
    8,407
    Location:
    Vancouver, WA
    Coronel was a disaster.

    it was Rumania in 1914

    Changes have been added. 1.1 however will not come at a soon time.
     
  15. Sarevok

    Sarevok Civ3 Scenario Creator

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2002
    Messages:
    8,407
    Location:
    Vancouver, WA
    Has anyone BTW played a really decent game of TGW at this point?

    Ive won my election! :band: :cooool:

    3000 POSTS!!! :band: :beer: [dance] :yeah: :slay:
     
  16. Jeff76

    Jeff76 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Messages:
    3
    Location:
    Canada
    Hi,
    I played the Scenario one turn. It looks really good but there's some problems. First, something weird happened one the first turn. 5 or 6 nations were destroyed (did I turn on the elimination thing or it's in the scenario ? Was it the problem or they were really entirely destroyed ?) Actually, Autria alone destroyed Italians, Russians and another small one. Greece destroyed Turkey, English destroyed Germans... before I had the chance to play my second turn (as the french). Maybe something was written before in this thread about this (didn't read all the pages).

    The french boat called Volatire is Voltaire (like the philosopher)

    Maybe (my opinion) it would be great to take off half of the units of every nation. They could still build them later. It's just that there's so many it had to get an overview in the beginning. Plus it's really slow. I have a P4 2.66 mghz with 256 ram and it took half an hour between the 1st and the 2nd turn... But I don't complain about the time, just about the playability. It looks like so much job to get an overview and you can't plan at all what the other one can come with...

    besides, it's an incredible job...

    Jeff76
     
  17. Sarevok

    Sarevok Civ3 Scenario Creator

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2002
    Messages:
    8,407
    Location:
    Vancouver, WA
    I think you turned on elimination as its not on for the scenario.

    There are known spelling errors in ship names. That was not one of them however, thanks for picking that up. :)

    we already removed half the units earlier, it wont be fun if we do it again.

    Play it without elimination, I think you will like it very much.
     
  18. Rocoteh

    Rocoteh Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2002
    Messages:
    7,618
    I agree reducing units further would not
    work well.

    Brigade as the standard unit is the right level
    for this scenario.


    Rocoteh
     
  19. Sarevok

    Sarevok Civ3 Scenario Creator

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2002
    Messages:
    8,407
    Location:
    Vancouver, WA
  20. Rocoteh

    Rocoteh Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2002
    Messages:
    7,618
    Sarevok,

    Since the game-engine kills so many units
    instead of causing damage divisions would
    not work.

    Best Regards

    Rocoteh
     

Share This Page