1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

The Powers that Be

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Modpacks' started by seasnake, Mar 31, 2011.

  1. Logistics

    Logistics Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    It worked! Thank you.:goodjob:
     
  2. TheUnwashed

    TheUnwashed Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    sounds good, especially about the resources...

    Im going to try this also, cause I also have trouble with late game crashes.
    Anyway, I enjoy playing this mod
     
  3. DOmar1990

    DOmar1990 Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    217
    Location:
    Puerto Rico, U.S.
    Hey seasnake, how much time is left for release the new hotfix update? I have a good saved game before outcomes advanced eras, waiting for that siege weapons modernization by IA's to cannons and artillery upgrade in order to continue the game.
     
  4. Logistics

    Logistics Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Some more feedback to improve this great mod:

    - in the Future Era, the Assault Mech and Hover Tank do not receive XP from the city they're built in, but the Siege Mech does. Is this working as intended?

    - I started a game as the Israelis and I wasn't able to build Maccabees, or Axemen for that matter, only Swordsmen. Just a heads up. Might it have to do with the fact that I researched Iron Working before Monotheism? :confused:

    - balance-wise: I think Siam might be too powerful. Just my vote, but in several games now they've dominated. Might be just a coincidence :crazyeye:
     
  5. seasnake

    seasnake Conquistador

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,875
    Location:
    California, United States
    Heavy work in Real Life is preventing projects like Modding. Have a few clients waiting on some projects.

    It stinks, but it makes it hard to commit to a timetable on this stuff. I DID manage to screw up my version of the mod and need to download it again... (I tried to change several things at once and quickly test it, now I have a bug I can't find...)

    It will take some time, but it will go better in August.
     
  6. DOmar1990

    DOmar1990 Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    217
    Location:
    Puerto Rico, U.S.
    Oh well, we can just wait then for the fix. Hope you get the time to do so soon :) Will keep on check over here to download it as soon it's ready. :)
     
  7. Logistics

    Logistics Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Hey there,

    Can anyone figure out what the problem is this time? It crashes on the next turn. Thanks. :goodjob:
     

    Attached Files:

  8. inohotep

    inohotep Slender Time!

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011
    Messages:
    853
    Location:
    Nomadic
    works fine for me:p
     
  9. seasnake

    seasnake Conquistador

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,875
    Location:
    California, United States
    I'm back!

    I'll be working in my free time on the Powers that Be for the next week or two. I'll be checking this forum daily for comments, questions, or suggestions.

    Okay, I've downloaded TPTB, as well Asaf's fix and the Hotfix, and I've employed some of The_J's fixes listed earlier. I'll be working on bug shooting and balance.
     
  10. seasnake

    seasnake Conquistador

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,875
    Location:
    California, United States
    Update: I've already fixed the Maccabee, turns out it was a very strange error. The Unit was correctly done, but Israel the Civ was looking to build an axeman replacement called the Maccabee, so it would have you build swordsmen. Of course, the real Macabee unit replaces swordsman, so Israel didn't build them instead of axemen either.
     
  11. DOmar1990

    DOmar1990 Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    217
    Location:
    Puerto Rico, U.S.
    Yes!! :D Have you fix the catapults and trebuchets modernization to cannons, artillery, and mobile artillery problem??
     
  12. Beamed

    Beamed Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2009
    Messages:
    64
    Was this mod abandoned?
     
  13. Civciv5

    Civciv5 Grand Emperor

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011
    Messages:
    2,103
    Location:
    Nergenshuizen, Belgium
    I got a crash when I quitted the diplomacy screen.
    It's really annoying and I can't get beyond Scientific Method because of that stupid crash.
    I was playing as Pachacuti when that happened.
     
  14. Asaf

    Asaf Sleep Deprived

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    1,326
    Does it happen every time you load the last saved game and plays it? If so, can you attach a saved game which demonstrates this problem?
     
  15. Ahwaric

    Ahwaric Shrubbery-hugger

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2005
    Messages:
    1,217
    Location:
    Kraków, Poland
    Ineresting idea regarding the civ-powers. It was one of the few ideas I actually liked in Civ V.

    I wanted to take a look (partially to get ideas for the new version of my fantasy mod), but unfortunatelly, due to FBI closing megaupload, your mod is no longer avaliable.
    Would it be possible to post it somewhere else?
    Thanks in advance.
     
  16. RenaissanceFan

    RenaissanceFan Warlord

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    Messages:
    125
    Could you post another mirror? Megaupload was shut down.
     
  17. seasnake

    seasnake Conquistador

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,875
    Location:
    California, United States
    Got ahold of a copy of this mod and made some fixes, and I will repost a fixed version with some improved leaderheads and a few new resources (potato, rubber, bison, etc.) in the next few days. Can anyone suggest a place to host a file of 466 MB?

    Further, sorry for the long time, i literally did not have a copy of this file for about 6 months! Fortunately I was abel to get ahold of a copy and use a friends copy (lots of copies around here) of civilization IV and edit it. I've hated telling people I couldn't work on it.

    Alas, i think Glory and Greatness and Rise of Empires, my other two mods, are lost forever. But finally I can fix at least one!
     
  18. Data662

    Data662 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    File front or moddb
     
  19. seasnake

    seasnake Conquistador

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,875
    Location:
    California, United States
    okay, upload coming soon, I'm just making a change to Germany's power. I haven't played a game before with them, never realized they were getting armies of Barbarian Lions!
     
  20. seasnake

    seasnake Conquistador

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,875
    Location:
    California, United States
    okay, here's the new download link:

    http://www.gamefront.com/files/22504315/The+Powers+That+Be.rar

    I kept germany's power the same for now, because I realized the barbarians lions were kind of fun, and overall it wasn't a lasting problem. I will eventually try to get it changed to lower maintenance costs for armies or unlock a civic, but for now it will be as it was.
     

Share This Page