Todo List to finish Branch "develop" [OBSOLETE]

raystuttgart

Civ4Col Modder
Joined
Jan 24, 2011
Messages
9,135
Location
Stuttgart, Germany
- Display of the possible training places per city. In which city I can train profession x ...
That sounds like a great improvement as well. :)
I will take it on the todo list. :thumbsup:

I formulated like this:
11. Advisor Screen displaying "Professions" that can be educated by School System in Cities (@Raubwürger)
 

Nightinggale

Deity
Joined
Feb 2, 2009
Messages
5,031
Just for my understanding, why do you consider it a "workaround" only and not a "bugfix"?
Do you think it just covers the actual bug? Is the actual bug still slumbering and might one day bite us?
What happens is that a number is off by one (at least in my testing. It might be off by more in untested cases). My "fix" is to reset it to 1 to avoid a divide by zero crash. However the number is still incorrect and as such the AI will mess up. I added it because an assert failure is better than a seemingly random CTD.
 

Raubwuerger

Warlord
Joined
Nov 24, 2014
Messages
132
Location
Bavaria
Hello all,

I have started implementing the first trade events for Port Royal. Since Port Royal is a small city with a small population, there are no specialists to offer. These are rare there. But they have a lot of pirate ships...

For the following goods I would offer ships as a reward:
  • Bladed weapons
  • Muskets
  • Cannons
  • Ropes
  • Sails
For the remaining goods I would consider a smuggler ship and an increased selling price as appropriate.

However, our king will not be pleased if we do business with another partner. Therefore, the relationship with our king will deteriorate if we accept ships as a reward.

Upgrading Port Royal.
You could offer mercenaries as additional purchasable units. In terms of combat values, I would put them a little below the Rangers, and Conquistadors. And that they don't have the terrain bonuses of the Rangers and the bonuses against the natives like the Conquistadors. They are more a kind of thugs with weapons, but relatively cheap.

If this is not feasible, an alternative reward would be some gold from the governor of Port Royal.
 

Attachments

  • PortRoyalTradeQuest_Start.png
    PortRoyalTradeQuest_Start.png
    3.8 MB · Views: 47
  • PortRoyalTradeQuest_Done.png
    PortRoyalTradeQuest_Done.png
    3.8 MB · Views: 45
  • PortRoyalTradeQuest_Done1.png
    PortRoyalTradeQuest_Done1.png
    2.8 MB · Views: 44
  • PortRoyalTradeQuest_Done2.png
    PortRoyalTradeQuest_Done2.png
    3.7 MB · Views: 40
  • PortRoyalTradeQuest_Done3.png
    PortRoyalTradeQuest_Done3.png
    2.7 MB · Views: 42

raystuttgart

Civ4Col Modder
Joined
Jan 24, 2011
Messages
9,135
Location
Stuttgart, Germany
Upgrading Port Royal.
You could offer mercenaries as additional purchasable units. In terms of combat values, I would put them a little below the Rangers, and Conquistadors. And that they don't have the terrain bonuses of the Rangers and the bonuses against the natives like the Conquistadors. They are more a kind of thugs with weapons, but relatively cheap.
Ok, I can take care of it. :)
(I will create the Unit.)

It is not much effort to add e.g. a "Swashbuckler" (relatively weak) that you can buy in Port Royal.
Also those guys could e.g. have "hidden Nationality" - but again they would be weak.
@Schmiddie had created lots of graphics I could use for that. :)

But if we integrate them, we should do it properly:
  • Check for example if a existing Founding Father (i.e. Henry Morgan) can give some of them.
  • Check if we can create one or two additional Python Event(s) for them with a little story.
---

Thanks for taking care of the events. :hug:
  • I will have the Unit added until this evenig. :thumbsup:
  • I will also take care of the Founding Father adjustment.
  • Would you later also want to create the "Swashbuckler Event(s)"?
 
Last edited:

raystuttgart

Civ4Col Modder
Joined
Jan 24, 2011
Messages
9,135
Location
Stuttgart, Germany
... there are no specialists to offer ...
... additional purchasable units ...

@Raubwuerger


Just read your post about "additional purchasable" Units in Port Royal
(I think you talk about Native Slaves, specific Experts for Colonial Goods, Artillery, ...)

I will add a few of them as well, so your events make more sense. :thumbsup:
It is also not much effort to do so.

Edit:
I will do the same for Africa, but the "Experts" / Units will be different ones.
Should allow for a bit more creativity in Trade Events and also a bit more incentive to sail there.
 
Last edited:

raystuttgart

Civ4Col Modder
Joined
Jan 24, 2011
Messages
9,135
Location
Stuttgart, Germany
@Raubwuerger

I had a few minutes after lunch, so I added already a few purchasable Units for Africa and Port Royal.
(It is commited to "Plains".)
  • Those are "Planter Experts" that can not be bought in Europe but just trained in New World. (By Natives, Education or Learning by Doing.)
  • So now if the player wants he can now alternatiely sail to Africa and Port Royal to buy them instead. (However, they will get expensive very fast, so it is much better to still train them.)
  • Both of them (Africa and Port Royal) still have no immigration. Only buying is possible there. Otherwise it would get unbalanced.
Comment:
Port Royal still has these "gameplay rules" :
  • Buying only is possible if a Ship is already in Port Royal
  • Only Pirates and Smuggling Ships" can sail there
This evening I will also add "Swashbuckler" (Port Royal) and "Slave Master" (Africa).

----

I hope that helps a bit for your Africa and Port Royal events. :thumbsup:


 

Attachments

  • Civ4ScreenShot0003.JPG
    Civ4ScreenShot0003.JPG
    134.4 KB · Views: 367
  • Civ4ScreenShot0002.JPG
    Civ4ScreenShot0002.JPG
    159.3 KB · Views: 378

raystuttgart

Civ4Col Modder
Joined
Jan 24, 2011
Messages
9,135
Location
Stuttgart, Germany
@Raubwuerger

As requested I have implemented the Slave Hunter (buyable in Africa) and the Buccanner (buyable in Port Royal). :)
Hope they will be useful for your events. :thumbsup:

-----------

Graphics are originally all from @Schmiddie. - I just integrated them into the mod.
(He created them for an old TAC team mod project that sadly never really took off.)

@Schmiddie:
Could you please resend me the final set of Tortuga Unit graphics you have?
(The Tortuga mod zip I got from @Rampstormp was pretty incomplete. Maybe newer versions exist.)

-----------

@Raubwuerger

They are still a few small todos for them, but I will take care of them the next days.
(I was simply too tired today and more or less not concentrated enough anymore.)

I will take care of these:

1. Their Colopedia needs to be written
2. They may get a unique Goody Event as well.
3. They will be integrated in Traits / Founding Fathers.

Could you please take care of this here:

4. Please create a small "Story Python Event" for each of them since you already work on events anyways.
(If you want to create more than just one you of course can.)



 

Attachments

  • Civ4ScreenShot0001.JPG
    Civ4ScreenShot0001.JPG
    166.6 KB · Views: 350
  • Civ4ScreenShot0007.JPG
    Civ4ScreenShot0007.JPG
    147.2 KB · Views: 343
  • Civ4ScreenShot0005.JPG
    Civ4ScreenShot0005.JPG
    163.9 KB · Views: 350
  • Civ4ScreenShot0008.JPG
    Civ4ScreenShot0008.JPG
    168.8 KB · Views: 347
  • Civ4ScreenShot0006.JPG
    Civ4ScreenShot0006.JPG
    194.3 KB · Views: 352

Raubwuerger

Warlord
Joined
Nov 24, 2014
Messages
132
Location
Bavaria
Hello all,

since raystuttgart immediately complied to my request for a special unit for Port Royal (great praise for that) I have revised the events for Port Royal again.

As a 5th option you now get a few ruffians ...

upload_2021-10-22_10-56-14.png
 

Raubwuerger

Warlord
Joined
Nov 24, 2014
Messages
132
Location
Bavaria
Voilà, the remaining events for Port Royal.

For the remaining goods, there are only 3 choices. The last option is to get two handfuls of native slaves as a reward.
 

Attachments

  • PortRoyalTradeQuest_CommonDone.png
    PortRoyalTradeQuest_CommonDone.png
    4 MB · Views: 41
  • PortRoyalTradeQuest_CommonDone1.png
    PortRoyalTradeQuest_CommonDone1.png
    4.1 MB · Views: 37
  • PortRoyalTradeQuest_CommonDone2.png
    PortRoyalTradeQuest_CommonDone2.png
    4.1 MB · Views: 37

raystuttgart

Civ4Col Modder
Joined
Jan 24, 2011
Messages
9,135
Location
Stuttgart, Germany

raystuttgart

Civ4Col Modder
Joined
Jan 24, 2011
Messages
9,135
Location
Stuttgart, Germany
@Community:

Currently we are simply not able to give any reliable release date and it will surely take at least about 2 months before we can release again.
Anything before Christmas this year is utterly unrealistic, since we have real lifes as well. Thus please have some more patience. :thumbsup:

We are working steadily on the mod and already had some really nice progress. (Bugfixes, Python Events, Texts, ...)
But modding takes its time and especially the todos @FlaviusBelisarius is working on are really difficult.
 

raystuttgart

Civ4Col Modder
Joined
Jan 24, 2011
Messages
9,135
Location
Stuttgart, Germany
Well ok, I have now started writing Pedia Texts as well, simply so @Kendon does not have to write all of these texts alone. :)
Sure, we could probably use a skilled programmer in better ways, but well we simply need to get these pedia texts done.

As I said, we will deliver quality in the next release(s), which simply also includes proper pedia.
And as I said as well, it will take as long as it takes. If it needs a complete year so be it.

----

@Kendon:
For the next 2 weeks I will support you with writing Pedia texts - my focus will be a bit more on German texts though. :thumbsup:
I will start with writing German Pedia texts for the English Pedia texts you have already written.
(Of course you can not write the German texts as well because they have to be done by a German speaker - ideally a Native German speaker.)

----

By the way:
I am sorry for all French speakers, but there is currently nobody on board that could translate the new texts into French.
(In the last releases we had translated lots of texts into French as well.)

Edit:
The texts I am writing are actually for the new content in the feature branch "Plains".
(But it might affect the time schedule of the bugfix and improvement branch "develop" as well.)
 

Attachments

  • Civ4ScreenShot0008.JPG
    Civ4ScreenShot0008.JPG
    175.9 KB · Views: 33
  • Civ4ScreenShot0009.JPG
    Civ4ScreenShot0009.JPG
    175 KB · Views: 34
Last edited:

raystuttgart

Civ4Col Modder
Joined
Jan 24, 2011
Messages
9,135
Location
Stuttgart, Germany
By the way:
I am not sure anymore that a small "Improvement Release" still makes sense. :think:
Too many important improvements have been implemented in "Plains" - the feature branch.

I am not saying we should give up the branch "develop" itself. It is useful to develop and test bugfixes based on last public release.
I am just questioning if we should publish it separately and cause disappointment since it has no new game content.

Summary:
I suggest to forget the strategy of "First Improvement Release, then later Major Release". It would only cause disappointment.
Let us directly aim for the Major Release because in reality if you look at the content in the branches, that already happened.
 

FlaviusBelisarius

Chieftain
Joined
May 13, 2020
Messages
59
Location
Finland
By the way:
I am not sure anymore that a small "Improvement Release" still makes sense. :think:
Too many important improvements have been implemented in "Plains" - the feature branch.

I am not saying we should give up the branch "develop" itself. It is useful to develop and test bugfixes based on last public release.
I am just questioning if we should publish it separately and cause disappointment since it has no new game content.

Summary:
I suggest to forget the strategy of "First Improvement Release, then later Major Release". It would only cause disappointment.
Let us directly aim for the Major Release because in reality if you look at the content in the branches, that already happened.

I would agree with this but not for the entirely same reasons you mention here. I primarily want to get the plains branch integrated so that it does not keep on making things complicated for the modders - now all your work (you being the most productive modder as well) goes to the branch that we other modders really cannot benefit from at the moment. Not even small bug fixes. Not before we get this resolved and plains gets merged! (I do not want to go into manually cherry picking stuff from plains, too much effort and hassle) I understand the history and the rationale for this situation here, but I still want to have it fixed asap :D

However, I do think that having the develop critical CTD fix and perhaps my map script content on an improvement release would make sense too. 3.0.1 is incomplete without the map script. Large rivers and (large lakes) alone would motivate people to play WtP again I believe. I would if I did not have my hands full modding instead of playing ;-)
 
Top Bottom