Warlords: Total Realism 2.0

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Realism Invictus' started by Houman, Sep 23, 2006.

  1. Anaztazioch

    Anaztazioch Hit in the head too much

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2006
    Messages:
    1,181
    Location:
    Kraków, Poland (southern Poland)
    Yea i dont like this new AI too.

    Like war with Incas as Spain. He come up to Seville (walls + 3 city garrison I archers on hill) with 5 quetchas (some combat II, some city raider, some attck) and 4 native archers (all city raider I), he attacked me with 3 units of this stack, and than retreated.

    Also AI tend to defend its capitol city with only one mercenary archer, and when his contract ends, his capitol is left undefended... He will not stop temple production (10 turns to go) to make a new defending units... not to mention he has slavary adopted. (he was in my team).
     
  2. Mexico

    Mexico TR senior programmer

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Messages:
    578
    Location:
    Slovakia, Kosice
    there was bug in AI with stack attack and with production choice (your reports confirm this :) ) - in pre-gold release will be included latest official release of BetterAI, where this bugs is solved

    BMP-3 sound - hmm, i did not notice this, i will check this on other computer today

    mexico
     
  3. Anaztazioch

    Anaztazioch Hit in the head too much

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2006
    Messages:
    1,181
    Location:
    Kraków, Poland (southern Poland)
    BetterAI

    Best mod with "better" in name was Better Bodies v2 for Morrowind :)
     
  4. bovinespy

    bovinespy Prince

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2004
    Messages:
    310
    Hi Hian. Well, despite saying I'd try somebody else, I just couldn't say 'no' to the challenge of getting a game going as America. After 2 or 3 more failed attempts (usually crushed by stack of Barb Archers, once that b*stard Monty decided to kick me while I was down), I finally got over the hump, and started to steam-roll the rest of the Western Hemisphere. (I'm playing on Noble now, trying to get a feel for TR again and all the different civs. I'll probably settle around Prince/Monarch eventually.)

    I appreciate that it's a very fine line you have to walk with tweaking the starting set-ups. A minor change can make a game a cakewalk or an exercise in frustration. That said, don't make things too much easier on America (or the other civs you're fine-tuning). I really like how in this mod, the barbarian presence inspires a healthy fear of the unkown early in the game, and a (somewhat) challenging obstacle to rapid expansion in the early-midle part of the game.

    BTW, a propos to nothing, but I noticed in my last game that Domination Victory was disabled. Is this an error or WAD? If it is WAD, why is that the case? Given the huge size of this map, having to do a total conquest for a military victory seems a tad masochistic, IMHO...;)
     
  5. Anaztazioch

    Anaztazioch Hit in the head too much

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2006
    Messages:
    1,181
    Location:
    Kraków, Poland (southern Poland)
    If barbarians could have fast moving units that kills off scouts and scouting military, but not attacking cities/destroying improvements it would be cool.
    Im talking about premade units with that kind of script on World Map.
     
  6. crismac

    crismac Warlord

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Messages:
    214
    Location:
    Kansas City,Missouri
    Mexico I reported this in the bug section twice a few days ago,page 11 post 209 in the bug section,and posted a game save on how to find this sound problem,know one responded.I thought I was the only one who hated this sound :)
     
  7. Mexico

    Mexico TR senior programmer

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Messages:
    578
    Location:
    Slovakia, Kosice
    yes, i remember - but i was busy at work last week (and i forget to check this)
    i made some test, here is first result: bugged unit is BMP-2 and bmp-3 (when i first time tested this, i have disabled sound card :) an i didn't notice this)

    RESULT:
    cannot disable this sound for units, so units will be removed in gold release (who know, which other bugs they can contain, The Conquest (author) was not on-line for last month)
     
  8. Anaztazioch

    Anaztazioch Hit in the head too much

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2006
    Messages:
    1,181
    Location:
    Kraków, Poland (southern Poland)
    Small (that can turn ito J.LO behind size one) request:

    Can you make random religion founding in later starts ? Becouse on earlier start I allways get Judaism. Its like top players (when setting whi yu want to play, and witch PC player is who) get religions. 1st is Judaism, 2nd is Hinduism or Zoroastrialism (never know).
     
  9. Anaztazioch

    Anaztazioch Hit in the head too much

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2006
    Messages:
    1,181
    Location:
    Kraków, Poland (southern Poland)
    Just looked at Japan cities in XML and could not belive that Kobe (Kōbe-shi). One of Japans major ports (now days) and is located not far from Osaka and Kyoto. It was once a Japans capitol (Heian peroid if im right was know for its constant changing capitol after each new shogun).
     
  10. Stellan_87

    Stellan_87 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2006
    Messages:
    97
    Nice mod but i can't help to get really really annoyed about how big the city and unit graphics are, plz could someone tell me in which file i should look to change the size back to normal, do anyone think its better when its this big..?

    If it matters.. i played on the Earthmap
     
  11. Houman

    Houman TR Team Leader

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    1,083
    What do you mean with big? We have downsized the units even a bit compared to Vanilla. :crazyeye:
     
  12. Anaztazioch

    Anaztazioch Hit in the head too much

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2006
    Messages:
    1,181
    Location:
    Kraków, Poland (southern Poland)
    Big cities, i agree, 7 population city is too small fot 1 plot, it speads to sorrounding, making mines, farms etc nearelly invisable.
    I think city should have size of 12 before expanding to other plots.
     

Share This Page