1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Welcome to Rhye's and Fall of the Greek World (Revived again)

Discussion in 'Rhye's and Fall of the Greek World' started by bluepotato, Jan 18, 2020.

Tags:
  1. bluepotato

    bluepotato Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2018
    Messages:
    275
    Fixed, thanks for reporting.

    I have no clue what could've caused this and haven't been able to reproduce it but I'll look into it later.

    Yeah, I suppose. I'll add some later.

    Now that you mention it, there's actually several colonies that weren't founded until hundreds of years later. I've removed those now.

    Now they don't :)

    That's something the scenario parser can't save/load yet, I'll look into it.

    Great find, thanks. I've added and moved some dye resources accordingly, feel free to give specific suggestions if you think dye placement could be improved further.
     
  2. EdmundIronside

    EdmundIronside The fake sound of progress

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2017
    Messages:
    625
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI.
    Carthage UHVs almost complete. I wont do a pull request yet, I will instead move straight on to Celtia.

    Couple of things I observed.
    -Assyrians had two cities called Nineveh, spelled slightly differently.
    -Barbarians captured Carthage by presumably spawning a camel rider on the city location, as my Carthage army inside the city was shifted 1 square out of the city.
     
  3. bluepotato

    bluepotato Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2018
    Messages:
    275
    I suppose that's an automatically assigned city name from the player city name list. Could you post a screenshot or save file to confirm that?

    Whoops, my bad. Should be fixed now.
     
  4. EdmundIronside

    EdmundIronside The fake sound of progress

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2017
    Messages:
    625
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI.
    Civ4ScreenShot0006.JPG

    Screen shot as requested.

    Also noticed a weird little bug. So as Carthage you have to control 3 dye resources. When conquering the Phoenician city in Cyprus for my 3rd dye, it registered it (at least in the context of the UHV) as having secured the dye even though it was not yet in my area of control. I wonder if its counting resources in immediate proximity to the city regardless of whether you control the resource or not.
     
  5. EdmundIronside

    EdmundIronside The fake sound of progress

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2017
    Messages:
    625
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI.
    I'm getting an error with the UHV which involves the Romans having no cities in Rome.
    Code:
    Traceback (most recent call last):
    
      File "CvEventInterface", line 23, in onEvent
    
      File "CvEventManager", line 196, in handleEvent
    
      File "CvEventManager", line 382, in onBeginPlayerTurn
    
      File "Victory", line 716, in checkPlayerTurn
    
    RuntimeError: unidentifiable C++ exception
    ERR: Python function onEvent failed, module CvEventInterface
    The code in question is
    Code:
                if (iGameTurn == i671BC):
                    pRome = civ2player(iRome)
                    RomeCities = provItaly.getNumCities(pRome) \
                    + provMessapia.getNumCities(pRome)
    
                    if RomeCities > 0:
                        self.setGoal(iCarthage, 1, 0)
                    else:
                        self.setGoal(iCarthage, 1, 1)
    I believe it is specifically referencing this line
    Code:
                    RomeCities = provItaly.getNumCities(pRome) \
     
  6. bluepotato

    bluepotato Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2018
    Messages:
    275
    Two things I can think of: either provItaly is an invalid reference due to findProvince failing, or (the likelier option) Rome is dead, so pRome equals PlayerTypes.NO_PLAYER (-1) which breaks getNumCities.
    So I'd try something like this:
    Code:
    pRome = civ2player(iRome)
    if pRome == PlayerTypes.NO_PLAYER:
        RomeCities = 0
    else:
        RomeCities = provItaly.getNumCities(pRome) \
                    + provMessapia.getNumCities(pRome)
    if RomeCities > 0:
        self.setGoal(iCarthage, 1, 0)
    else:
        self.setGoal(iCarthage, 1, 1)
    
    and make sure there's no typo in provItaly's findProvince call.
     
  7. EdmundIronside

    EdmundIronside The fake sound of progress

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2017
    Messages:
    625
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI.
    Yeah after some testing it was confirmed the issue was Rome being dead. As the goal was to conquer Italy, which would likely to cause the Romans to collapse, this was a no go. So instead made it that they had to capture Rome, which works.
    Have now started working on Celts UHVs. I plan to review a few other civs UHVs and will then do the pull request this weekend.
    Happy New Year to all who mod or play RFCGW! [party]
     
    stillblackadder and bluepotato like this.
  8. EdmundIronside

    EdmundIronside The fake sound of progress

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2017
    Messages:
    625
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI.
    Celtic UHVs now complete.

    Couple if things I noticed while playing as Celts.
    1. Their unique power is listed as extra visibility, however on units it shows as reduced terrain movement.
    2. Light cavalry can't enter forests.
     
  9. bluepotato

    bluepotato Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2018
    Messages:
    275
    Fixed in the latest commit, thanks for reporting.

    I think that's working as intended, at least I'm pretty sure this was already the case in 1.5.
     
    EdmundIronside likes this.
  10. EdmundIronside

    EdmundIronside The fake sound of progress

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2017
    Messages:
    625
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI.
    Pull Request Made:
    -Carthage UHVs
    -Celtic UHVs
    -Adjustment to time frame for Indus Valley's third UHV

    I think it was me who added them. I can't remember what my intention was. However I feel like light cavalry should be able to manage woods. But it is of course up to you.

    While testing the Celts game I encountered a consistent CTD. I have attached the save game in case you wanted to have a look at it (it crashes just after you hit end turn). However it has been a week since I updated my version of RFCGW, and I know you fixed at least one error for the 900 BC scenario since then.
     

    Attached Files:

  11. bluepotato

    bluepotato Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2018
    Messages:
    275
    Thanks a lot, I'll merge it soon.

    Right, this is caused by the non-existent core province bug, which was fixed in commit 4f5ca49d4befca06bb8c799e827d93afb279f074.
     
  12. bluepotato

    bluepotato Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2018
    Messages:
    275
    On a second thought, could you first update your fork? It's 155 commits behind the current version so merging it like this isn't very convenient (and would cause more problems in the future).
     
  13. EdmundIronside

    EdmundIronside The fake sound of progress

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2017
    Messages:
    625
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI.
    Okay my fork is now 0 commits behind, and 2 commits ahead.
    New pull request created.
     
  14. bluepotato

    bluepotato Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2018
    Messages:
    275
    Thanks, merged.
     

Share This Page