1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

YnAMP - Development thread Civ6

A compilation of maps and script with culturally linked start location or TSL

  1. Gedemon

    Gedemon Modder Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Messages:
    9,351
    Location:
    France
    Thank you !

    merged & updated on GitHub
     
  2. Larsenex

    Larsenex King

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Messages:
    758
    Location:
    Ventura CA
    Yea I am crashing using enormous maps..
     
  3. duchovka

    duchovka Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Germany
    Very strange. I don't use another mod, but I am on a Mac, I hope this is not a specific bug for this OS...

    Changing the language didn't help, all the Settings were still visible. But the workaround with changing "Start Position Link" to "Random" worked great, thanks for this hint!

    When using the "Euro" rulesets, I cannot choose a Leader, only Random is in the list. Might be a bug on my OS again...

    Thanks for your help, the workaround does the trick for me at the moment.
     
  4. Baleur

    Baleur Prince

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    526
    Location:
    Qingdao, China
    • add option on all map scripts (including scripts from external mod as long as AssignStartignPlot.Lua is not overridden) to prevent placement of ice adjacent to land, this should allow circumnavigation in most cases.

    Awesome, so this works on the Detailed Maps mod's scripts as well?
     
  5. Gedemon

    Gedemon Modder Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Messages:
    9,351
    Location:
    France
    Yes, just tested on small continents at "ludicrous" size, circumnavigation is possible for north and south, even if the southern part of the land were below the ice limit :
    Clipboard-21.jpg

    It will still not work in 100% of the cases, but it's far from common to have land stretched to the map's limits at both the north and the south (never seen that case in my tests, maybe with low sea level ?)
     
  6. Stangle Khan

    Stangle Khan Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2015
    Messages:
    137
    Location:
    Texas
    A random suggestion. Could you make an equivalent ruleset for just random maps? Like the Euro, Earth and Old World rulesets without the other effects needed to improve the playability of the specific maps.
     
  7. Gedemon

    Gedemon Modder Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Messages:
    9,351
    Location:
    France
    Which rules then ?
    Civs selection only ?

    There is already a setting with just the Euro civs, I can add one similar rule for Old World.
     
  8. yanks28th

    yanks28th Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Gender:
    Male
    Amazing mod, thansk for making this so quickly. Any possibility of other maps being added? It would be terrific to have a map of just the Americas, Africa, the Middle East, or South East Asia/Australia.
     
  9. Larsenex

    Larsenex King

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Messages:
    758
    Location:
    Ventura CA
    Thanks again Gedemon. My crash I think was related to some mod incompatibility. I am going to start a fresh Giant map Islands game and see how things fair.
     
  10. PKL

    PKL Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2016
    Messages:
    28
    Gender:
    Male
    For some reason, .12 started to work, and my question is, how did you change Russia's TSL to the correct position on Giant Earth, when the real St. Petersburg is still located seven to eight "turns" away, by the coast?
     
  11. Stangle Khan

    Stangle Khan Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2015
    Messages:
    137
    Location:
    Texas

    The rules that aren't map specific. No stuff that removes City States now that I think about it. Basically:

    Random 1: Small Scale
    • 2 tiles Min Distance between City
    - Common Rules

    Random 2: Medium Scale

    - Common Rules

    Random 3: Large Scale
    • Double Movement on Ocean
    • Faster Movements on Roads
    • Raise Minimal distance between Civilizations
    - Common Rules
     
  12. yoloswaggins

    yoloswaggins Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2016
    Messages:
    17
    I am crushing on great earth map, what do i have to do in order to fix this?
     
    Last edited: Dec 14, 2016
  13. Ferocitus

    Ferocitus Deity

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2016
    Messages:
    3,341
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Adelaide, South Australia
    1. Seriously? You want help but you won't provide details?

    2. Read and follow instructions about checking hardware requirements, removing previous versions and other mods,
    and maybe turning off Windows Defender.
     
  14. yoloswaggins

    yoloswaggins Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2016
    Messages:
    17
    maybe i wanted to get info on where can i read about that? Calm your pats, kid. I can't find thes instructions. Apart from that, I have an issue with th biggest map, once the map is loaded there are no pictures of units or pictures of nations. Also, the units are not coloured like tthey used to. (red for sparta, yellow for russia) they are jsut blank.
     
    Last edited: Dec 15, 2016
  15. geebo

    geebo Prince

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2004
    Messages:
    423
    Location:
    Bronx, NY
    Hey Gedemon, as always thanks for your hard work. I been playing your maps/mods for at least 5 years now. If I recall, I gave you some of the idea to create a culturally linked starting locations mod for Civ V.

    Quick question: Any chance the Pyrenees mountain range will not be considered the continent of America in the future on the Play Europe Map? As a Global History & Geography Teacher and lover of cartography this really irks me!

    Thanks again, enjoy the holidays!
     
  16. Hiram

    Hiram XML Plebian

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,088
    Location:
    Where The Streets Have No Name
    Got a CTD about halfway through a game playing on the Europe map in the latest version (13). Which logs are needed for diagnosis?

    (I was able to play a full game on the previous version I was using (11))
     
  17. duchovka

    duchovka Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Germany
    I'd like to second that. But there are a lot of other places with wrong continent attributes, too. E. g. Arabia should be Asia, not Africa. Turkey should be Asia as far as the Bosporus and the Caucasian Mountains.

    Unfortunately, AFAIK I don't have access to World Builder on my Mac. But If someone knows, which part of which file includes the continent definitions, I could do it manually for the tiles in question.
     
  18. Singapore_Brav

    Singapore_Brav Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Gender:
    Male
    Gedemon - huge fan of the Map, have been playing it for many years. On this version, I seem to keep on crashing (Playing Marathon, Giant Map, All 19 Civs) between 550-750 turns. Not sure if it is my computer or not, but could get past this point on previous versions. I cant upload the LUA for some reason (not showing as an upload option - but have attached the save game at the turn I keep on crashing on the latest game. Its now happened 3 times.

    Appreciate any guidance.
     

    Attached Files:

  19. williamchildress

    williamchildress Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2016
    Messages:
    25
    So I have been consistently crashing around the 200 +/- 50 turn cycle and have noticed several other folks whom are experiencing the same issue - I'm no programmer but others seem to think its related to this mod, which is awesome otherwise. So the question is then? Is this mod the culprit with the 150 to 200 turn crash? and if so, what can be done to fix it? and, of course, if this mod is not the culprit, what is? Anyway, do you have a place to post or send crash reports??? I save my most recent
     
  20. williamchildress

    williamchildress Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2016
    Messages:
    25
    Here is a pdf of my crash repot. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page