1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Zero day DLC = disrespecting the customer

Discussion in 'Civ5 - General Discussions' started by phungus420, May 7, 2010.

  1. Thyrwyn

    Thyrwyn Guardian at the Gate

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,289
    Location:
    State College, PA
    I realize that I have little experience with modding (hoping to change that with Civ V), so I will bow to your experience and expertise. Still, it seems to me that the easiest things to make "easily moddable" would be units & civs. We will have to wait and see how they structure Civ V.
     
  2. The_J

    The_J Say No 2 Net Validations Retired Moderator Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    32,972
    Location:
    DE/NL/FR
    Has anyone else seen what 2K has done to Mafia II?
    It's sold by 5 different retailers, and each retailer has another extra bonus.
    That's scary.
    I don't expect anything good for Civ5.
    :vomit:
     
  3. phungus420

    phungus420 Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    6,296
    It's certainly true that it could be coded to work properly for modular loading and DLC. But keep in mind there is the wider concept of forbidding fan made content that competes with the marketed DLC. This is one of the main concerns I have, it's also unprecedented; usually developers look at modding as an asset, as it increases name recognition and content and demand of the product. By putting themselves in direct competition with fans they are harming the long term viability of Civ5.
     
  4. Shurdus

    Shurdus Am I Napoleon?

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2004
    Messages:
    2,301
    Location:
    Settle in place
    Hold your horses here. They added a bonus civ for the people willing to buy some special edition of the game. This is not exactly the same as saying that they will add endless streams of DLC and that they will make countermeasures to ensure that you cannot mod the content that they added as bonus content. You think five steps ahead of what may happen - which is not bad at all - but then you jump to conslusions that are five steps ahead too. Let us see what will happen before we worry about it too much.
     
  5. phungus420

    phungus420 Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    6,296
    With all due respect sir, my concern is 1 step ahead, and it is a reasonable and valid one; prefectly in line with the direction the franchise is moving. How is Firaxis/2K going to adress the differences in versions for modding, multiplayer, GOTM, etc?

    Basically what you're saying is "Don't worry, just trust everything will work out allright." I am more inclined to believe Murphy when it comes to predicting the future then PolleyAnna, because Murphy is usually right, and PolleyAnna seldom is.
     
  6. deanej

    deanej Deity

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Messages:
    4,859
    Location:
    New York State
    Perhaps we should look at the example of Cities XL. The developer (and publisher), Monte Cristo, decided that, instead of giving the community what it wanted (a good solo game with a powerful system for modding), to limit modding so much that even simple texture changes were impossible and instead release DLC for those that paid monthly to be a part of the MMO Planet Offer. To make a long story short, Monte Cristo is no longer in business.
     
  7. Yakk

    Yakk Cheftan

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,288
    Sure, there are problems with art assets in Civ4. But other than that, Civ4 has perfect modular addition of things like UUs.

    The modular art asset problem is just a screwup in the Civ4 engine.

    There is nothing fundamentally difficult here.
     
  8. Oishi

    Oishi Warlord

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    201
    Location:
    M.M., PH
    Not to mention that CitiesXL is very buggy and a mosh pit of unfinished codes. I can't even get past the loading screen and the menu seems pretty alien in language. It could have been a great game, but alas, out of all choices they made the most stupid one. I'd really hate to see this happening in Civ5.
     
  9. phungus420

    phungus420 Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    6,296
    Bull.

    Everytime you add a new class object for most of the existing classes you throw off the array size for multiple arrays that check buildings and leaders etc. Are you telling me Civ5 isn't going to define the number of building and leader types at runtime? What will these be hardcoded at compile time? Without specifically defining the list sizes for certain objects we will run into all sorts of problems.

    Look if you sit down and think about it, it's theoretically possible to code. That does not mean it is practical to code, or that it is a good use of time.
     
  10. Yakk

    Yakk Cheftan

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,288
    Huh?

    No really. Huh?

    What game are you talking about? I'm seriously confused what in the world you are going on about. And I'm a computer programmer who has hacked at the Civ4 DLL and made changes to how it works.

    I'll repeat. What are you going on about? It doesn't seem to make any sense to me.

    Are you saying that at some point, Civ5 loads the XML data about things into arrays? I don't see how this has to do with the problem: at worst, you won't be able to play a game with someone else who isn't playing with the same settings as you (but that isn't new).

    Adding a new civ/etc is a simple drop in. Nobody should ever use the offsets into wherever the civ is stored at anything other than an in-game generated dynamic value. So adding a new civ might make the game save-game incompatible, but otherwise not pose a problem. (And even that can be fixed by using some kind of unique ID, and not serializing array offsets but instead serializing those uids).

    I'm seriously confused what problem you are talking about. It isn't as if the XML data files refer to "entry number 5 in the list of civilizations" anywhere. And the problem with modular things like civilisations is all about that problem.

    Graphics wise, there is a bunch of "entry number 5" problems, but that is because the civ4 graphics modular engine is crap, as I mentioned in the previous post. Fixing this is not fundamentally difficult: it was fixed for non-graphics entries, and nothing about the graphics entries is very different.
     
  11. Roman Emperor

    Roman Emperor Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2005
    Messages:
    38
    Location:
    San Marcos,Texas
    I've bought Civ III and Civ IV special editions, and will be buying Civ V special edition. I've been a big fan of Civ since Civ III and will continue playing, for a long time. Now I might not agree with some of the things they do but that's going to be with any company. As for this incarnation of Civilization the only thing I am going to be worry about is the internet connection, to register the game to be able to play, as I do not have one at the moment.:(
     
  12. Rusty Edge

    Rusty Edge Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    Messages:
    2,895
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Cheeseland
    Since you are in America perhaps you could get an AOL free trial and open a dial-up account long enough to register and get the first patch?
     
  13. deanej

    deanej Deity

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Messages:
    4,859
    Location:
    New York State
    If the patches are the same size as the ones for BtS, you won't be able to get them on a dial up connection.
     
  14. Rusty Edge

    Rusty Edge Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    Messages:
    2,895
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Cheeseland
    That's unfortunate. I recall my days of inadequate internet not too fondly. Hopefully the packaging will say "Requires HIGH SPEED internet connection "
     
  15. civ_king

    civ_king Deus Caritas Est

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Messages:
    16,368
    wait, how long does a 100 Megabyte file take to download?
    100•1024=102400•8=819,200kbs÷40kbs=20,480 seconds÷341.3 minutes÷60=5.68 hours, ouch... sounds like all night
     
  16. Sterf

    Sterf Warlord

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    150
    Location:
    Belgium
    On my 34mbs connection (which isn't the hottest or newest or anything) it takes 23 seconds. Don't assume everyone has a connection comparable with those of the early nineties. Do you need minutes just to refresh a thread?
     
  17. tom2050

    tom2050 Deity

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Messages:
    5,516
    Dev's already stated adding a leaderhead will be worse than going to hell for a month. So, if we believe the dev's statement, adding a leaderhead for a new civ's won't be 'easy' at all.
     
  18. Tylerryan79

    Tylerryan79 Emperor

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,091
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    So why are they saying it will be "unprecedented modding"? I loved dl all the different civs everyone made, and was looking forward to all the different ones everyone would make. That statement they made origanally made me think, "hey, even i can give it a shot". Now im just hoping ill have good mods to download.
     
  19. tom2050

    tom2050 Deity

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Messages:
    5,516
    Sure, it will be unprecendented, but it won't be easy (for leaderheads, according to them). Their words were 'difficult and complex' IIRC. And that is from a programmer's perspective. Average joe wouldn't have a clue what to do.
     
  20. Insanity_X

    Insanity_X Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Messages:
    230
    I'm going to assume that some clever dick will work out a way to put up leaderheads that aren't moving, talking or otherwise damn near impossible to code, and share his findings with the community leading to worse leaderheads that are possible to code for the average Joe.

    ANd as for the DRM, I don't care if it's tyranical or the start of a slippery slope for the franchise. If you don't like the idea it then dont buy it and register your disaproval with your cash. Personally, I'm going to shell out the extra money and not feel ripped off. I want to have the bonus features, regardless of whether or not they matter to the core game.
     

Share This Page