1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

2nd UU and 2nd UB for DoC

Discussion in 'Rhye's and Fall - Dawn of Civilization' started by merijn_v1, Feb 26, 2012.

  1. Xfactor

    Xfactor Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2014
    Messages:
    90
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    On a blue rock
    i guess i did something wrong with the instalation , but can someone walk me with baby steps through it ?

    I tried to instal it as it said, every UU and UB shows in the loading screen, but when i start a game the moment it loads it skips to technology advisor ? and then the game ends with a black screen and you have been defeted. :confused:


    Edit: Nevermind, i actually made it work somehow , dont really know what i did.
     
  2. Mingyi Zhao

    Mingyi Zhao Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Do you think it good for German UB like this:
    Technische Hochschule,replace university, providing one extra engineer?
    Here are 2 reasons.
    First, Germans industrialized rapidly.Before 1870 they have founded a lot of THs.
    Second,the free specialist can be helpful with Uhv1 and the three basic hammers can help producing more units for the conquer.
     
  3. Ani Taneen

    Ani Taneen Warlord

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2015
    Messages:
    277
    Having a similar problem. Except when the game plays out there is no UI, so I can't, for example, see the city screens and choose production.

    When updating to SVN there where two python folders in conflict
    Resources.py

    and

    RiseAndFall.py

    As a result SVN keeps both the 955 version and the current 999 version.

    Suggestions?
     
  4. Xfactor

    Xfactor Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2014
    Messages:
    90
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    On a blue rock
    as far as i remember what i did step by step

    Copied the whole RFC folder as a back copy in my desktop.

    Instaled the mod without returning to revision whatever it was becouse i dont know how, and my SVN didnt have such option.

    When i put the mod stuff in Assetes as i remember everything worked ( it replaced the needed assets in the folder without problems) , started game then the whole problem with the black screen occured.

    Then i think i just returned the whole folder that i initially copied to my desktop to revert the changes from the 2nd UU UB mod becouse i just had given up on it

    And then it worked ? Thats what i remember doing. idk if this was exactly what i did tbh, but the mod works till today even tho i updated the SVN which i tough will erase the mod but it doesnt. I also vaguely remember trying to update SVN or something which the same problem as you happened (coflicts with some files) but even tho the initial desktop folder fixed everything for me....
     
  5. Ani Taneen

    Ani Taneen Warlord

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2015
    Messages:
    277
    I resolved it! Thank you very much

     
  6. merijn_v1

    merijn_v1 Black Belt

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    5,856
    Location:
    The city of the original vlaai
    It seems the latest SVN updates by Leoreth caused some file to conflict. I'm planning to update the modcomp when v1.13 is released. These problems will be addressed as well.

    The solution of Ani Taneen might work. (I didn't check it myself). That does mean however that you play with an old version of that file. So you don't have the latest updates by Leoreth. (Like the updated spawn units of Persia)
     
  7. Ani Taneen

    Ani Taneen Warlord

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2015
    Messages:
    277
    I did notice that my mongol game started with bombards and not siege engineers.
     
  8. Xfactor

    Xfactor Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2014
    Messages:
    90
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    On a blue rock
    yeah the units that are pre placed for example on start , are not replaced by the second UU for example, but buildings that are converted on city flip are
     
  9. Ani Taneen

    Ani Taneen Warlord

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2015
    Messages:
    277
    Looking at the Americans, I feel that there is a building that would make more sense for a UB.

    Public Transportation

    Let's face it, with the exception of the Metropolitan area of New york, American cities did not develop the kind of mass transit that we see in Germany or China. There is an awkward feeling at building public transits all over North America to offset those industrial plants.

    Here are two options I Propose:

    1) Transcontinental Station
    Req: Rail Road
    +2:health: from Cattle
    +2:gold: From :traderoute: with Capital
    +2:hammers: with Capitalism or Industrialization

    2) Highway Authority
    Req: Combustion and Industrialism
    +1:health:
    +1:health:, +1:gold: From Oil
    Cottages, Hamlets, and Villages with roads or railroads grow in half the speed when worked on by this city.
    +2:health:, +2:science: with Public Welfare
     
  10. Genghis Khaiser

    Genghis Khaiser Prince

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    Messages:
    593
    Probably it was mostly because of Japan's massive modification that this pack is not compatible. Looking forward for both this to be added to the main RFCDOC pack, and the 1.13 patch to be released.

    In the meantime, I will have to reluctantly play one UU and one UB like it is traditionally done.
     
  11. Xfactor

    Xfactor Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2014
    Messages:
    90
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    On a blue rock
    any info on when will this mod be updated to match 1.13 version?
     
  12. merijn_v1

    merijn_v1 Black Belt

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    5,856
    Location:
    The city of the original vlaai
    Soon after v1.13 is released. The new git allows me to create a fork for this modcomp, which should make it easier to sync this modcomp with the main mod. But I'm still not completely familiar with git.
     
  13. Leoreth

    Leoreth Prince of Blood Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    34,866
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    House of Hades
    Running git merge every once in a while should keep you up to date.
     
  14. merijn_v1

    merijn_v1 Black Belt

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    5,856
    Location:
    The city of the original vlaai
    I figured out how I can keep this modcomp in sync with the main mod.

    Optional.
    You can create a seperate branch which contains the 2nd UU/UB modcomp. This allows you to quickly switch between the regular mod and my modcomp. (I recommend it)
    Spoiler :
    Step 1. Right click on the mod folder --> Create branch
    Step 2. Give it a nice name (like "2nd UU/UB") and click ok.

    Now, a new branch is created, but you are still in the main version. You can switch between branches with Right-click --> Switch/checkout. Select the branch you want to be in and click ok. With this command, you can switch between the main branch, which is DoC without the modcomp, and the new branch which does contain this modcomp.

    Make sure you are in the right branch before you pull my changes. ;)

    Small note: If you update 1 branch, the other one isn't updated automatically. If you switch between your branches, you need to do a pull afterwards to get the latest updates merged into that branch.


    Step 1. Right click on the mod folder --> pull
    Step 2. Click on "Manage remotes". (Red arrow)
    Step 3. Fill in: Remote: xxx (give it a nice name, like "2nd UU/UB"), URL: "http://github.com/MeuhV1/Dawn-of-Civilization", set tag to "reachable".
    Step 4. Save the remote and click ok.
    Step 5. Set Remote to the remote you created in step 3 and set Remote Branch to "2ndUUB" (It must be this name) and click ok.
    Now you will pull my changes to your mod.

    To get further updates:
    If you want to get new updates by Leoreth, do a pull just like you are used to do. Just make sure you have Remote set to "origin" and branch to "develop". If you want to pull my updates from this modcomp (won't happen very often), do a pull with Remote set to "2ndUUB" (the name you selected in step 3) and Branch to "2ndUUB".

     

    Attached Files:

  15. Genghis Khaiser

    Genghis Khaiser Prince

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    Messages:
    593
    What do you mean with "Step 1. Right click on the mod folder --> pull"?
     
  16. merijn_v1

    merijn_v1 Black Belt

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    5,856
    Location:
    The city of the original vlaai
    It only works if you have git. Then it's the same as any regular pull.
     
  17. merijn_v1

    merijn_v1 Black Belt

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    5,856
    Location:
    The city of the original vlaai
    I finally got around doing something again for this modcomp. However, it will take some time before this modcomp will be available again. DoC has been greatly improved since I last worked on it. It will require some time to catch up.

    I decided that recreating this modcomp from scratch is the easiest way to get my work updated. Especially some updates by Sgt. Bears are easier copied than incorporated. The new units/buildings will remain the same, but I have to code them in the "new XML system".

    Another thing that changed in the meantime is that DoC moved to Git, so obviously this modcomp will to. I'm fairly sure that keeping this modcomp in sync with regular DoC is a lot easier with the branching system. It also allows me to get rid of some modular things, which should result in a more "smooth" incorporation of this modcomp into the mod. I also think it will be possible to make this modcomp a regular download, so you don't need Git to use this modcomp.
     
  18. Ani Taneen

    Ani Taneen Warlord

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2015
    Messages:
    277
    YAY!!!

    I'm so happy to hear this!

     
  19. AtlantaMarty

    AtlantaMarty No longer active

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2013
    Messages:
    835
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    There's no reason for me to stay here
    Is there any chance of this being merged into the main DoC?
     
  20. Imp. Knoedel

    Imp. Knoedel Simperator Knoedel

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011
    Messages:
    8,783
    Location:
    The cooler Germany
    Yes, right after Dawn of Knoedel. :p
     

Share This Page