1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

An update from Firaxis about the Colonization patch

Discussion in 'Civ4Col - General Discussions' started by PeteMurray, Feb 13, 2009.

  1. ori

    ori Repair Guy Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2005
    Messages:
    16,561
    Location:
    Baden-Württemberg, Germany
  2. lordofcivs

    lordofcivs Lord of The Civilizations

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2005
    Messages:
    169
    Location:
    Civland
    Civilization IV: Colonization Patch 1.01 is up on the official website.
     
  3. NikNak

    NikNak Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Messages:
    255
    Location:
    Lakewood, WA
    Sweet! Thanks. :D
     
  4. kaibayashi

    kaibayashi Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Messages:
    264
    Sounds a bit like patchmod/aod1.0-1 to me... think ill stick with Dale til firaxis catch up!
     
  5. Labrat19

    Labrat19 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Don't install the patch if you also want to play AoD2 1.07. At least, for me, once I installed the patch I got a ctd each time I would start a new game in AoD2. It would start to generate the map and boom...
     
  6. Dale

    Dale Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2002
    Messages:
    7,018
    AOD2 is NOT compatible with this patch.

    Though, the list of fixes is consistent with PatchMod, so if you only play AOD2 wait for me to update. :)
     
  7. PiMan

    PiMan Emperor

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,990
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    I just found a bug in the original that is a little ironic. "Check for updates" doesn't find the update.
     
  8. Curious142

    Curious142 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2004
    Messages:
    16
    Location:
    Colorado
    That's ironic to say the least. And on top of that when I download the patch file from Firaxis and try to install it I get the error message "The setup has detected that no version of Sid Meier's Civilization IV Colonization is installed. This update requires that a previous version of the application be installed." It is installed and I've been playing it. I uninstalled and reinstalled it and still got the same error message (but I could still play the game -- ver 1.00). I originally downloaded the game from GameStop and have had no trouble playing the game since then. For some reason the patch doesn't recognize the GameStop download version of the game. Does anyone have a clue about how to get the patch to install? Thanks for any help.

    CB
     
  9. player1 fanatic

    player1 fanatic Fanatic

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2002
    Messages:
    2,639
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Belgrade, Serbia
    Hmm... This does explain a few things.

    So overeducating in single town makes education go slower in that town only, thus encouraging school building in other towns, or at least balanced education in most towns.


    It's pity that this patch got that late, when interest in this game diminished (mostly due to issues already fixed in patch).
     
  10. dalgo

    dalgo Emperor

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,425
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    'as intended' - yes I noticed that too. This single point caused a huge amount of acrimonious debate that could have been easily avoided by someone saying 'Oops, got that wrong, will be fixed in the patch' - like 6 mths ago.
     
  11. player1 fanatic

    player1 fanatic Fanatic

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2002
    Messages:
    2,639
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Belgrade, Serbia
    Btw, that's already how it worked for Indian villages.
     
  12. lordofcivs

    lordofcivs Lord of The Civilizations

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2005
    Messages:
    169
    Location:
    Civland
    Late, but not bad. At least they did something to improve (by thanking Dale and Snoopy). Well, most of us had been playing and enjoying AOD2. But still, I'm one of those people who always care for the 'Original' stuff, no matter how bad it is.

    The reason Firaxis got lazy in case of 'Colonization' resulted in almost a failure for this game. I mean, money is important. But from marketing point-of-view, more important than how many games are sold is that, how many customers got satisfied. And in case of 'Colonization', I don't think there was even a reasonable percentage of people who bought this game. What 'Dale' and 'Snoopy' were doing, can be just said as 'they were saving 'Firaxis' asses. Just a simple 'Thanks' is not enough for that.

    'Dissatisfied customers' is the biggest problem any company should have in current highly competitive market. It should never be taken easy. I'm writing all this just because I love all the games by the name 'Sid' on them. I believe many others in this forum do that as well. But this can not remain same always. We can find many big companies of the past got corrupted just because of mishandling their customers. I hope 'Firaxis' look that out.
     
  13. JonathanStrange

    JonathanStrange PrinceWithA1000Enemies

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2005
    Messages:
    1,306
    Location:
    TThe Dreaming
    The patch will, one hopes, persuade a new round of gamers to take the plunge. It's inspired me. I was reluctant as too many fans of the game were lukewarm about the game and if the enthusiasts aren't enthusiastic, then...
     
  14. Keeshi

    Keeshi Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    Messages:
    60
    can't wait to see.
     
  15. Netich

    Netich Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2005
    Messages:
    31
    So can you trade a variable quantity of goods, or its the same all or nothing?
     
  16. lordofcivs

    lordofcivs Lord of The Civilizations

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2005
    Messages:
    169
    Location:
    Civland
    It's the same. :shifty:

    Somethings never change so easily. :spear:
     
  17. The Rusty Gamer

    The Rusty Gamer Prince

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2001
    Messages:
    497
    Location:
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    Looks like they stole a lot from Dale and Snoopy.

    Will there be a new patchmod to fill in anything missing?
     
  18. Dale

    Dale Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2002
    Messages:
    7,018
    Only AoD2. It was a lot of work doing 3 mods after release. I'm working on other projects now, so only have time for 1 Col mod. And of course, I'm going to pick AoD2. :)
     
  19. dalgo

    dalgo Emperor

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,425
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    I can confirm this change. I declared war on England in 1600 and sent twice my usual assault force - 12 units in two galleons supported by a privateer. The English trumped that, Jamestown was defended by 13 units (including 9 dragoons) and a frigate. :(
     
  20. V. Soma

    V. Soma long time civ fan

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    3,877
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Hungary
    Hi, Dale!

    Khm, err... is that by chance a super top secret thing,
    related to something called Civi... ending with a number
    more than 4 and less than 6...? ;)
     

Share This Page