1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Australian Summer Patch discussion thread

Discussion in 'Civ6 - General Discussions' started by Cerilis, Feb 23, 2017.

  1. bladex

    bladex Emperor

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,358
    took them long enough for the workshop. but so far what i can see there are better mods here :lol:
     
  2. player1 fanatic

    player1 fanatic Fanatic

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2002
    Messages:
    2,638
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Belgrade, Serbia
    I doubt lack of encampment will give old units. There is a reason why strategic resources are moved tech earlier.
    Still, if anyone confirms how it works, please post here.
     
    nzcamel likes this.
  3. upi00r

    upi00r Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2016
    Messages:
    183
    Gender:
    Male
    They did not update OST... again :/
     
  4. Jazzmanowar

    Jazzmanowar Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2005
    Messages:
    4
    Barbarian horses seem to be nerfed, but yes Barbarians seem to be yet again more agressive. - good!
     
    Tiger Genocide likes this.
  5. jprc

    jprc My dog is smarter than me

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2006
    Messages:
    492
    Location:
    Mozambique and far-far East
    At 1st, I thought "Great, let's try this new Australian leader..".
    But, no. No one (yet) from this continent when I browse my available leaders.
    All available DLC are activated, and no DLC concerning Australia.

    I guess it will come later, and this heavy patch (+1.5gb?) is mostly about improvements, et prepares the ground for more, at least, it is what a message suggests when I open the game ...
     
  6. Zuizgond

    Zuizgond Prince

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2016
    Messages:
    428
    So nothing about AI combat behaviour?
     
  7. KyivanRusCivPlease

    KyivanRusCivPlease Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2017
    Messages:
    366
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Ukraine
    Now it seems like the last build bug is gonna stay forever with this game. Absurdly no hope left for devs to fix it. Is there a way for a mod to fix it with the new modding tools?
     
    Zuizgond likes this.
  8. Silverdawn

    Silverdawn Prince

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Messages:
    490
    I believe this is new and not in the patch notes. On the tech tree, there now are blue icons with numbers for the techs that give envoys. No icons yet for abilities like embarkation.

    Confirmed several things that have not been improved. Create game doesn't remember settings from previous game. No Hall of Fame.

    The trade deals I've been getting from the AI seem better than in the past.
     
    KyivanRusCivPlease and nzcamel like this.
  9. Mustakrakish

    Mustakrakish In 'Node' We Trust

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    2,520
    Location:
    Grainvillage, Finland
    Like I expected, the patch is underwhelming and did not made me curious to try it out. Hmm I'll look again in a couple of months with the next patch.
     
    Balkans and Zuizgond like this.
  10. ThERat

    ThERat Deity

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Messages:
    11,330
    Location:
    City of one angel
    Just reading the patch notes gives me the impression that they spend way more time on DLCs (and hyping them) than working on the core game. What about the glaring UI issues, the lack of information, the lack of units overall in the game, the flat tech tree. Just tweaking a few numbers here or there won't cut it for me.
    I don't mention the AI as I am sure Firaxis won't be capable to fix it as long as we have 1upt.
     
  11. Art Morte

    Art Morte Prince

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2017
    Messages:
    494
    Gender:
    Male
    This is what interests me the most, too. By far the biggest problem in the game. A more aggressive AI does little good if their combat behaviour remains as bad as it's been.

    Will be able to try a game in a couple of hours. Modest hopes.
     
  12. glaivemaster

    glaivemaster Prince

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Messages:
    458
    Location:
    Lancaster, United Kingdom
    A little more bare than I would have hoped, but changes to the tech tree might have a big impact (struggling to visualise it off the top of my head)

    Either way I'm sure the increased modding tools will more than make up for any shortcomings the official patch has.
     
  13. Janskey

    Janskey Prince

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2014
    Messages:
    354
    Location:
    Finland
    I can't start a new game with the patch. I get a brief glimpse of the starting position and then CTD. Tried verifying game files and reinstalled VC redistributables, but no dice. Old saves load OK and luckily I always create a manual save when starting a new game, so I have a bunch of those. Could someone post a standard sized deity start save with John Curtin as leader, so I could try loading that, please?

    Edit: got one, and it works, just can't create a new game.
     
    Last edited: Feb 25, 2017
  14. Halcyan2

    Halcyan2 Emperor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2012
    Messages:
    1,380
    I agree with you. While Commercials Districts could use a nerf, this mainly just ends up harming Harbors. Between water tiles being weak and Great Admirals being crappy, I would rather have a Commercial District over a Harbor District 90% of the time.


    I am utterly puzzled why they didn't address the "completely skip Medieval era" problem by jumping straight from Shipbuilding to Cartography! :mad:

    Eh, I don't think of it as an exploit. It often results in non-ideal district placement because of the slow cultural border expansion in Civ VI.

    I usually don't place districts early because I would rather wait for the perfect spot!
     
  15. Skulbow

    Skulbow The Lonely Cyclist

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2014
    Messages:
    111
    Gender:
    Male
    Please use some mods if you don't like the way the vanilla game plays. There are now mods in the workshop which fixes that last production message and mods which change the tech tree and mods which improve ai behaviour...you can play a damn good game with a few addons and you still get achievements...too many give up too easy without even checking things.
     
    Tiger Genocide and alpexplorer like this.
  16. Thorburne

    Thorburne Centurion

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,449
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Carney, MD
    Wow... No worldbuilder! That is a kick in the gonads!
     
    MisterBoomBoom and alpexplorer like this.
  17. Katakanja

    Katakanja Emperor

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2016
    Messages:
    1,258
    I had time to play about 100 turns with Aus, so I haven't quite got to the runaway effect you're describing, but I can see it happening. I built two +6 campuses in my first two cities and I'm blasting through the tech tree already. Their bonus coastal housing is deceptively powerful as well, 9 housing in the capital from turn 1 is nuts. My impression is that playing Australia almost feels like dropping a civ that follows Civ V's rules into the game :lol:
     
    Tiger Genocide likes this.
  18. Larsenex

    Larsenex King

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Messages:
    749
    Location:
    Ventura CA
    No DLL for Modding at this time.
     
  19. legalizefreedom

    legalizefreedom Inefficiency Expert

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2013
    Messages:
    556
    Location:
    Texas
    You have GOT to be kidding me!
     
  20. Cymsdale

    Cymsdale Prince

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2005
    Messages:
    397
    Hey now, they are focusing on the important things first. Did you not even notice that AIs will now properly research repeatable techs?
     
    qadams and Flaxton like this.

Share This Page