1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

[BtS] Dales Combat Mod!

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Modpacks' started by Dale, Jan 2, 2008.

  1. hs1611

    hs1611 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2006
    Messages:
    69
    Location:
    36º58'N 25º10'W
    Quick question.

    Is the problem with Traits on the CIV Costumizer fixed?

    Great job, by the way!!
     
  2. avain

    avain (key)

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2006
    Messages:
    2,770
    Location:
    Budapest, EU
    Dale,

    pro primo firstly, I'd like to thank you for the well commented, clean code! (but this you already know)

    pro primo secondly;), I'd hope you'd allow me a small comment:
    Battle Effects - I thought it would be sensible to tie battle effects to modern combat. Or at least to ancient battles of extreme proportions - and then modern battles (or post gunpowder era). The rationale would be that wars really grew up in scale during modern era, and the devastation was major, whilst in ancient era I don't see way would the land smoke after a band of warriors get killed by a wandering warband of archers. If it's a Battle of Thermopylae, then of course, yes!
    Just me 2 cents, and thank you once more for this FANTASTIC mod!
     
  3. Roamty

    Roamty BTS

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2005
    Messages:
    538
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    South Park
    In the field when a ARCHER unit hits a enemy unit there is no message that it miss or hit the unit or if it did damage to the unit when using the Archer Bombard button can you fix this, also when attacking the city. The AI gives no message when attacking with Archer Bombard. What file or files needs to be change to fix this? Thankyou for this great mod.

    Need Feedback for ARCHER unit Archer Bombard

    Three Text errors in the Civ Customiser

    CHANGED_TXT_KEY_UNIT_EXECUTIVE_2

    TXT_KEY_SHIP_OF_THE_LINE

    TXT_KEY_UNIT_GREAT_TYCOON

    Changed to
    TXT_KEY_UNIT_EXECUTIVE_2
    TXT_KEY_UNIT_SHIP_OF_THE_LINE
    TXT_KEY_UNIT_GREAT_MERCHANT
     
  4. ripple01

    ripple01 Emperor

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,253
    Location:
    New York City
    Hi Dale,

    I've integrated v1.3 of your mod into my own, and so far most everything seems to be working great. One problem, however: My catapults do not have any option to bombard AT ALL. My trebuchets and artillery have the ranged bombardment button but no bombard city defenses button. Am I doing something wrong here?

    Thanks for any help.

    ripple01
     
  5. frekk

    frekk Scourge of St. Lawrence

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2003
    Messages:
    3,151
    Location:
    Kingston, Ontario
    I was wondering if there are any plans to expand this mod ... specifically, I was thinking that some changes to forts (like JFortZoc modcomp) should be added.
     
  6. keldath

    keldath LivE LonG AnD PrOsPeR

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2005
    Messages:
    6,764
    Location:
    israel
    ripple01 ,
    hey,

    i had similar problem in privius versions,

    you probably did not merge the xmls right,
    probably the interface files.

    and if some of your units dont have rb option, then either you didnt insert the rbombard xml tag, or again, interface xml files.

    goodluck.
     
  7. ripple01

    ripple01 Emperor

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,253
    Location:
    New York City
    Hmm, I'll take a look over them again. I copied the interface XML file over from Dale's Mod unaltered so I don't think the problem could be there.

    If I turn ranged bombardment off, none of my siege units have the bombard city defenses button.

    Could I have erred in the SDK merging that would result in this happening?

    Cheers,
    ripple01
     
  8. noid

    noid Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Messages:
    117
    Location:
    Poland
    I would like to see a bombing mission that could eleminate population, different bombers would have different chances of eleminating 1 population point. The chances shouldnt be higher then lets say 20-30% at most, so that its not overpowered.

    2nd thing i find missing is a chance modifier that when enemy attacks and destroys my units on a plot with a fort, and his unit enters the plot, the fort might get destroyed. It would symbolize the fort being destryed due to fighting and the defenders abilty to blow up the fort so that it wont get in to enemies hands.
     
  9. cmsfr

    cmsfr Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    thank you dale, your mod is amazing :)
     
  10. Dale

    Dale Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2002
    Messages:
    7,042
    Just so you know, another version is in planning. It'll be a while off yet, but it will include some new stuff never seen before in Civ. :)

    Also, I've worked out why the mod isn't MP compatible, so the next version will allow that. :D
     
  11. jkp1187

    jkp1187 Unindicted Co-Conspirator

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,496
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

    Dare I hope that the next mod might have something to do with naval combat...? Like a 'patrol' order that permits ships to intercept incoming landing craft within a certain range???

    :salute:
     
  12. glider1

    glider1 Deity

    Joined:
    May 29, 2006
    Messages:
    2,875
    Location:
    Where animals hop not run
    Big thanks for the high quality of your mod Dale. You're coding and commenting are first rate. Stack attacks and battle effects are cool indeed. Some of your more "active" turn based concepts with regard to battle like pre-emptive strikes are sure to make it into Civ 5?! Look forward to the next version of this great mod.
     
  13. Ninja2

    Ninja2 Great Engineer

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,142
    Location:
    Denmarkia
    Hi Dale

    I feel obliged to tell you that I've included your mod into another modpack. I hope it's alright with you! :)
     
  14. casnorf

    casnorf Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    It seems to work pretty nicely for us when we play.
     
  15. von Krysiak

    von Krysiak Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    83
    Location:
    Dublin

    I will give your mod a try and if it workswithout CTDs I would say it is going to be an ultimate Civ mod !!!
    Wolfshanze has redesigned modern era units and added a lot to the playbility, and Dale has changed the mechanics and features so if both of them can be combined without any difficulties that would mean that I might be losing a job due to looong sleepless nights spent in front of the computer :crazyeye:

    Thank you everyone for the amazing work put in the creation of the mod!
     
  16. PSYX

    PSYX Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2006
    Messages:
    277
    Location:
    Ukraine
    Dale

    Cool!!! I was succesfully added your mod into my! :)
    All works!

    And I translated your mod into russian;)
     
  17. avain

    avain (key)

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2006
    Messages:
    2,770
    Location:
    Budapest, EU
  18. Echo of Celts

    Echo of Celts Just Plain Crazy

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    Messages:
    143
    Location:
    Vancouver, Canada
    Dale,

    I don't know if this is intentional, but when I use the Building Bombing Mission and Factory Bombing Mission I get +1 Experience each time whether the mission succeeds or fails.

    Also, are archery and ranged bombardment available stand alone? If not how difficult is it to pull them out of DCM. I ask because In my attempts to merge DCM into VDRN I have used the Bombing Mission stand alone and CASA stand alone.
     
  19. Ninja2

    Ninja2 Great Engineer

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,142
    Location:
    Denmarkia
    Question: Have you integrated Bhruic's .dll changes to your .dll?
     
  20. Shqype

    Shqype Shqyptar

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Messages:
    2,468
    Location:
    New York + Shqypni
    How long Dale? Because that sounds really promising.

    Maybe you can tease us and tell us what you're planning? I wanna know the new stuff "never seen before in Civ." :D
     

Share This Page