1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

C2c- Guilds and Corporations Discussion and Ideas

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Caveman 2 Cosmos' started by Azurian, May 4, 2012.

  1. Azurian

    Azurian The Azurian

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,092
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    Thanks, I'm gonna look for Renissance corporations first.
     
  2. Hydromancerx

    Hydromancerx C2C Modder

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    16,281
    Location:
    California, USA
    I don't really know. I have never made/modded a corporation before. I guess you can discover it yourself. You may want to contact vincentz since he made the add-on corporations for AND/RoM.
     
  3. Azurian

    Azurian The Azurian

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,092
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    Removed.
    Adding to Addon.
     
  4. Hydromancerx

    Hydromancerx C2C Modder

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    16,281
    Location:
    California, USA
    We don't have Goats as a resource. Just a building.

    We don't have hops, yeast or thermometers as resources either.
     
  5. Azurian

    Azurian The Azurian

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,092
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    What's the problem, if we don't have it I'll make it.
     
  6. Hydromancerx

    Hydromancerx C2C Modder

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    16,281
    Location:
    California, USA
    Well looks like we have a Goat Farm, but do not have a Hops Farm. Also what buildings should make yeast and thermometers?

    Should a thermometer even be a resource?
     
  7. Azurian

    Azurian The Azurian

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,092
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    Yeast at Bakery.
    Hops at Brewery?
    Thermometer at Chemistry Lab.

    Yes, measuring temperature is one of the standard Units of measurement. I can see about 10 buildings requiring it starting with Weather Station, and Foundry .

    Yes, a Big Yes.

    Thermometer , Calculators, Clocks, Scales, Microscope, Telescope, Kilowatt Meter, Speedometer, Gas Meter, Ruler, Measuring Cup (Classical) , Gauge, Graduated Cylinder (Renassiance) , Protractor, Level, Geiger Counter, Microphone, Polarizer.

    They are a 9/10 in importance for technological advancement.
    What can be more important than instruments of measurement lol.
    This are the basic ones, we don't need the specialized ones.

    Blacksmith should make Scissors, Archimedes Screw, Hammer(Nails are included) , Pickaxe, Cookware (Pots, Pans, Utensils included etc), Pulley, Knife, Rake, Anvil, Spade, Saw, and Shovel.

    I can see buildings before the Blacksmith getting a boost with those bonuses.
     
  8. Hydromancerx

    Hydromancerx C2C Modder

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    16,281
    Location:
    California, USA
    Yeah but most of that stuff are covered in the various wares such as Copper Wares, Iron Wares, Bronze Wares, etc. That way we don't have to name every single tool possible. Just like how Stone Tools and Power Tools are generalized into a single group instead of a Stone Adze or a Power Drill.
     
  9. Azurian

    Azurian The Azurian

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,092
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    I'll add them to Modmod then, Wares is way too generic, I was thinking Pulley can add +1 :hammers: to Farms, Shovel +1 :food: to Crops, Pickaxe + 1 :hammers: to early mines etc. Those are the standard tools in Runescape.

    . Are you going to add thermometers and the measuring instruments?
     
  10. Thunderbrd

    Thunderbrd C2C War Dog

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    27,891
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    MrAzure: I'm definitely going to want your help with equipment when we get to developing that. I think general tool categorizations outside of some very key tools like hammers, shovels etc would be useful. Wares is too generic, yes, but an awl might be too specific. Though I suppose it could be useful for modifying the tanning worker buildings, required for cobbler etc...

    The point is don't make things too specific where tools are concerned. There are a LOT of tools the human race have developed and it could be hell managing them all as resources. But tools can also become useful equipments so we might want to start thinking about them in more specific terms than we have so far.
     
  11. Azurian

    Azurian The Azurian

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,092
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    Removed.
    Adding to Addon
     
  12. Hydromancerx

    Hydromancerx C2C Modder

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    16,281
    Location:
    California, USA
    Wouldn't it be better at the Microbiology Lab? But I think your thinking backwards. A Microscope would need some sort of crafter or factory to make it. And then give a bonus or be a requirement for say a microbiology lab.
     
  13. Azurian

    Azurian The Azurian

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,092
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    Thunderbrd, my only issue is that Tools would create a alot of crafter buildings and I don't like that. and I recommend that the bulk of Tools be enabled by a collective building. We can require the raw materials for the building and have them enable the tools.

    Handyman
    Blacksmith
    Instrumenteer
    Mechanic
    Inventor
    Machinest
    Engineer
    Hardware Store
    Electronics Retailer
    Augmented Equipment Retailer
    Bioenhancement Center



    Specialty Tools like Paintbrush, Geiger Counter, Ballpoint Pen and Thermometer can be unlocked by a building that uses that tool in their trade.
     
  14. Hydromancerx

    Hydromancerx C2C Modder

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    16,281
    Location:
    California, USA
    Handyman
    Blacksmith = We have tons of "smiths" including an "Ironsmith"
    Mechanic = We have an Auto Repair Shop
    Instrumenteer
    Inventor = We have an Inventors Workshop
    Machinest
    Engineer = We have an Engineers School
    Hardware Store = We have a Farm Supply Store however I think this would be good. I will try to post up stome stat for this in the building thread.
    Electronics Retailer = We ahve an Electronics Store
    Augmented Equipment Retailer
    Bioenhancement Center = Don't we have this?
     
  15. Azurian

    Azurian The Azurian

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,092
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    What? I never said we didn't have some of them I was making a list of what buildings would enable the bulk of Tools.

    Mechanic as in someone who works with Mechanical devices. (gears), why did you think Auto Body Shop?

    Engineer as in someone who is an Electrical /Civil / Thermodynamics /Chemical /Metallurgy Engineer.
     
  16. Hydromancerx

    Hydromancerx C2C Modder

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    16,281
    Location:
    California, USA
    Do you think these should be Specialists for the city instead?
     
  17. Azurian

    Azurian The Azurian

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,092
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    Removed.
    Adding to Addon.
     
  18. Yudishtira

    Yudishtira Spiritual/Creative

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    Messages:
    2,772
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Ever since Prehistoric we have been making tools, which have been enabling or giving bonuses to buildings/improvements/units etc. All (okay mostly) without them needing to be represented as a Resource. Why can't we keep doing that in later eras? If you have a wheelwright and a ropemaker, you can be assumed to have pulleys. If you don't like that because pulleys had to be invented, then you give the bonus from pulleys when you get the requisite tech (assuming you've got the wheelwright & ropemaker). When it is something very specialized to make and requiring lots of materials (like a thermometer or a microscope), you would have a building that produces the bonus(es), but a generic Scientific Equipment Factory is as far as you need go - anything more specific is clutter imo.

    I don't see why even Rope, Sails, Clothing, Hats (etc. etc.) needed to be resources. I suppose some of these can in theory be traded (not in practice because no AI will pay for them, and if they have spare they even give them away for free). It would be consistent with these to have a few resources with names like "Tools - Ancient" or maybe even "Tools, Agricultural - Ancient". But please nothing more specific. If you still think a resource "Thermometers" (etc. etc.) is needed, please please tell me why...:)
     
  19. Azurian

    Azurian The Azurian

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,092
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    Well, to me the Thermometer represents the measurement of temperature.

    The resource is there to give a boost in stats for buildings that are more efficient when thermometers are used (measurement of temperature), but that existed before thermometers were invented .


    Bakery /Cooking
    +1 food or +1 culture with Thermometer

    Medicine
    -1 disease with Thermometer

    Weather
    +1 science with Thermometer

    Metallurgy
    +1 production with Thermometer

    For buildings that existed after Thermometer, the resource won't be required for many since it became mainstream everywhere.
     
  20. Yudishtira

    Yudishtira Spiritual/Creative

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    Messages:
    2,772
    Location:
    Brisbane
    I'm saying it does not have to be a resource to give bonuses. The Stone Tool Maker doesn't give any resource, but it certainly gives bonuses. Of course we understand it to create stone tools, but there is no need for them to be represented as a resource.

    To give bonuses is not a sufficient reason to make a resource, which leaves Thermometers without a reason to exist as one...

    Face it, there are probably thousands of manufactured goods as significant as Thermometers. It is simply not possible to represent them all as resources, nor is there any need to. You have one Industrial-era factory for "instruments (scientific)", and when you have all the techs necessary to invent and make thermometers, that building is assumed to make them, and you get all the bonuses that thermometers give.
     

Share This Page