1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Computer Questions Not Worth Their Own Thread II

Discussion in 'Computer Talk' started by Methos, Oct 7, 2009.

  1. Padma

    Padma the Inbond Administrator Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2001
    Messages:
    14,410
    Location:
    Omaha, Nebraska USA
    The disk itself, inside the hard plastic case, is still "floppy", as it's just a thin plastic(?) sheet, as compared to the metal platters in a "hard" drive.

    ;)
     
  2. aimeeandbeatles

    aimeeandbeatles watermelon

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Messages:
    19,950
    Gender:
    Female
    Yes, I know that. I opened up a floppy disk when I was younger to see what was inside.
     
  3. kulade

    kulade Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2003
    Messages:
    4,545
    Hi guys.

    I'm kind of confused about how briefcases work in xp. Is there a way I can have a briefcase on an external drive that synchronizes with my laptop and desktop when attached?
     
  4. Ulyaoth

    Ulyaoth Emperor

    Joined:
    May 4, 2003
    Messages:
    1,679
    Location:
    Long Island
    Does 64 bit actually do anything now? I mean I know you need it to get full use of your RAM if you have over 2gb, but any other purpose? I've been thinking of getting that Windows 7 that they're selling to students for $30, but not exactly sure on what the point is, I have to check if they're offering 64 bit versions anyway.
     
  5. aimeeandbeatles

    aimeeandbeatles watermelon

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Messages:
    19,950
    Gender:
    Female
    I have this weird scrolly thing on the left of my keyboard that changes color. As far as I'm aware, it doesn't do anything, though probably to do with drivers. Any idea what it might actually be?

    Not volume control, thats another section of my keyboard (which does work, I found out the hard way)

    There's this weird light with the scroll/caps/num lock, which looks like puzzle pieces. When it's activated, the print screen doesn't work (which can be annoying because when I first boot up its activated). What is it?

    Also: I don't know the brand of keyboard. The name at the top was rubbed out somehow. I think I see the word "smart" but that could mean anything.
     
  6. Cutlass

    Cutlass The Man Who Wasn't There.

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Messages:
    46,907
    Location:
    US of A
    Turn the keyboard over and see if there is a make and model number. Then google it.
     
  7. aimeeandbeatles

    aimeeandbeatles watermelon

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Messages:
    19,950
    Gender:
    Female
    I don't see anything about that. I see something about repetitive strain injury and something about the FCC and "Made in China" but nothing else.
     
  8. Cutlass

    Cutlass The Man Who Wasn't There.

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Messages:
    46,907
    Location:
    US of A
    That's odd. The information is usually there someplace.
     
  9. aimeeandbeatles

    aimeeandbeatles watermelon

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Messages:
    19,950
    Gender:
    Female
    Why are there six ffmpeg icons in the system tray? I have only one video program open. Half of them are audio and half video. I checked the task manager and theres no other programs open.
     
  10. Genocidicbunny

    Genocidicbunny Bug squasher

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,473
    Location:
    Orange Town
    Try running your mouse over them. Im betting 4/6 will dissappear.
     
  11. aimeeandbeatles

    aimeeandbeatles watermelon

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Messages:
    19,950
    Gender:
    Female
    Just tried. 2 of them disappeared.
     
  12. Cutlass

    Cutlass The Man Who Wasn't There.

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Messages:
    46,907
    Location:
    US of A
    Right click and delete the others.
     
  13. aimeeandbeatles

    aimeeandbeatles watermelon

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Messages:
    19,950
    Gender:
    Female
    Well, when I did right-click, I got this menu going up the entire screen. And I wasn't sure where the delete/quit/whatever button was.
     
  14. Genocidicbunny

    Genocidicbunny Bug squasher

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,473
    Location:
    Orange Town
    Wait, why do you care if these icons are there?

    Wanna completely get rid of them? Reboot. otherwise, faggetaboutit.
     
  15. aimeeandbeatles

    aimeeandbeatles watermelon

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Messages:
    19,950
    Gender:
    Female
    Well, I was wondering why there were so many of them.

    Also, are these prices ok? Local store, and I'm not going for those huge, huge ones. My printer's not the best for photos (i tried it before). Reason asking, my uncle's dog is dying and I took a couple pictures before and want to frame one for him.
    http://www.carsand.com/online_photo_prints.html
     
  16. Genocidicbunny

    Genocidicbunny Bug squasher

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,473
    Location:
    Orange Town
    Go to your local print shop and have them print the picture for you. They will do a better job than you ever could.
     
  17. aimeeandbeatles

    aimeeandbeatles watermelon

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Messages:
    19,950
    Gender:
    Female
    It is the local print shop. LOL, I was asking if the prints were an ok price.
     
  18. Genocidicbunny

    Genocidicbunny Bug squasher

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,473
    Location:
    Orange Town
    D'oh, thats what I get for not reading posts completely. Thought you were asking which printer will give you a better quality for some reason.

    Yeah, those prices seem reasonable enough.
     
  19. aimeeandbeatles

    aimeeandbeatles watermelon

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Messages:
    19,950
    Gender:
    Female
    I can't find safe mode on my computer. At beginning, BIOS says to press ESC or ENTER. Nothing about F8.

    ESC leads to a list of bootable hardware, ENTER doesn't do anything (it's the broken recovery partition I think).

    Did I miss something here?
     
  20. Genocidicbunny

    Genocidicbunny Bug squasher

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,473
    Location:
    Orange Town
    Safe Mode is not a hardware built-in. BIOS and Safe Mode arent related at all. The option to boot into Safe Mode comes up once Windows actually starts loading, which is just after POST
     

Share This Page