1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Computer Questions Not Worth Their Own Thread II

Discussion in 'Computer Talk' started by Methos, Oct 7, 2009.

  1. Genocidicbunny

    Genocidicbunny Bug squasher

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,473
    Location:
    Orange Town
    I ran that after I removed K-Lite and it said I had no Codec Packs installed.
    It worked fine on this pc before, and it worked on my laptop just fine as well, so it wasnt the file.
     
  2. aimeeandbeatles

    aimeeandbeatles watermelon

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Messages:
    16,120
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    Hmm, maybe it got corrupted somehow. But that wouldn't explain why it worked with the other codec
     
  3. aimeeandbeatles

    aimeeandbeatles watermelon

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Messages:
    16,120
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    OK, Windows 7 is on sale at Staples. I *might* be able to talk mom into it. Should I?
     
  4. Zelig

    Zelig Beep Boop

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    15,867
    Location:
    Canada
    No, you should not.
     
  5. aimeeandbeatles

    aimeeandbeatles watermelon

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Messages:
    16,120
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    Any specific reasons, or just feeling contary?
     
  6. Zelig

    Zelig Beep Boop

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    15,867
    Location:
    Canada
    From what I've gathered, you have far more important things to spend your money on than computer software (or hardware).
     
  7. Genocidicbunny

    Genocidicbunny Bug squasher

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,473
    Location:
    Orange Town
    Considering you can still get your hands on the beta, and get a legal key for it ( as far as I know)

    And yes, unless Vista is horribly, horribly broken for you, to the point of not being able to use your computer, dont even think about getting 7.
     
  8. Fetus4188

    Fetus4188 Deity

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2004
    Messages:
    3,629
    Location:
    Livermore, CA
    Actually you can't get the RC download or a key anymore, legitimately, unless you already got it previously.
     
  9. Genocidicbunny

    Genocidicbunny Bug squasher

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,473
    Location:
    Orange Town
    EDIT -- doh, its Oct 22, so yeah, they just stopped allowing RC keys. Well, if you didnt get your copy of a key by now, what rock have you been under for the last year?
     
  10. aimeeandbeatles

    aimeeandbeatles watermelon

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Messages:
    16,120
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    Well the main thing is, that I'll most likely be getting it eventually, but should I wait?
     
  11. aimeeandbeatles

    aimeeandbeatles watermelon

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Messages:
    16,120
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    Question: Suppose you just visit the Pirate Bay (e.g. to read about the trial) without downloading anything. Can you get in trouble for that, or only if you download?
     
  12. Zelig

    Zelig Beep Boop

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    15,867
    Location:
    Canada
    Yes, wait until it comes with a computer you buy.
     
  13. aimeeandbeatles

    aimeeandbeatles watermelon

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Messages:
    16,120
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    OK, suppose you have a partially corrupted image that is openable in IrfanView or something. It's only corrupted at the very bottom and not worth deleting, yet a lot of programs refuse to use it. If you can't open it in image editors, how do you "trim" off the bad part?

    I did try making screencap but there's probably a better way thst I haven't thought of.

    EDIT: Also can't find image online.

    ANOTHER EDIT: I did google it, there was a site that looked useful but when I opened it I got a bunch of garbled characters. (At least I did find something, although ... well you get the idea.)
     
  14. Till

    Till Adventurer

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2005
    Messages:
    4,170
    Location:
    Background Noise
    If you can open it in irfanview, you can crop it there and save it as a new image...
    Make a selection with the mouse -> Edit->Crop

    The other alternative is to familiarize yourself with the image format and edit out the bad parts with a hex editor.
     
  15. aimeeandbeatles

    aimeeandbeatles watermelon

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Messages:
    16,120
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    I never thought of doing that in Irfanview, thanks.
     
  16. PlutonianEmpire

    PlutonianEmpire Socially Awkward Goofball

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2004
    Messages:
    4,775
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MinneSNOWta
    where can I find a random (american) football game score generator?
     
  17. CivOtaku

    CivOtaku Salmiac lover

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    182
    Location:
    Satakunta, Finland
    All right, I'm back from Estonia. I just bought a Finnish computer magazine, with a cd that has mediamonkey on it. Does anyone have any experience of it?
     
  18. aimeeandbeatles

    aimeeandbeatles watermelon

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Messages:
    16,120
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    Silly question: I have Upgrade version of Vista. Is it possible to "upgrade" from the same OS you're on? I mean to make it go to the Windows.old folder.
     
  19. PlutonianEmpire

    PlutonianEmpire Socially Awkward Goofball

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2004
    Messages:
    4,775
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MinneSNOWta
    Can Microsoft Flight Simulator 2004 run on Vista 64 bit?
     
  20. Genocidicbunny

    Genocidicbunny Bug squasher

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,473
    Location:
    Orange Town
    Yeah, it ran fine for me.
     

Share This Page