1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Danrell's Civ5 Units Thread

Discussion in 'Civ5 - Unit Graphics' started by danrell, Jun 20, 2012.

  1. Nutty

    Nutty Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011
    Messages:
    3,156
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Orange County, California, U.S.A.
    They're not strictly necessary [EDIT: except for chariots IIRC], but if you want e.g., arrows or propellers to display, then you should have them. The best method would be to include them in your mod (VFS=true), however you can leave them in the directory as directed; they don't replace existing files.
     
  2. bouncymischa

    bouncymischa Synthetic Genie

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2012
    Messages:
    1,537
    Location:
    In a bottle
    Ahhhh, if I can do it that way it'll probably work easiest; the instructions with the download said "Please put the folder "Edited_Animations" to C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\sid meier's civilization v\Assets\Units\ and replace the files.", but when I browsed the folder it had a bunch of .xml defines instead of the animation files the download had, so I wasn't sure what to do with them.
     
  3. Nutty

    Nutty Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011
    Messages:
    3,156
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Orange County, California, U.S.A.
  4. Mahandar

    Mahandar Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Messages:
    33
    Location:
    Arlington, TX.
    Hi guys, just want to let you know that the skeleton template rar is corrupt and won't open. Could some kind soul re-upload or send another link my way?
     
  5. Ekmek

    Ekmek on steam: ekmek_e

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2002
    Messages:
    6,045
    Location:
    San Diego, California
    Yep corrupt for me :(

    On a related note my planes are on the ground. raising them in blender doesnt help. any idea to get them to sit higher on the map? is there an offset in an xml or animation fix?
     
  6. Gedemon

    Gedemon Modder Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Messages:
    8,649
    Location:
    France
    the screenshot seems fine in your YF-23 thread
     
  7. Bergerperson

    Bergerperson An actual Canadian

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Messages:
    528
    Location:
    Canada
    Yeah, and the unit works fine as well.
     
  8. Ekmek

    Ekmek on steam: ekmek_e

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2002
    Messages:
    6,045
    Location:
    San Diego, California
    When it flies its fine but while it waits its in the buildings. i also tested another unit thqt is an air unit but want it to be a late game scout and it would run on the ground. i think i can creat a vertex that elebates it to hive height but was hoping there is a more elegant way.
     
  9. GeoModder

    GeoModder Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Messages:
    7,512
    As far as I can recall, every CiV air unit sits in the buildings when selected in a city?
     
  10. Ekmek

    Ekmek on steam: ekmek_e

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2002
    Messages:
    6,045
    Location:
    San Diego, California
    I'm getting a bad/corrupted file from this. Does anyone have a good copy?
     
  11. Nutty

    Nutty Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011
    Messages:
    3,156
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Orange County, California, U.S.A.
  12. Mahandar

    Mahandar Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Messages:
    33
    Location:
    Arlington, TX.
    Thanks Nutty!
     
  13. Bergerperson

    Bergerperson An actual Canadian

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Messages:
    528
    Location:
    Canada
    Darnell, could you possible to a conversion pack from Civilization IV for modern warships (Later second half of the twentieth century) like this, this one, and this?
     
  14. Ekmek

    Ekmek on steam: ekmek_e

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2002
    Messages:
    6,045
    Location:
    San Diego, California
    are you going to do the xml? I think he has all the templates. Its easy for me to do if you just want the models.
     
  15. Bergerperson

    Bergerperson An actual Canadian

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Messages:
    528
    Location:
    Canada
    Just the models if you have the time. I can add them into my game without a problem.
     
  16. Ekmek

    Ekmek on steam: ekmek_e

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2002
    Messages:
    6,045
    Location:
    San Diego, California
  17. Bergerperson

    Bergerperson An actual Canadian

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Messages:
    528
    Location:
    Canada
    Thank you so much.

    In the Udaloy unit, I see a .dds and a .fbx file, do I replace the missile cruiser's granny line with the .fbx? I also don't see a .fxsxml file in the units, that suppose to be like that?
     
  18. El Caballerion

    El Caballerion Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    936
    Location:
    New York
    Hey Danrell. Are you going to be making any new units for BNW? Can't wait to see them if you are!
     
  19. SquireJames

    SquireJames Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 5, 2013
    Messages:
    12
    Location:
    Stoke-on-Trent
    I think it's unlikely given what was recently discovered El Caballerion
     
  20. GeoModder

    GeoModder Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Messages:
    7,512

    What was recently discovered, SquireJames?
     

Share This Page