1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Danrell's Civ5 Units Thread

Discussion in 'Civ5 - Unit Graphics' started by danrell, Jun 20, 2012.

  1. Nutty

    Nutty Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011
    Messages:
    3,156
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Orange County, California, U.S.A.
  2. taube87

    taube87 duck and cover!

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2005
    Messages:
    357
    Location:
    between 37 and 38%
    I am a big fan of danrell's units and used many in my mod.
    However, I have a little problem with the early jet fighters.
    Is it possible to change the animation so that the early jet fighters do have jet propulsion, but shoot with machine guns?
     
  3. Sang_Froid

    Sang_Froid Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2015
    Messages:
    48
    Location:
    Québec, Canada
    HI Danrell
    Does your packs comes with icons and texts?
    i made a mod for the Early maceman but it still shows the spearman's icon and texts
    See my post in (adding new units tutorials) for more details

    i would also like to know if it is pôssible to take the longswordman greece and sit him on a horse to make it a monted swordman as a new unit?

    Thank you!
     
  4. Nutty

    Nutty Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011
    Messages:
    3,156
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Orange County, California, U.S.A.
    No, very few of the 3D models come with icons, unfortunately, nor text descriptions. You'll have to cobble something together yourself, or enlist help. (Good luck. Make a new post in the main Customization & Customization subforum with any questions you may have.)

    It's possible, but would take some knowledge of Blender, and I'm not really sure what animations could be re-used for such a unit. Danrell hasn't been making units for CiV for some time, so you'll need to go to the Unit Request Thread, and hope an artist feels inspired.
     
  5. Sang_Froid

    Sang_Froid Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2015
    Messages:
    48
    Location:
    Québec, Canada
    Later todday i'll rework my mod and post it in forums,
    I think for the monted unit i would like to make, Hakkapelita Animation should be use i think, and wher could i find a good tutorial for learning blender? at least what i would lioke to do?

    thank you again very much
     
  6. MatteM

    MatteM Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2015
    Messages:
    157
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Stockholm
    Hello!

    Is it possible to make civ4 units out of the blender-files that Danrell included for the units, exporting them to .nif in blender? Made a few attempts so far but failed (only shows up as red blobs in civ4. I guess Danrell isn't very active in here anymore?
     
  7. SaibotLieh

    SaibotLieh Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,450
    Might be better to ask this in the Civ4 forum, but the short answer is that it is certainly possible, but you will have to fit the unit to one of the Civ4 animations. This tutorial should help you with this.

    Furthermore you most probably will need to use NifSkope to get the unit really working in-game ("nifswap"). This tutorial has a good collection of links which might help you with this.

    Hope this will help you get started. :)
     
  8. MatteM

    MatteM Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2015
    Messages:
    157
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Stockholm
    Ok, thanks! I will read up on the tutorials for NifSkope and try some more.
     

Share This Page