1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Fall patch discussion thread

Discussion in 'Civ6 - General Discussions' started by Skulbow, Nov 17, 2016.

  1. Solovey

    Solovey Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2013
    Messages:
    36
    Play the new patch for 10 turns already. They DON'T escort settlers. At least poor Gandi didn't do it in my game.

    Moreover, I still can pillage a road outside of my borders. But I can't destroy traders for some reason. Do I need some tech for that or is it a new bug?

    It's even more strange. Next turn I was able to plunder the trader although my warrior had full movement previous turn and only half movements this turn. I can't understand it.
     
    Last edited: Nov 21, 2016
  2. Tech Osen

    Tech Osen Emperor

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2016
    Messages:
    1,803
    Frankly I like the game. Have no problem with unstacked cities or 1upt, I like the way it all works. But the AI can't play the game. Diplomacy still feels random and they always end up hating eachother as well. Domination victory is just plain silly. Especially once you have bombers. No opposing airforce, no AA guns and unlike Civ 5 bombers don't take any damage from bombing cities or units. Motivating myself to play on when I know I'm untouchable is the hardest part really.
     
    Tiger Genocide likes this.
  3. AppleDumplingHead

    AppleDumplingHead Emperor

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2016
    Messages:
    1,171
    I think this patch has increased the necessity of commercial and harbor districts, and trade routes with high gold yield. In today's game I just started, I find myself prioritizing settling as close to as many tiles with 2+ gold as possible, even over strategic resources. This is to break even in the early game, to pay city maintenance, before strong money policies like triangular trade. Else, I'm trapped making at least 2 commercial/harbor districts early, and you know, sometimes I like having a holy site, an encampment and a campus first.

    I kinda think it's a good thing, because before the patch, so much was production-centric, and income was.. not even really secondary, it just was sorta there. Getting your money right should be a focus of an empire, but if I can't support my 4 legions, 3 catapults and 2 crossbows unless I also have 2 harbor/commercial districts, which I'm somehow supposed to come up with at the same time, things are getting a bit limited. I feel like... I'm playing Rome as England.

    Do luxuries and bonus resources need another +1 gold across the board since they had to remove any money for dismissed units? Or maybe just select ones, maybe just luxuries?
     
    Last edited: Nov 21, 2016
  4. Thorburne

    Thorburne Centurion

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,449
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Carney, MD
    Really? Gold hasn't been a problem with me before or after patch. Production is a problem for me. It is way too slow, even after the patch. When classic wonders are being built in the renaissance and industrial age, that is a problem. That has been every game that I have played. While I do like the game, the production problem has been a great annoyance. Even spamming settlers doesn't help and later era cities are worthless for a long time. You almost have to dump all of your traders in those cities and create trade routes (mostly internal) that boost production. But later game, that doesn't even help.
     
  5. Olleus

    Olleus Deity

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2005
    Messages:
    6,478
    Location:
    Beyond the Veil
    I dont understand how people are short of gold in this game. I'm always massively in the positive, making over +1000gpt without even trying. The early game is slightly different, but its really just a matter of running conscription
     
    Thorburne likes this.
  6. LDiCesare

    LDiCesare Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2005
    Messages:
    2,612
    Location:
    France
    Early game I only build settlers and military units, a few builders, till I can get production district, so I have hardly any gold expense. With a lot of cities, you have lots of time to build campuses and whatnot later and catch up if you're lagging in tech.
     
  7. Arilian

    Arilian King

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Messages:
    662
    Location:
    Hungary
    Yes, I do on Nvidia 1070
     
  8. Hypereon

    Hypereon He was a Consul of Rome!

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    414
    Location:
    Helsinki, Finland
    And the same with me, Nvidia 1060. Makes me feel nauseous...
     
  9. Gagilence

    Gagilence Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    I had the same problem on 1060, new drivers fixed the issue. I think they mentioned that in the patch notes.
     
  10. Cymsdale

    Cymsdale Prince

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2005
    Messages:
    397
    What does "without even trying" mean to you? Are you saying you get +1000 without using gold specific policies, buildings and civs?
     
    Tiger Genocide likes this.
  11. Olleus

    Olleus Deity

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2005
    Messages:
    6,478
    Location:
    Beyond the Veil
    Without deliberately trying to maximise my income. Obviously I use economic policies, but not solely the ones that increase gold.
     
  12. Browd

    Browd Dilettante Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    11,909
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Rural Vermont
    And I assume you build commercial hubs (and harbors) as soon as you can, and then trader units spam.
     
  13. AppleDumplingHead

    AppleDumplingHead Emperor

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2016
    Messages:
    1,171
    I have about 250 hours in, so I've played many games of Civ 6, and I understand you have, too. I've had games with extreme income surplus in later eras, and like I said, before the patch I had no problems making things balance, or get it back into balance within 5 or 10 turns, held afloat by 1 or 3 dismissed units. There's this "hump" or speedbump that happens around the time of entering renaissance era, and it has alot to do with city maintenance, not unit maintenance.

    Here's an example of a game I played a couple days ago. I defeated Brazil before 500bc, got 3 cities out of it. Now these three cities, for whatever reason, were not profitable. What ended up happening was, under the burden of my 7 total cities, even without unit maintenance, I was 11g deficit. ( With unit maintenance, with conscription, after the war ended I was -19) I looked around for tile fixes when I realized I was having this problem, I found 1 gold here or there on banana/citrus/tea improved tiles, and that was not enough to keep myself from going bankrupt. Even slotting a bunch of 1 gold water tiles still netted me 5 gold deficit. So I looked at what I'd done, and considered what I could have done differently. Early economy absolutely leans on tile income, until you can get out your couple commercial/harbor districts so as to increase trade route limit and then get trade routes going.

    So, sure I had it fixed within another 10ish turns, but by then, my entire army had deserted and my game sucked for awhile. Yes, I should have anticipated this, and that's what I'm communicating now. Subsequent games, like the one I'm playing this morning, have involved intentionally settling near tile income if I want to play an early aggressive game, while it was not like that before, because I could sack a few units to get over that speedbump. If I'm not being so aggressive so early, if I don't have 7 or 8 cities trying to rock out infrastructure at 1ad, it's not so much of an issue, and that's why I call it a speedbump.
     
  14. Olleus

    Olleus Deity

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2005
    Messages:
    6,478
    Location:
    Beyond the Veil
    Do you have any trade routes? By the renaissance a single international one can give you +20gpt. With the right wonders/great merchants even domestic ones can hand you a sizeable pot of gold. Then there are policies which boost gold from trade routes, commercial zones and harbours. Run one of them.

    Now if you don't have any commercial zones at all, then obviously you're going to be running a deficit. That's like saying that if I dont build any holy districts I wont have any faith.
     
  15. rezaf

    rezaf Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2003
    Messages:
    179
    Is it just me or is the post-patch AI even more aggressive when it comes to pursuing religious development?
    I wasn't very good at this previously, but post-patch, when I build my first religious district, all religions in the game have already been founded and I'm stuck with my core belief.
    I know that pursuing Stonehenge usually nets you a "free religion" (or it almost does), but how does the AI manage to do this so fast even without that wonder, all while building more cities, more units etc.?
    On prince, mind you, so they shouldn't get free things, right? Am I supposed to have/invest the thousands of gold or faith it takes to purchase a great prophet?
    Or is there some sort of special screen I should be visiting constantly but am not aware of?

    Also:
    How the heck didn't they not get around to fix the issue where the city doesn't show the last thing it produced but the thing it produced before that instead?
    What about the issue where you occasionally have no sleep/fortify option and MUST move your unit before being able to do anything.
    Or the issue where one of your own units (I had it on a settler and a trader at least) shows the "Barbarians have spotted you" exclamation mark?
    Anyone remember the old "Son, I am disappoint" meme?
     
  16. AppleDumplingHead

    AppleDumplingHead Emperor

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2016
    Messages:
    1,171
    I'm talking in the bc era, just to be sure we're on the same page, on immortal difficulty, I have no wonders except the ones I capture. I stopped making districts before currency because I was building catapults and crossbows. No trade route is worth more than 6 gold and I don't have an envoy in a yellow city state, I don't think there were any. Anyway, sending trade routes halfway across the map isn't helpful because there are still frequent barbarian spawnings.

    It's like you're talking about, like, 1200-1400ad, and yeh, like I said, by then a person has 3-5 trade routes, one or two garnering 10ish gpt, I understand. This is wayyyy before what you're referencing, and I think on a harder difficulty level, or maybe you're playing with other than standard resources, or something's amped about your game if you have all these wonders and extra policies in 500bc or even 1ad.
     
  17. Olleus

    Olleus Deity

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2005
    Messages:
    6,478
    Location:
    Beyond the Veil
    Yeah, I'm running a few mods. Mostly just slows down the tech and civic rates so I dont hit renaissance until 1000ad or later. Certainly not 500bc. I guess that gives me more time to build up infrastructure until the units/buildings with high maintenance come along? But it also means I've built more units/buildings so it should cancel out. But yeah, different game so its all different. Although I've heard very few people complaining about there not being enough gold
     
  18. Sic

    Sic Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2016
    Messages:
    81
    Are we sure that they're "refusing" to do it (the AI, that is), and it isn't that they can't? Do we know that the AI has money in all games? What if they're situationally horrible at getting funds?

    Are the mod creators vocal about what the solution was?

    I find these problems rather fascinating. There must be a reason the AI programmers at Firaxis is failing (or refusing to give it enough weight for it to be fixed). It might impact other aspects of the AI negatively.

    Though, given the quality of other parts of the game, I'm not completely ruling out incompetence.
     
  19. Disgustipated

    Disgustipated Deity

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2006
    Messages:
    11,429
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    Terrible they can't fix this problem. Civ3 had a solution (I believe it was 3 and not 4). It's a fairly simple solution as well. Amazing they can't do it.
     
  20. darko82

    darko82 Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    1,318
    Location:
    Poland
    The patch did not solve this. All leaders look like this. Pale or red or colorish.

     

Share This Page