1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Photobucket has changed its policy concerning hotlinking images and now requires an account with a $399.00 annual fee to allow hotlink. More information is available at: this link.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Dismiss Notice
  7. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

FfH2 Bug Thread

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Fall from Heaven' started by Kael, Jan 26, 2009.

  1. FlyingSwan

    FlyingSwan Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    620
    Hope im posting this in the right thread.Playing Tholals MNAI mod.Ive done a trade with Rohanna of the hippus for 2 galleys.When I get them I cant move them out of the city,either on the turn I get them(which I wouldnt expect),but on any turn after.You can load troops onto them though.

    Ive enclosed a save before I trade for the galleys,but same turn as you can get them.

    View attachment flyingswan AD-0176 gallys.CivBeyondSwordSave
     
  2. MagisterCultuum

    MagisterCultuum Great Sage

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Messages:
    15,618
    Location:
    Kael's head
    Bugs in the MNAI mod should go in the MNAI bug thread.

    Immobilizing units for a few turns when you first purchase them through diplomacy is a feature rather than a bug though. I believe that how long they are immobilized depends on how far away the unit was before being bought.

    If you mouseover the unit information should include a line like "Cannot move (10)" where the number should count down until the unit is no longer immobilized.

    The immobile counter can be reduced in worldbuilder (thanks to code I wrote for Tholal based on Platyping's work).
     
    Tielby likes this.
  3. FlyingSwan

    FlyingSwan Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    620
    Thanks,its bound to be the "cannot move" for X ammount of turns.I bought a Giant spider,and that could move,guess I bought it from a nearer civ.
     
  4. PPQ_Purple

    PPQ_Purple Techpriest Engineer

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2008
    Messages:
    2,827
    Is it just me or does Patch O, when downloaded still say it's patch N. As in, even the readme file says N.
     
  5. omegaflames

    omegaflames Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    Messages:
    91
    You are correct that whoever compiled patch o did forget to update the readme and the .ini file to reflect the changes.
     
  6. PPQ_Purple

    PPQ_Purple Techpriest Engineer

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2008
    Messages:
    2,827
    Thank god it's only that. I was beginning to worry that the download is bugged.
     
  7. Der_Gogo

    Der_Gogo Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Hi! well I guess I come too late as I guess not many are still playing the game, but ok, I'll still try.

    So, I appologize in advance, my game is huge. I got a CtD when I end the turn after destroying Decius's civilization (Malakim in this case). I have a save after taking the city, one just before and one one turn before, but they all give the same result. No pb for taking the city, Decius makes his small talk like he will come back. But once I press end turn... CtD :nuke:

    View attachment Captain Gogo AD-0618.CivBeyondSwordSave

    View attachment Captain Gogo AD-0617.CivBeyondSwordSave

    View attachment Captain Gogo AD-0616.CivBeyondSwordSave
     
  8. lfgr

    lfgr Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    550
    Hi and welcome to the forums, Der_Gogo!

    Unfortunately, the Main FfH mod is no longer under active development. However, the are some Modmods still are. If you like FfH just with better AI and (many) bugfixes, try the More Naval AI mod. Most CTDs are fixed in that mod (You'll have to abandon your save, though). If you encounter any bugs, you can report them there in the bug thread.
     
    Tielby likes this.
  9. Der_Gogo

    Der_Gogo Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Oh?! Good Modmod concept, I was exactely having the same problem in that precise game that Basium, who I "summoned" could not help me because of high see travel. Thank you very much for the help!
     
  10. MagisterCultuum

    MagisterCultuum Great Sage

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Messages:
    15,618
    Location:
    Kael's head
    MNAI is not just like FfH with better AI and bug fixes. It adds new features too, but most of them depend on game options that you don't have to activate. It also adds the functionality that allows other modmoders (like myself) to do a lot more.

    There are still some bugs in MNAI too, not many things that you'd likely notice unless trying to take advantage of its new functionality when making your own modmod. Terken and lfgr have provided some patches. They may be taking over the project, as Tholal is rather busy right now.

    My modmod is still being developed. The latest version (which can be found through the links in my signature) added dynamic help mouseover texts for many of the spells, which would greatly help a new user understand how to use them. Since the release I have fixed a couple bugs and added more PyHelp functions so that pretty much every spell in the game is fully explained. I'm going to test it a little while longer before releasing it though.
     
  11. flitz

    flitz Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2009
    Messages:
    245
    Here is a bug report.

    Well, there is not much to report actually, the game just crashes upon pressing "next turn", so I suppose something funny is happening while computing the AI turns.
    I tried to check with toggleDebugMode on, but didn't see anything special being built during this turn by any player.

    This is the savegame from the crash, it's to 100% repeatable for me.

    This is FFH2 with extramodmod + civcitystyles on top.

    Hope this report helps in fixing a possible bug
     

    Attached Files:

  12. lfgr

    lfgr Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    550
    Thank you, but please report bugs in extramodmod in its thread to ensure that Terkhen gets it.
     
  13. jackelgull

    jackelgull An aberration of nature

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2013
    Messages:
    3,055
    Location:
    Within the realm of impossibility
    Every time I load the game it keeps crashing because it failed to initialize the primary control theme
     
  14. Nor'easter

    Nor'easter Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1,314
    From Kael's first post in this thread:

    "1. "GFC error: failed to initialaize the primary control theme" error loading the mod. You will recieve this error if FfH isn't installed in the correct location (under Program Files\Firaxis Games\Sid Meier's Civilization 4\Beyond the Sword\Mods). If you don't have Civ4 installed to that location just make sure the FfH is installed in the same directory as Final Frontier, Age of Ice and the other mods that came with BtS. Also make sure you have installed the full mod and not just the patch."

    Hope that helps fix the problem.
     
  15. Nomad or What

    Nomad or What Wayfarer

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012
    Messages:
    680
    Location:
    Wherever the winds take me
    Also, if you happen to have Civ IV BTS from Steam and not from CD, for Windows 10 you will need to do the following:

    Spoiler Civ IV BTS 3.19 Steam Install on Windows 10 :

    1. Install the entire contents of mod to be this path:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Sid Meier's Civilization IV Beyond the Sword\Beyond the Sword\Mods\Fall from Heaven 2
    (assuming that you have Steam installed at the default location)​

    2. Rename icon.bmp to end with *.ico for desktop shortcut icon (from the FFH root directory)

    3. Create a shortcut on desktop with the target as:
    "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\Steam.exe" -applaunch 8800 "mod=\Fall from Heaven 2"
    (Including quotation marks)​

    4. Set the shortcut start in directory to:
    "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\SteamApps\common\Sid Meier's Civilization IV Beyond the Sword\Beyond the Sword\Mods"
    (Including quotation marks)​

    5. Change the shortcut icon to be the *.ico file that you renamed in step 2.

    6. Open the mod with the desktop shortcut and enjoy!


    Hope this helps :)
     
    Zelazny and Tielby like this.

Share This Page