1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Final Fixes Reborn

Discussion in 'Rise from Erebus Modmod' started by Ronkhar, Apr 17, 2013.

  1. PPQ_Purple

    PPQ_Purple Techpriest Engineer

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2008
    Messages:
    3,737
    What is it in particular? Maybe I can aid. 90% chance I can't but am still curious.
     
  2. black_imperator

    black_imperator Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,707
    that's a bug that happens on certain computers for some reason on the svn version that causes python to go mostly awry causing crashes, event and spells malfunctioning, ... I've tested plenty of stuff but since i cannot test it myself ( not happening on my computers) it's been a pain to try and debug. Latest theory is that it has something to do with cacheing files.
     
  3. Nate Cummings

    Nate Cummings Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Gender:
    Male
    I'm getting a consistent crash to desktop (running the SVN version on a windows 10 machine on steam) I get a consistent crash at around turn 140-150 with almost every game I'm playing. I had this same issue before the latest revision too. I've uploaded my manual save and the autosave before the crash.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. masaykh

    masaykh Prince

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    446
    @black_imperator I found really strange behavior:

    in case that folder PublicMaps absent from mod - game keep crashing on different places, once i placed such directory with files - crashes stopped.

    Moreover, is it possible for you to make commit of debug version to the DLL to SVN ?

    With SVN 303 -- strange crash - debbugger show

    CvGameCoreDLL!CvActionInfo::isCtrlDownAlt+0x380:
    05d65c50 8a8177030000 mov al,byte ptr [ecx+377h] ds:002b:00000377=??
     
    Last edited: Feb 3, 2018
  5. PPQ_Purple

    PPQ_Purple Techpriest Engineer

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2008
    Messages:
    3,737
    You know there is an easy way to test your hypothesis that it's SVN related.
    Just package your current SVN build as a zip file, preferably using the actual files on your PC and not the stuff you already uploaded to the SVN servers (to avoid corruption creeping in). Than distribute that file over a different download service (like you did with the stable version) and ask the people experiancing python issues with the SVN build to download and instal this "test" version as a separate module.

    If the python bug persists it's not a SVN issue but an issue in your code.

    Because otherwise I'd say that there is a 50/50 chance it's literally just a download corruption issue on part of the SVN. Or like maybe the file names are too long after download and the file gets corrupted, that sort of stuff.

    Also get them to test out different SVN clients as well as just download the SVN files to one folder and than copy-paste them into the game folder as opposed to keeping the game folder as the reference path for the SVN software. Because that might actually be causing permission issues in windows if two software are struggling for access to the same file. You see that last thing creep up from time to time on computers where you have a folder with images or something that you've just fiddled it and you can't delete it because "some other application is using this file" or some such error.
     
  6. masaykh

    masaykh Prince

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    446
    Spoiler :

    Traceback (most recent call last):

    File "CvAppInterface", line 56, in onLoad

    File "e:/main/civilization4/warlords/assets/python/system\pickle.py", line 1394, in loads

    File "e:/main/civilization4/warlords/assets/python/system\pickle.py", line 872, in load

    File "e:/main/civilization4/warlords/assets/python/system\pickle.py", line 985, in load_string

    File "e:/main/civilization4/warlords/assets/python/system\encodings\__init__.py", line 96, in search_function

    File "<string>", line 35, in load_module

    File "<string>", line 9, in _get_code

    RuntimeError: unidentifiable C++ exception
    ERR: Python function onLoad failed, module CvAppInterface
    Traceback (most recent call last):

    File "CvAppInterface", line 64, in preGameStart

    File "CvUtil", line 412, in initDynamicFontIcons

    File "CvUtil", line 432, in addIconToMap

    File "CvUtil", line 108, in convertToStr

    File "e:/main/civilization4/warlords/assets/python/system\encodings\__init__.py", line 96, in search_function

    File "<string>", line 35, in load_module

    File "<string>", line 9, in _get_code

    RuntimeError: unidentifiable C++ exception
    ERR: Python function preGameStart failed, module CvAppInterface
    Traceback (most recent call last):

    File "<string>", line 1, in ?

    File "<string>", line 35, in load_module

    File "<string>", line 9, in _get_code

    RuntimeError: unidentifiable C++ exception
    Failed to load python module CvWBInterface.
    ERR: Call function writeDesc failed. Can't find module CvWBInterface


    strange python error on game load
     
  7. masaykh

    masaykh Prince

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    446
    Further debuging revealed that mod tries to access pickle.py and __init__.py from warlord/assets/python/system/email

    looking at python it seems mod having troubles with unicode...but i dont use any non english characters in any directories names
     
  8. black_imperator

    black_imperator Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,707
    yeah, it's particularly weird since the crash comes from parts of the code that are native to BtS. Did you check the latest update by the way, i added the Debug dll that you asked for.
     
  9. masaykh

    masaykh Prince

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    446
    why it can crash on :

    CvGameCoreDLL!CvNetJoinGroup::Debug+0x37a398:
    05f581f1 8a8077030000 mov al,byte ptr [eax+377h] ds:002b:00000377=??


    ?
     
  10. cthom

    cthom 3,011,451,295

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2005
    Messages:
    1,308
    Location:
    was clackmannan, now sauchie
    has anyone taken a game beyond turn 240ish?, because i can't. i've tried many different combos, but it always ends in a freeze.
     
  11. masaykh

    masaykh Prince

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    446
    @cthom which speed?

    @black_imperator
    On wine tests shown following

    0009:trace:msvcrt:MSVCRT___RTDynamicCast obj: 0x26425c48 unknown: 0 src: 0x1f3d8ac {vtable=0x1ec99cc name=.?AVCvSpellInfo@@ ()} dst: 0x1f4082c {vtable=0x1ec99cc name=.?AVwrapper_base@detail@python@boost@@ ()} do_throw: 0)

    it seems we have problematic cast
     
  12. black_imperator

    black_imperator Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,707
    just done a run to turn 700+ with no issue ( on a small map though, i'm on a computer with 2gb ram at the moment)
     
  13. black_imperator

    black_imperator Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,707
    of course, i say that and ten turns later a crash. It seems there's an issue with the mouseover help text when you have too many units on the plot. Looking into that right now.
     
  14. cthom

    cthom 3,011,451,295

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2005
    Messages:
    1,308
    Location:
    was clackmannan, now sauchie
    i play epic, huge, 9 civs, fractured world.

    (i've got a full game before on these settings)
     
  15. black_imperator

    black_imperator Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,707
    does the freeze appear at end turn or sometime else ?
     
  16. cthom

    cthom 3,011,451,295

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2005
    Messages:
    1,308
    Location:
    was clackmannan, now sauchie
    always end of turn.
     
  17. black_imperator

    black_imperator Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,707
    ok, so that's not what i've just experienced (which is due to absolutely no video memory on that damn thing...)

    Have you tried with the debug dll ?
     
  18. cthom

    cthom 3,011,451,295

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2005
    Messages:
    1,308
    Location:
    was clackmannan, now sauchie
    don't know if i have that. i did a dump (ooh!) but it's all weird ascii.

    checked, i don't have the debug.dll
     
  19. black_imperator

    black_imperator Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,707
    the Debug dll is in the main folder of the download if you're using the svn version, you need to switch it up with the one inside Assets to test it.
     
  20. legionof1

    legionof1 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012
    Messages:
    22
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    Well 304 seems to have gotten rid of most of my issues, i've made it to 251 so far. :woohoo: Hopefully this holds.
     

Share This Page