1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Final Fixes Reborn

Discussion in 'Rise from Erebus Modmod' started by Ronkhar, Apr 17, 2013.

  1. The Flame8

    The Flame8 Prince

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    568
    Location:
    United States
    I like the Jotnar ideas Black!
     
  2. Calavente

    Calavente Richard's voice

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,812
    Location:
    France
    yup yup...

    I had a further idea for jotnar... but a complex one. I just putting it here in case it may help generate better ideas:

    jotnar has a counter... the counter shows the max unit + pop allowed to jotnar...
    the counter can be 2 things:
    - happy in empire.
    - a special counter : +3 per pig, +2 per other cattle, +2 per city, +1per village/town, +1per grain ressource, +2 per fish, +3 per whale, +1 per other sea ressource, +1 per calendar resource, +2per stone, +2per body mana, +1 per temple, +2per wonder, +1per national wonder, +3for palace/Summer palace/winterpalace, +1 per courthouse, +1 per UB...Etc

    maybe, instead of happy, it could be "happy, minus happy due to ressources, plus number of happiness ressources" so that 2gold gives 2 to counter and not 1 per city.

    /regards
     
  3. black_imperator

    black_imperator Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,675
    i'm thinking about the positive ones, not the negative ones though, i don't think removing food sources will be good.

    probably not blocking the techs, but yeah for the resource bonuses

    not really, they aren't really human-eating giants ^^
    i think that's already in ^^


    agreed
    need to see for exact turn values, doubled might be a bit much
    not really that kind of giants ^^


    Yeah, they'll get a few buildings giving direct Yield ( prod and food mostly), along with specialists better at prod and yields from stationing giants


    9-12 is the size i aim for for most cities, yeah ( though with better prod than a normal 9-12)


    as i said, it's early thoughts, i think it can work, but i'll go back on it if it doesn't ^^


    don't think i'll have them more expensive than normal, though of course i'll see the balance of it
    i was thinking giving them a bit of experience, some promos and an old age ( giving them the giant seasoned promos), not sure about mutated
    haven't looked into the details of the units yet
    agreed
    definitely for specialist, we'll see for terrain


    we'll see ^^

    no decision on that front yet

    you mean it being available to them, right, not them getting it from the start ? if so, yeah possibly, we'll see ( i don't really want to have them being too fast though)

    i might have mentioned it a bit quickly in the initial post, but the original system had a decrease in pop gain based on AC, i can imagine doing something similar ( a base higher food growth, that also increases the higher the AC)

    no 3tile distance planned ^^
    You're welcome


    Latest rev ?

    i'll check


    the Traveller event reveals a Unique Feature on the map based on the choice you make.


    we do need to find a better one ^^


    -Graphic paging, i think i remember reading that it wasn't that efficient, i'll look into it

    -Surrond and Destroy, not really

    -Realistic culture Spread don't know ( i'd prefer to see if i can reimplement an old
    Dynamic culture system that appeared on the forum a few years ago, it seemed much more promising)

    -Revolutions, probably, but under a slightly reworked system ( i made a post about it a few pages ago, see here : http://forums.civfanatics.com/showpost.php?p=14142219&postcount=1277)

    - more civics , errr maybe (we probably need to rework the civics, more may happen at that time i don't know)

    -the resource thing, it already happens for later resource, doesn't really make sense
    in my mind for the early ones ( it's not the start of the universe, they just spent a long time on ice, they can remember what a horse looks like ^^)

    -maybe the butchering, not sure about more than that

    - unlikely, barbs in ffh are orcs, wouldn't work well to see any kind of civ spawning from a barb city ^^

    Thanks ^^

    it does seem a bit complex ^^
     
  4. The Flame8

    The Flame8 Prince

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    568
    Location:
    United States
    I am also experiencing the diplomacy text missing problem. If it matters I'm on the svn update with steam.

    Edit: Running as admin fixed this.

    I'm having trouble with icons though. The :) icon for example does not show up so text will just show +1 with no symbol after it...

    Edit: this only seems to be a problem with the faces: angry, sick, happy, and health icon as well. Production, culture, food, etc. all show up fine.

    I tried to use old civopedia files provided. It made my civopedia inaccessible and nothing showed up on my screen (flag, minimap, next turn button, top row, etc.)

    Any ideas on how to fix this?
     
  5. TheIO

    TheIO Bugged

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2013
    Messages:
    177
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    UK
    Haven't been in a while. What's the newest stable update and where can I find it?
     
  6. Calavente

    Calavente Richard's voice

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,812
    Location:
    France
    black.... I agree that it was complex :( (I know I'm prone to that kind of issue)

    however the idea was to tie even more pop and units....
     
  7. Ag0range

    Ag0range Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2013
    Messages:
    89
    Gender:
    Male
    Yes, the 226.

    Both ROM AND 2 and Caveman to Cosmos have got a tasty obsidian icon.

    The recent one they use in ROM AND 2 is so smooth... not the viewports, but paging

    EDIT: Today on load in my rev 226 I suffered from No_Diplomacy_Text bug again. This time restarting with fullscreen did not help. For this instance helped having launched another mod (ROM AND2) with its corresponding save and having checked the Diplo there (luck? Or a workaround?). As well first time after launching Ashes following ROM, I have seen screen with completely no GUI layers and no texts, just map with units... But next instance was correct and with Diplo. Always having properties As Admin for both BtS exe and Ashes launcher... For me As Admin, unfortunately, does not serve as a workaround against No Diplo bug.

    As for minor bugs: Lair exploration - "A gargantuan spider crawls from its lair" - broken? Or is the spider actually there but invisible?

    Great Prophet Tuatha dé Danann has no picture (pink square)

    I managed to trade map with a neighbour without having researched Cartography yet =)

    P.S. I really miss the feeling of resources piling and proper equipment options from the Master of Mana... Buuu ) As well as the clock might be useful... Hahaha I am asking for too much perhaps

    P.P.S. Among the things that totally astonished me, were the event of a small elven hamlet found in my lands, that managed creating a Hamlet inside (!) a forest tile (later I found my neigbour had one more Hamlet of that type), and that I managed to liberate an Angel from some lair, was so happy that I had obtained such a powerful unit for my early time... Until a little bit later it was eaten instantly by a sand wurm just having visited some hills near sands... Such an experience! =)
     
  8. black_imperator

    black_imperator Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,675
    the missing icon stuff usually indicates that the game has the wrong patch ( usually with Steam version when you didn't choose the Steam Beta)


    the base download is quite stable but way less advanced than the svn, but the svn does tend to have a few quirks ( working on squashing them though)


    i'll think about it
    i'll take a look
    i'll look into that
    For the No diplo, i really need to pinpoint when it started happening, it'll help find the cause.


    should be invisible, yeah
    known, need to fix it ^^
    i think only one of the traders need to have cartography ^^
    not sure what you mean about the resource piling ( haven't really played Master of Mana), for the equipment, we do need to add more variety
     
  9. Ag0range

    Ag0range Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2013
    Messages:
    89
    Gender:
    Male
    It was a cool system. For every woods you have worked in your cities each turn you get wood resource counter grow, as well as for herbs, metal, mana, stones, religious points. Later you bring any unit of level 4 and beyond back home to the cultural zone and give them equipment of all kind that cost resources (600 metal, 1000 metal and 200 herbs, etc.). Equipment type as well depends on unit specialization via promotions (Bard/Champion/Berserk whatever). Then you go and lose your unit and hehe, you have lost both the unit and resources you had spent on it...

    For Religious points you are able to buy miracles, from units to something else, do not remember...
     
  10. Nor'easter

    Nor'easter Emperor

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1,512
    Oh, God, please do NOT incorporate Master of Mana economics or its other fundamental gameplay changes. There's a reason that when MoM was first released, so many players requested that Sephi make the last version of MoM's predecessor, WildMana 8.34, available, which really upset Sephi, but the fact is that MoM is really quite different in many ways that a lot of players found offputting. It certainly had and has its fans, but a lot of us ended up abandoning it and sticking with RifE instead.

    The Jotnar

    As for the Jotnar, they're basically the only reason that I still occasionally play Fall Further, since I thought the Jotnar in their original implementation played quite differently from all the other civs. The hard population cap of 8 meant that you had to manage your cities to produce exactly 16 food, where possible, and devote the remaining tiles to commerce and production. And the one-ring limitation meant spacing cities in a CxxC pattern, terrain permitting, of course.

    I didn't find commerce or science to be much of an issue, since even though each city was small, you ended up with a lot of cities, so you were still working all those tiles. Production was a problem, so it was tough to build any wonders, but that made for interesting gameplay.

    If you're going to get rid of the hard population cap, then you probably need to get rid of the one-ring limitation as well, since I don't think we really picture giants living in densely overcrowded cities. An increase food requirement would make sense, maybe 3 :food: per population point, possibly even 4.

    I would disagree with getting rid of the Thrall Militia, I found them to be an essential early-game unit. Jotnar Citizens are born in an unplanned way, and it may take time to have enough gold to upgrade them to military units. Thrall Militia may be weak, but they're cheap and easy to crank out, and when stacked and fortified can provide a decent defense against the invading early-game Barbarians. At the very least, the weakened attackers are vulnerable to counterattack by Egrass, who's a pretty strong unit for how early in the game he can be built.

    You might consider allowing Thrall Militia to upgrade to the next level unit (Axeman, Archer, Scout), but no more, with perhaps some promotion making them slightly weaker than the equivalent unit, to reflect that they're human thralls to their Giant overlords, not a truly professional military. Right now the only upgrade path available to them is to become Drowns if the Jotnar adopt OO.

    Just a few quick random thoughts. More later if I think of any, but meanwhile glad to see that you plan to bring the civ back.
     
  11. black_imperator

    black_imperator Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,675
    I don't really intend to go that way, there was discussion of having something similar for mana and faith in the last days of rife (by similar, i mean a storage of mana and faith "points", don't know what MoM did with it). Not sure whether it'll happen, and if it does, it'll only be for mana and faith.

    i'm removing the hardcap, but you won't usually get the crowded cities, because i'll be slowing growth and make Giants cost pop, which should keep everything down
    Haven't thought about the units in depth yet, except that i'm removing for the most part the "unplanned" factor.
     
  12. TheIO

    TheIO Bugged

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2013
    Messages:
    177
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    UK
    What do the LoyalCorrupt and MPL modules do?
     
  13. black_imperator

    black_imperator Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,675
    MPL is an example module for modular python for people who want to make their own mods to understand how it works.

    LoyalCorrupt changes the Good/Evil Texts into Loyal/Corrupt ( some people requested it, thinking it described the actual alignment better)
     
  14. Xanthippus

    Xanthippus Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    Messages:
    101
    Hey there, just downloaded this to give it a try and started a game as Scions... not sure if this is a bug or if I'm missing something, but I can't add Awakened to my existing cities. The button is there, but it's faded out and I can't click it. I can move them out of cities to found new ones though.

    Also, keep getting the Barbarians at the Gates event really often... like every 20-30 turns or so (on Marathon). None of the options seem to have any sort of effect either.
     
  15. black_imperator

    black_imperator Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,675
    that sounds like some kind of python error, have you tried a "Play now" game first ? ( it's important when switching from one mod to another to start by a Play now game, as it resets all the hidden options that can cause issues like this)
     
  16. TheIO

    TheIO Bugged

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2013
    Messages:
    177
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    UK
    I'm having a slight problem with some emergent leaders (in this case Athel Revus and Elijah Arnauld) in that I can't actually do any diplomacy with them. I can click on their names on the side but there's no options on the diplomacy menu.

    I'm using the latest version of the SVN.
     
  17. Xanthippus

    Xanthippus Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    Messages:
    101
    Yep, I went Play Now and chose World of Erebus. I even tried starting over, making sure I went Play Now, to no avail. I followed the instructions to get the latest SVN, and I have gone into Steam to revert it to the original release patch.
     
  18. black_imperator

    black_imperator Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,675
    yeah it's a recurring bug we've got recently. I have some trouble tracking it down as it doesn't always happen(never got it myself for example). ideally, i'll need a few people trying older revisions to try and pinpoint the initial one that caused the issue
     
  19. Xanthippus

    Xanthippus Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    Messages:
    101
    Any suggestions to fix the issue I'm having? :confused:
     
  20. black_imperator

    black_imperator Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,675
    in your civ4_config file ( which you can find in the Beyond the Sword folder), try changing hide python exceptions from 1 to 0, that'll show us if there's an actual python issue hidden behind those problems.
     

Share This Page