1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Photobucket has changed its policy concerning hotlinking images and now requires an account with a $399.00 annual fee to allow hotlink. More information is available at: this link.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Dismiss Notice
  7. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

Game Tracking Thread

Discussion in 'BTS Multi-Team Demogame II' started by DaveMcW, Apr 1, 2010.

  1. DaveShack

    DaveShack Inventor Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2003
    Messages:
    13,108
    Location:
    Arizona, USA (it's a dry heat)
    Registration pw = mtdg.

    Could the team's email register as the player, and then set up forwarding on the team email to any who need to get the notices?
     
  2. Lord Parkin

    Lord Parkin aka emperor

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2004
    Messages:
    6,373
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Now that's a good idea. :)

    EDIT: Done.
     
  3. Robi D

    Robi D Minister of (Dis)Order

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    3,066
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    The CDZland Kleptocracy can be contacted at

    team.cdz<at>gmail.com

    Although we reserve the right to not be bothered enough to reply to your puny civilisation :p

    @DaveMcW- it might be helpful to all to collate these email in the first post
     
  4. classical_hero

    classical_hero In whom I trust

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2003
    Messages:
    33,209
    Location:
    Perth,Western Australia
    Considering that:2056 is the default port for pitboss, you can leave that out and get in fine.
     
  5. remake20

    remake20 :)

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,901
    For whatever reason I can connect to this PTBS, but none of the others. :confused: Could it do anything with that it's not just numbers?
     
  6. DaveShack

    DaveShack Inventor Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2003
    Messages:
    13,108
    Location:
    Arizona, USA (it's a dry heat)
    Please post a screenshot of trying to get into a game, before you hit ok.
    Also a reply was posted in the tech help thread that the firewall needs to be opened to ports 2057 & 2058 in addition to 2056. It's not TCP, so it must be the other one that starts with a U (I'd have to look at my firewall config to remember the rest of it. U something something... ;) )
     
  7. remake20

    remake20 :)

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,901
    Actually I tried again and it worked. Go figure.
     
  8. Lord Parkin

    Lord Parkin aka emperor

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2004
    Messages:
    6,373
    Location:
    New Zealand
    The game appears to be down. I am timing out while trying to connect to daveshack.dyndns.org or daveshack.dyndns.org:2056. I notice that no-one else seems to have logged in for the last 6 hours either, checking Civstats.

    Strangely enough though, both the Warmup and Sirius games I can connect to fine. The problem seems to be isolated to this game.

    EDIT: Possible explanation - are some people not exiting to the main menu as they should? With the large number of new players joining at once, it's possible that one or more of them are unknowingly exiting the pitboss incorrectly. That could explain the discrepancy. As a reminder: if you exit to desktop, it may crash the game - exactly like what appears to have happened here. Don't do it!
     
  9. Niklas

    Niklas Fully Functional GOTM Staff

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2004
    Messages:
    10,290
    Location:
    57°47'55"N 12°09'16"E
    I also cannot connect, and I second Lord Parkin's possible explanation.
     
  10. DaveShack

    DaveShack Inventor Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2003
    Messages:
    13,108
    Location:
    Arizona, USA (it's a dry heat)
    Message received but away from computer, will be fixed later. If there is an appropriate autosave I'll match up the last login from civstats.
     
  11. DaveShack

    DaveShack Inventor Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2003
    Messages:
    13,108
    Location:
    Arizona, USA (it's a dry heat)
    Still 21 hours, no need to use an autosave. Restarted it is.
     
  12. SilentConfusion

    SilentConfusion Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,617
    Location:
    Wherever
    I am the last person shown logging out on CivStats. I would be worried that I hadn't shut it down properly if I weren't sure that I exited to the main menu. I remember explicitly going straight into a single player game from the menu.

    If I did something that shut the game down I sincerely apologize to all. Is there any other possible reason why it might have done that?
     
  13. Sommerswerd

    Sommerswerd All Your Trickle Down are Belong to Me

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Messages:
    11,428
    Location:
    Give them to me the tax cuts
    Crashes and such are just all part of the fun when playing pitboss. Nothing to worry about... Just gives the AMAZONs more time for debates and polling:goodjob:
     
  14. Lord Parkin

    Lord Parkin aka emperor

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2004
    Messages:
    6,373
    Location:
    New Zealand
    It may not have been you SilentConfusion, it could be that some people before you didn't exit correctly, and then your login was the final straw that broke the camel's back. Regardless, hopefully everyone will now be aware of this, and we won't have the problem again. This issue shouldn't happen particularly frequently if people are exiting the game correctly. :)
     
  15. remake20

    remake20 :)

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,901
    It may have been me, but I'm sot sure. I logged in once and then exited to the MM, but the second time I'm not as sure. I think I did, but I'm not 100% sure.
     
  16. remake20

    remake20 :)

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,901
    Is the TT going to stay at 40 hours? Can't it be 24?
     
  17. BCLG100

    BCLG100 Music Master

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2002
    Messages:
    16,650
    Location:
    Lahndan
    No i commented about the same thing previously, to which i had stern replies about the need to talk about everything all the time rather than having a plan.
     
  18. Sommerswerd

    Sommerswerd All Your Trickle Down are Belong to Me

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Messages:
    11,428
    Location:
    Give them to me the tax cuts
    40 hours is fine. I would honestly prefer 72 hours, but 40 is an OK comprimise.

    In these initital turns it might seem like alot but the decisions mount up fast. Most pitbosses use a 24 hour timer with just one person making the decision, It takes alot longer when you are discussing it.

    We took about 20 hours to play our turn. If the timer had been only 24 hours, then the turn would have been played with only 4 hours left, and people would have been panicking. We should stick with 40 for now and if anything the timer should go UP later, not down.
     
  19. Darkness

    Darkness Shadow creature

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Messages:
    6,749
    Location:
    Rotterdam, the Netherlands
    40 hours is glacially slow. 24 hours is fine. I mean, honestly, but how many polls can you run each turn?
     
  20. Niklas

    Niklas Fully Functional GOTM Staff

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2004
    Messages:
    10,290
    Location:
    57°47'55"N 12°09'16"E
    If no team needs the 40 hours for a given turn then the game will move faster. I don't really see the problem. The full 40 hours (or near) will only be spent on the occasions where some team really needs to use them.
     

Share This Page