1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Graphics Modification Requests Thread

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Graphics Modpacks' started by Thunderfall, May 22, 2006.

  1. C.Roland

    C.Roland FFH Art team member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2005
    Messages:
    2,112
    Location:
    Quebec
    For marco polo trip you can use this 3d video

    http://forums.civfanatics.com/showthread.php?t=156105
     
  2. RogerBacon

    RogerBacon King

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2003
    Messages:
    649
    Could someone make some small icons that display in the unit info box (see red area in picture below)? I need an oil barrel, an artillery shell, clip of bullets, and an arrow. I don't need a whole lot of detail, owing to their small size, but any help would be appreciated.

    And now the programming question: does anyone know how to make the extra information I've added (see screenshot) show up in a popup when you mouse over the unit?

    Roger Bacon

     
  3. TheLopez

    TheLopez Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,525
    Location:
    Oregon
    Roger, unfortunately the only way to get them to show up as popup information is by having the icons created as font characters which isn't possible in the current version of the patch. I have emailed back and forth with with Firaxis staff and they have told me that this issue is fixed in Warlords.
     
  4. RogerBacon

    RogerBacon King

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2003
    Messages:
    649
    OK, so I can't get them as popups. That sucks but I can wait until Warlords. It is still possible to have the icons show up in the screen with the moves, strength, and level information, right?

    Roger Bacon
     
  5. AlexCollege

    AlexCollege Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2002
    Messages:
    1
    I was thinking it would be nice to see the cross land shape around a city as an option within the cultural borders. Maybe a slightly darker shade of the cultural color.
     
  6. Chalid

    Chalid Black Dragon

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2005
    Messages:
    1,742
    Location:
    Munich, Germany
    Check:
    CvGameTextMgr.cpp
    void CvGameTextMgr::setUnitHelp(CvWString &szString, const CvUnit* pUnit, bool bOneLine, bool bShort)

    That migth be what you search. Its for the information that shows up on the left border when you mousover the unit/unit-flag (bShort=true/false).
     
  7. Altantis24

    Altantis24 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Messages:
    43
    is there anyone interested in making the museum the Louvre in paris, just like the one in Da vinci code

    thanxs
     
  8. Ernei

    Ernei Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2006
    Messages:
    13
    Location:
    Porto Alegre, Brazil
    I miss the time of Civilization II:( , where each civilization had it´s own kind of architecture. In Civilization IV, all cities look the same. Would be cool to have again the four kinds of city styles: greco-roman, medieval castle, far east and south-american.:D
     
  9. I think warlords will have that.
     
  10. ArbitraryGuy

    ArbitraryGuy Rusty Shackleford?

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,076
    Request: It would be great if somebody could make a new flag for the units which is not distorted, as the current one is. I.e., if some graphics appeared on the upper portion of the flag dds, they would be displayed in game. I think a lot of people could use this, too...

    Thanks :goodjob:
     
  11. Bastian-Bux

    Bastian-Bux King

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2006
    Messages:
    795
    Noone willing to do a swamp/marsh terrain-feature? It seems there are many modders interessted in it, most replacing it with either djungle, fallout or floodplain graphics.
     
  12. Wyz_sub10

    Wyz_sub10 CIV Gold - Project Lead

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2001
    Messages:
    2,425
    CIV Gold request

    So as you all know, Warlords is going to be introducing unique buildings. What this means for CIV Gold is that 45 civs are going to need unique buildings. :)

    Are any graphics gurus interested in joining the team and getting these done? I don't think all new models are necessary - maybe a few. But more likely some re-skins and touch ups.

    PM me if you are interested because I really would like to see this feature incorported for Gold after Warlords is released.

    As always, thanks to everyone who continues to make this the best gaming community online.
     
  13. Furiey

    Furiey No Longer Just Lurking

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2003
    Messages:
    6,345
    Location:
    Bedfordshire UK
    Request: New Floodplains. I (and others with old GeForce MX400/440 cards) have a problem with the standard floodplain terrain. We can see the glowing green part of it in black unexplored regions of the map! This makes it difficult to take part in competition games. I tried Blue Marble but that gives the same effect. A floodplain that does not glow in the dark would be very useful to everyone that has this problem.

    Thanks in advance to anyone who tries to do this.
     
  14. John_Deere

    John_Deere Nothing Runs Like A Deere

    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
    Messages:
    170
    Now this may be a tad ambitious, but nice to have. When I first played CivIV, what I noticed was that the interface had changed to an interface that you could find on an RTS game. Perhaps it would be possible to change this interface to look more like Civ3? It would be akin to having "themes" for civIV. Thanks to all who consider.
     
  15. Jazzbo

    Jazzbo Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2006
    Messages:
    7
    Don't know if it's already been suggested, but do you remember Civ 2 airbases? It would be great to see airbases added again as improvements. This is a great strategy if you want to increase your air power range.
    Another concept would be to add a navy base building for coastal cities that will provide a boost to production and/or experience.
    :goodjob:
     
  16. Gunner

    Gunner Emperor

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,389
    Location:
    Goochland, VA
    Check out Rhye's and Fall of Civilization (in my sig.) It has marshes.
     
  17. Impaler[WrG]

    Impaler[WrG] Civ4:Col UI programmer

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    1,750
    Location:
    Vallejo, California
    Furiey: Thats a graphic bug assosiated with your Video Card, not a fault of the actual Flood Plains graphic, I expereienced it before installing the first patch.
     
  18. Bahmo

    Bahmo King

    Joined:
    May 7, 2006
    Messages:
    836
    Well, Warlords has two styles. I've looked over the XML coding you described, and from what I can gather, CIV4CivilizationInfos.xml looks for matching art-tags in CIV4CityLSystem.xml; if it does not find them, it defaults as European buildings. So logically, then, to change this I would just have to convert some models of buildings into NIF files and then reference them in CIV4CityLSystem.xml, correct?
     
  19. Duke van Frost

    Duke van Frost Lunatic Killer Robot

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    770
    Location:
    Darmstadt, Germany
    Sorry if I´m totally lost, but what do you want to do again :confused:
     
  20. Bahmo

    Bahmo King

    Joined:
    May 7, 2006
    Messages:
    836
    You know how Asian and Greco/Roman civilizations have unique city architecture in Warlords. I was going to model buildings for all the rest of the cultures that aren't done yet, but I wanted to know the XML tags that made them work.
     

Share This Page