1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Is Enrico cheating? Is this a bug?

Discussion in 'Civ5 - Bug Reports' started by PrideDefiler, Aug 7, 2013.

  1. PrideDefiler

    PrideDefiler Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    59
    Apparently Enrico can build Louvre without unlocking the *Exploration* Social Policy...

    I was keeping my eye on AIs' SP progress on Global Diplomacy window every few turns because I didn't want to lose Louvre to the others while I was delaying it on account of building military units for defense.

    No one was going for Exploration branch, so I kept on delaying building it myself.

    Then out of nowhere, Enrico completes Louvre :eek:

    :confused::confused::confused:



    I've attached the screenshot.


    Is this a bug or did Enrico get it through some other legit workaround that I don't know about yet?


    Cheers


    PS. How do I put a picture on the thread instead of attaching it? - It's uploaded from my HD
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Eagle Pursuit

    Eagle Pursuit Scir-Gerefa

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    14,373
    Did you get a notification that he built it? It could be that someone else built it and he captured it.
     
  3. sonicandfffan

    sonicandfffan Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2013
    Messages:
    244
    Location:
    England, UK
    Policies don't show up when they're unlocked, only when they take a policy from the tree.

    So he has opened Exploration but hasn't taken any other policies from the tree.

    Edit: Btw, there are several topics about this (showing that it's not well understood or popular) and it makes very little sense why it wouldn't show up when it was unlocked. It's something I'd like to see changed in the fall patch.
     
  4. VainoValkea

    VainoValkea Emperor

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2013
    Messages:
    1,569
    Location:
    The Harsh North
    I wonder how many times I've seen this exact same complaint...

    No, Enrico is not cheating. He has unlocked exploration. The diplomacy screen doesn't show openers, just the "actual" policies. Notice how the other branches Enrico has taken go up to 5, not 6?
     
  5. FeiLing

    FeiLing Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2012
    Messages:
    2,068
    Wonder when they will finally make it show for e.g. "Exploration: 0" (or 1-6 instead of 5).
     
  6. PrideDefiler

    PrideDefiler Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    59

    I didn't know that :)

    I thought when they unlock a policy branch the branch name appears, then when they adopt policies, the number appears next to it.
     
  7. PrideDefiler

    PrideDefiler Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    59
    Yes I got the notification and got pissed off :D then went straight into the global diplomacy window to check for the policy requirement.
     
  8. troublmaker

    troublmaker Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    227
    Location:
    St. John's, NL
    Might as well be cheating. But yeah it is smart, take 1 point in a tree just so they can build a single wonder.
     
  9. PrideDefiler

    PrideDefiler Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    59
    Definitely... I wonder if they did this on purpose to make players anxious and stressed out during a wonder race :)

    But then, this system have existed from before the BNW introduced SP requirement for wonders so now I don't know why they made it like this :crazyeye:
     
  10. unohu

    unohu Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2013
    Messages:
    13
    Identical thing happened to me when I lost Porcelain Tower, by 1 turn no less, to Harun who throughout the game had never taken a single Rationalism policy...





    Except the opener. :mad::mad::mad:
     
  11. VainoValkea

    VainoValkea Emperor

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2013
    Messages:
    1,569
    Location:
    The Harsh North
    Well Enrico has the three fully unlocked trees already.

    They should really fix this though, the opener counts a lot.
     
  12. sonicandfffan

    sonicandfffan Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2013
    Messages:
    244
    Location:
    England, UK
    Yeah not only do they all unlock wonders, but some of the openers are amongst the best policies in the game as well (see: Tradition/Patronage/Aesthetics/Rationalism)
     
  13. PrideDefiler

    PrideDefiler Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    59
    True, we need more accurate info on our enemy's SP to adjust our counter strategy:)
     

Share This Page