1. Firaxis celebrates the "Asian American and Pacific Islander Heritage Month", and offers a give-away of a Civ6 anthology copy (5 in total)! For all the details, please check the thread here. .
    Dismiss Notice

Milae Map Scripts

Discussion in 'Mods Repository' started by Milae, Apr 7, 2021.

Tags:
  1. Milae

    Milae Prince

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2019
    Messages:
    399
    Gender:
    Male
    Have been making these and playing with them for a while but I realised people on here might not know about them and there is nowhere for people to give feedback. Currently I have two separate scripts, both are modifications from the communitas which comes with VP. Most of the changes are just value changes but the rainfall system is very different and so is the feature system. Also there is generally more randomness than most mapscripts.

    Easiest to get them on megashare: https://mega.nz/folder/c9cXgShC#gfZTQ9rOA_3RBkSmEWc5EQ

    Milae's Map:
    This is an earth-like map which I hope makes all the various terrain-based pantheons situationally pickable. Default is 0 artificial oceans though there will often still be differently landmasses. Add Oceans in if you want continents style map.
    Download here

    Milae Pangea Map:
    This is a smaller map with some ocean at the bottom and (usually) at both sides. This one is supposed to somewhat be like the Great Plains maps but with loads more randomness and Tundra along the north. Probably less balanced but should make for some fun games.
    Download here

    Have fun!
     
    Last edited: Apr 8, 2022
    vyyt, m0nk3yst1ck, Bromar1 and 3 others like this.
  2. General_Drax

    General_Drax Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2019
    Messages:
    274
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Bologna, Italy
    Thank you, very good map scripts.

    I got them before and using since. They are a bit heavy on luxury resources but balanced around strategic ones.

    One of the funniest activity in VP is planning the cities positioning and with more resources there are more possibilities.

    Compared with Communitu for VP these are better regarding coal and oil. More than once I had a vast territory under my dominion just to discover that there were only 3 coal of 7 units each on the other side of the world nested in enemy territory. I cannot wait refineries to keep my war economy going.
     
  3. Stalker0

    Stalker0 Baller Magnus

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2005
    Messages:
    8,670
    Just because of the name confusion, are you referring to the Communitas map or the Communitas_79 one? They are actually a good bit different which is why I ask.
     
  4. Milae

    Milae Prince

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2019
    Messages:
    399
    Gender:
    Male
    Yea technically that one is called Communitu_79 so just to clarify I started changing it from the original Communitas one.

    Though I did use their method to add in the OverrideAssignStartingPlots option, since it helps with mapscript compatibility, so thanks @azum4roll or @tu_79 for that.
     
  5. looorg

    looorg Prince

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2010
    Messages:
    596
    c5vox-m10-hammerisland.jpg

    Welcome to Hammer-Island!

    (latest patch, map script v10 etc etc)
     

    Attached Files:

  6. Good Ol’ Bender

    Good Ol’ Bender Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2020
    Messages:
    27
    Gender:
    Male
    I love your “Milae’s Map” script, I’ve been using it ever since you offered it on your Youtube. I set the seas to low, ocean rifts to narrow/none, add 2-3 extra civs and 2-4 extra city states and it makes a neat pseudo-pangaea. Definitely fixes the resource issues of Communitas.
     
    Milae likes this.
  7. looorg

    looorg Prince

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2010
    Messages:
    596
    c5vox-acticblock.jpg

    (mapscript v10) I seem to recall something about you mentioning that you had blocked culture growth into the arctic so that one could always circumnavigate the earth. I'm not sure if it, the culture border growth, will ever grow in there or not. But I can not buy the tiles. Which as noted in the image is somewhat annoying since there is a luxury there, I guess I could live with it if it was just a normal fish but a luxury might be a tad much to miss out on.

    So if you block it could one at least make sure that luxuries are not placed into those water tiles.
     
  8. Milae

    Milae Prince

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2019
    Messages:
    399
    Gender:
    Male
    Hmm, i've never seen a lux spawn on ocean before. Is it something from the Civ? I believe you can't buy ocean tiles but your border can grow there naturally. That's just VP mechanics though, not to do with the mapscript.
     
  9. looorg

    looorg Prince

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2010
    Messages:
    596
    I thought it was a bit weird to. But there they are in all their crabby deliciousness. Normally I don't think they can or are supposed to, think it's all coast/sea and not ocean.
    I don't think it's a civ specific thing, it's he inuit civ -- they turn fish into seals but nothing about ocean crabs as far as I can tell. I did a few restarts and didn't get any arctic ocean crabs in any of those restarts.

    c5vox-acticblock-2.jpg

    (edit). Happened again. Ocean corals. It's either the map or it's the civ, but it doesn't mention anything about spawning sea resources in the ocean. Pineapple doesn't appear to believe that it's the civ, I asked in the inuit civ thread.
     
    Last edited: May 10, 2021
  10. azum4roll

    azum4roll Emperor

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2018
    Messages:
    1,854
    Gender:
    Male
    Does the mapscript modify ocean tiles after placing luxuries?
     
  11. m0nk3yst1ck

    m0nk3yst1ck Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2021
    Messages:
    79
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canada
    Is there any way to disable inland seas and/or replace them with lakes?
     
  12. KlHannibal2

    KlHannibal2 Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2021
    Messages:
    113
    Excellent map scripts, thank you for offering!

    Just one observation: on the continents map, a start with a sea resource was always very strong for me. It allows to settle those many islands and avoid land based conflict for some time. Especially if I get good defensive locations. And with sea resources, you can get god of the sea and found easily. Also, you can get great lighthouse, which makes conquering with galeasses so much more effective. They can get next to a city to attack and out of city range in one turn.

    IMO that does not have to be changed. It's fine that not all starts are equally strong.
     
    Last edited: Aug 14, 2021
  13. Milae

    Milae Prince

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2019
    Messages:
    399
    Gender:
    Male
    I think the max lake tiles can't be changed from 10. If you go into the mapscript and find the line:

    if randPercent >= 65 then

    (do ctrl + f and then type it in)

    and change the 65 to 0 then all inland seas will connect to the oceans so they won't be inland seas anymore.

    Btw though you can build forts/citadels to connect inland seas to oceans as well.
     
    m0nk3yst1ck likes this.
  14. Milae

    Milae Prince

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2019
    Messages:
    399
    Gender:
    Male
    Yea sea starts probably are the best right now, tundra and open sky used to be similar strength. Fish do tend to fall off but yea maybs i'll reduce it a bit.
     
  15. m0nk3yst1ck

    m0nk3yst1ck Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2021
    Messages:
    79
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canada
    Thanks. Is it also possible to prevent atolls from spawning in lakes?
     
  16. azum4roll

    azum4roll Emperor

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2018
    Messages:
    1,854
    Gender:
    Male
    Doesn't help with polar seas (water surrounded by ice and land) though.
     
  17. Good Ol’ Bender

    Good Ol’ Bender Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2020
    Messages:
    27
    Gender:
    Male
    Note: Use the Megashare link provided in the first post rather than the direct links (that download from Civfanatics), this way you can access the latest updated versions. ;)
     
  18. Jdoug312

    Jdoug312 Prince

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2013
    Messages:
    318
    Not getting any ancient ruins or resources with the latest download from mega. Tried a couple of different starts, playing until ~turn 30. None for me or the AI. Tried a new game with a different map and they were there so I'm sure it's not a conflict
     
  19. Milae

    Milae Prince

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2019
    Messages:
    399
    Gender:
    Male
    Yes until next version you need overrideAssignStartingPlots to be 'No' in mapscript options
     
    Jdoug312 likes this.
  20. Milae

    Milae Prince

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2019
    Messages:
    399
    Gender:
    Male
    Compatibility finally sorted! Theoretically speaking it should never be an issue again... From v13 and Pangea v5 onwards
     
    Jdoug312 and Kim Dong Un like this.

Share This Page