1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Photobucket has changed its policy concerning hotlinking images and now requires an account with a $399.00 annual fee to allow hotlink. More information is available at: this link.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Dismiss Notice
  7. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

Military Doctrines / Promotion System Rework 1.701

This mod revamps the promotion/experience system to be both more meaningful and more realistic.

  1. Ewok-Bacon-Bits

    Ewok-Bacon-Bits Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2016
    Messages:
    152
    Thanks for the screenshot/feedback, I can look into changing the numbers. It still is very strange to me that the AI is getting doctrines so quickly, having tech locks might be a decent idea to prevent a super inflation in XP.
     
  2. ggalindo001

    ggalindo001 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2002
    Messages:
    193
    I'm going to run some tests with some modified XP based promotions -- as I agree with the earlier poster about reducing the larger strength increases to something more manageable.

    The 2 strength per promotion for individual units appears to be working very well. Not sure if the AI is going immediately to that or the healing, but that piece of the mod is working extremely well.

    FYI -- I found that this does not work with MOAR Australia due to a new promotion class introduced in that mod. I simply removed the promotion class (HUNTER) introduced in MOAR Australia and it works just fine.
     
  3. skodkim

    skodkim Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2004
    Messages:
    2,119
    Location:
    Denmark
    Playing with v 1.701 and enjoying it. I'm in the late classical age by now and the ai is at max doctrine level 2 or 3, which sounds ok to me.

    Been pondering about your tech requirement for doctrines though and I think it's an interesting idea, only I think I like the idea of limiting it by era more, e.g.. Ancient= max 2 doctrines, classical max 3 doctrines, medieval max 4 doctrines, ...

    \Skodkim
     
    Iro likes this.
  4. skodkim

    skodkim Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2004
    Messages:
    2,119
    Location:
    Denmark
    Well just to comment on my own comment from before :)crazyeye:) having some kind of era requirement we'd probably also need a XP cap mechanism like the XP cap from barbarians. If we just let a player accumulate e.g. unused 500-1000 XP at the end of an era he'd make a large jump at the beginning of each era.

    One solution could be to say that after leveling up to the maximum doctrine level of an era, e.g. level 3 in the ancient if we use my proposal from above, you get no further XP until entering a new era - or you only get enough XP to gain one more doctrine level and no further after that. I think I like solution 2 better.

    Anyway, just some thoughts from me :p

    \Skodkim
     
    Iro likes this.
  5. Rajendran

    Rajendran Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2017
    Messages:
    58
    Gender:
    Male
    Ewok, I like you mod very much and had played with it several time. However, the game had crashed several times in the late era. As such, I did not use the mod for a while. I tried using your mod again recently and noticed the following:

    The promotion button appears when using this mod with CQUI but the game hangs and goes into a ‘reading’ status and does not progress from there. I have to force shut the civ 6 eventually. I managed to find out that the cause is the CQUI mod. I have tried your mod independently and the game loads ok but the promotion button does not appear on the TOP left panel.

    My query :

    (1). Does your mod work independently or it has to be used together with CQUI. I saw that your comments Recommending using this mod with CQUI. Does recommend means must use this mod with CQUI
    (2). Does this mod work with other UI mod so that the promotion button works.
    (3). Is there other way to overcome or by-bass CQUI mod and ensure the promotion button appear.

    Appreciate your response to my query. Your mod has made the game more exciting to play with. And I would like to use your mod.
     
  6. Ewok-Bacon-Bits

    Ewok-Bacon-Bits Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2016
    Messages:
    152
    In order to get the button to show you need CQUI, otherwise everything else is independent so you can either just use the hotkey 'x' or use this mod which is integrated in the CQUI mod https://forums.civfanatics.com/threads/modular-screens.620112/. This mod makes it modular.

    As for UI conflicts this is why I made it modular orginally it replaced the launchbar but that caused conflicts with other UI mods. Now it shouldn't cause any conflicts.
     
  7. Rajendran

    Rajendran Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2017
    Messages:
    58
    Gender:
    Male
    Great Ewok. I’ll try the modular mod. Thank you for you quick respond.
     
  8. arch.mbadawy

    arch.mbadawy Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2017
    Messages:
    29
    Gender:
    Male
    The mod isn't on the "Additional Content" panel!!
     
  9. Ewok-Bacon-Bits

    Ewok-Bacon-Bits Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2016
    Messages:
    152
    Make sure you downloaded it correctly and you can also try to use the steam version as it takes less steps to download/install.
     

Share This Page