1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Orbis Bug Thread (Old)

Discussion in 'Orbis Modmod' started by Ahwaric, Mar 28, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. civ_king

    civ_king Deus Caritas Est

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Messages:
    16,368
    python always slows the game more than C++ when a component becomes stable and works you may want to move it to C++ to speed up the game, callbacks hurt more then other python!
    my 2¢
     
  2. Luckmann

    Luckmann Esusian Epicure

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    527
    Location:
    The Towers of Amur.
    I can't add Great Persons to my capital.
    I've had this bug before, in main FfH2, but since I'm running Orbis at the moment and my save is in Orbis, I thought I'd report it here. The deal is that, in my capital, I've got one Great Person of every type. As soon as I add more, they don't get added. I lose the unit, but it doesn't get added to the city.

    What's even more annoying is that I think I actually had more, or at least more diverse, great persons before. I think I've even lost great persons due to this.

    It works fine in all other cities. Whater it's shades or real great persons doesn't matter for the purpose of this bug. Any takers?
     

    Attached Files:

  3. Opera

    Opera Deity

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,643
    Gender:
    Female
    It's weird, as you can't add a great person other than a great bard for now due to a known bug (fixed in next patch). Not sure I got what was the issue there...

    (I will look at the save later, I'm not able to for now)
     
  4. Luckmann

    Luckmann Esusian Epicure

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    527
    Location:
    The Towers of Amur.
    I used the fix posted earlier in this thread. I probably should've mentioned that. I have also added
    Code:
                    <GreatPeople>
                        <GreatPeopleType>SPECIALIST_GREAT_GENERAL</GreatPeopleType>
                        <bGreatPeople>1</bGreatPeople>
                    </GreatPeople>
    to <Type>UNIT_SHADE</Type> in CIV4UnitInfos.xml, to allow shades to be added as Great Generals in cities. I've also set <iMaxPlayerInstances>-1</iMaxPlayerInstances> on <Type>UNITCLASS_SHADE</Type> in CIV4UnitClassInfos.xml to allow more than 4 Shades at once - it didn't solve the issue, though. The "spell" of creating Shades probably checks for shades and I have no idea how to fix that.

    Apart from that, I haven't done anything to Orbis. I'm running a fresh install of FfH2 with Patch G and the latest Orbis. The changes I've made does in no way relate to how Great Persons function, only shades - and the issue doesn't just relate to shades. It relates to all great person units and all shades that joins a city as a great person.

    To clarify: In my capital (Celo, if I'm not mistaken) I now have 1 great person of every kind - Sage, Bard, Engineer, Merchant, General. As soon as I try to add a new one to the city, either through a Shade or a Great Person Unit, they simply don't add. The unit is consumed, but I don't get it added to the capital.

    As of now, the only place I've noticed this is in my capital. No-where else. I am also fairly sure that I used to have more great persons in my capital, but I can't verify that.
    Edit:I actually says for Patch 0.24j "Fixed great people joining to cities" so this may actually be a known issue.
     
  5. Willgar

    Willgar Prince

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    308
    I know this is the wrong thread but.... the change to hawks - simply brilliant!! Such a small change makes the game feel completely different. Scouts truly are scouts. An invasion force without a recon element can run into nasty surprises and lost civilisations might well stay lost for 200+ turns. Combined with the new withdrawl mechanic, Orbis has finally added game elements that make the game fresh and compelling - Thank you Ahwaric and the rest of the mod team!

    :goodjob:
     
  6. Zarsynn

    Zarsynn Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2006
    Messages:
    21
    Anyone else's Illian's Priest of Winter (From the White Hand) unable to cast spells? The icons don't even appear :confused: They seem to level normally, but nothing for sanctify etc--- a pain when you get a bad map gen with lots of haunted lands nearby......
     
  7. Luckmann

    Luckmann Esusian Epicure

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    527
    Location:
    The Towers of Amur.
    Just checking back to tell everyone to ignore my previous two posts here and declare that I'm a total tool. It turns out that when you go over a certain amount of Great Persons in any given city, it reduces the number of shown Great Persons to one of each kind, and then you have to hover over them to see how many great persons there actually is.

    Getting that many great persons in a single city just isn't common enough for me to ever notice before. D'oh. :blush:
     
  8. Opera

    Opera Deity

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,643
    Gender:
    Female
    :lol:

    It's okay, it happens sometimes :p
     
  9. Opera

    Opera Deity

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,643
    Gender:
    Female
    Any idea when you'll release next patch, Ahwaric? Asking so I can plan my own release :)
     
  10. Luckmann

    Luckmann Esusian Epicure

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    527
    Location:
    The Towers of Amur.
    Bah, you. I was just going into this thread to ask that exact question. :p And it totally has nothing to do with LENA and the fact that I'm anxious to try it out in a multiplayer game. :mischief:
     
  11. Ahwaric

    Ahwaric Shrubbery-hugger

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2005
    Messages:
    1,217
    Location:
    Kraków, Poland
    As I mentioned in minor requests thread I have sheduled it for friday. ;)
    But there is a chance that it will be out in 24 hours. Meaning tomorrow evening CET. Late evening.
    I really want to start some creative work, and this patch is bugfixing/updating mostly. :)

    Oh, and just in case, it it will break saves.
     
  12. Luckmann

    Luckmann Esusian Epicure

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    527
    Location:
    The Towers of Amur.
    That sounds a lot less like "Just to make sure you all know, this will break saves." and a lot more like "Just to make sure there's no problems, I intentionally broke the legs of all your saves. Because I can and it was fun." :lol:

    Anyway, awesome. Now, where did I put that whip... :shifty:
    :whipped: Hey, Opera, where'd you go?
     
  13. Opera

    Opera Deity

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,643
    Gender:
    Female
    Hey, what you doing with this whip? Give it to me. I own all whips.

    @Ahwaric: I didn't see it in your other post :p Nice anyway. I'm eager to see your creative works ;)

    (And I won't be able to put my version out right after the patch)
     
  14. Ahwaric

    Ahwaric Shrubbery-hugger

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2005
    Messages:
    1,217
    Location:
    Kraków, Poland
    Ok then.
    I am quite sleepy so I just hope I have put everything where it should be. ;)

    But anyway, here is patch 24 j.
    Should fix some bugs, but if you find one, please let me know.

    Enjoy!
     
  15. Kalina

    Kalina Just lurking...

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Messages:
    511
    Location:
    Łódź, Poland
    Great :D I hate to ask for more but is it possible to make Bloom autocast ? It's very annoying spell when you don't see forest under cottages :)
     
  16. Opera

    Opera Deity

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,643
    Gender:
    Female
    Line 2141 of CvEventManager.py, shouldn't it be "iReligion" instead of "fReligion"?

    ... Did you include the new dll files? There isn't any change in them...
     
  17. Opera

    Opera Deity

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,643
    Gender:
    Female
    Nevermind, I didn't see the "dll source" folder near the "Orbis i Sources" one :p
    Don't beat me!
     
  18. Ahwaric

    Ahwaric Shrubbery-hugger

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2005
    Messages:
    1,217
    Location:
    Kraków, Poland
    I am still figuring out how automate_terraforming works. It is a separate function in new FfH version, but so far I think it is a part of python hardcoding so I will probably not include it.
    I am not sure if bloom is a good candidate for standard autocast. It takes several turns to cast and can be quite annoying if you forget to disable it.
    And you should be able to see forest under cottages... :confused:
    This line can be deleted. It is part of the removed code that makes favourite religion always spread (and get founded) in players capital. Always.
    So far I am not sure I like it (guess not), but decided to keep the definition for now to make adding it back easier, maybe in modified version (religions get founded normally, but if you leader discovers tech that founds his favourite religion which was already founded, he gets this religion in his capital).
    Yeah, check dll source folder. Naming it 24I source in previous patch was obviously bad idea (got two sets now).
     
  19. [to_xp]Gekko

    [to_xp]Gekko QCT junkie

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Messages:
    7,943
    Location:
    Seyda Neen, Vvardenfell
    nice! the tweaks to cottage yields will definitely make the cottage economy an option again ;)
     
  20. Opera

    Opera Deity

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,643
    Gender:
    Female
    Okay;

    Why did you reset all AIWeights to 0?
    In Buildings, I mean.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page