1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Patch v3.13 change list

Discussion in 'Civ4 - General Discussions' started by alexman, Sep 13, 2007.

?

Worth the wait?

Poll closed Nov 12, 2007.
  1. Yes

    89.9%
  2. No

    6.7%
  3. What is BTS?

    3.5%
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Atwork

    Atwork Immortal

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2006
    Messages:
    616
    Location:
    Santa Cruz, CA.
    I've read from the forum that with mods it is possible to have more than 18 civs and have the colony options. So, if a mod could do it, so can firaxis.
     
  2. Teg_Navanis

    Teg_Navanis King

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2006
    Messages:
    737
    It is possible, but increasing the number of playable civs (theoretically?) slows down the game - even if you play with less civs than are enabled in your mod.
     
  3. azzaman333

    azzaman333 meh

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2005
    Messages:
    22,877
    Location:
    Melbourne, AUS Reputation:131^(9/2)
    But when I kill off a civ, I may want to be able to make myself a colony to put it back up to 18.
     
  4. Bhruic

    Bhruic Emperor

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,457
    Wait, what? The glance page was one of the best improvements to the Foreign Advisor, imo.

    Bh
     
  5. KMadCandy

    KMadCandy giggling permanoob

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2005
    Messages:
    3,993
    Location:
    Peepsville
    the East Indiaman ignores that already. it can't bombard :crazyeye:

    and agree with the poster above, i hope you're not taking away the glance tab completely! it's my favorite thing about HoF mod and i love that it's in the standard game now, don't deprive me!!!
     
  6. Gaius Octavius

    Gaius Octavius Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    Messages:
    4,016
    I didn't have time to go over it with a fine-tooth comb, but has anything been done to fix the naval blockade command? That takes a reeeeeaaaaaalllllly long time to execute.
     
  7. Solver

    Solver Grumpy Civ beta tester

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2002
    Messages:
    1,317
    Location:
    Sweden
    Yep, that's been fixed.
     
  8. dutchking

    dutchking Deity

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2007
    Messages:
    3,317
    Thank god...it's about time! :D Thanks for this Alexman.
     
  9. peter450

    peter450 Prince

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2006
    Messages:
    392
    Looos great, whats the ETA on it?

    One thing i noted is that late modern the only units to spot subs will be other subs thats fair enough i guess as it's a reason for building them, since if someone has subs an you dont that will be a big disadvantage for you.
    However i think there needs to be another unit other, than SD that can see SD, as how can you counter one if you dont have the teck? perhaps a air recon mission should reveal them? as they can easily blockade your island if you play islands with no way for you to counter that, either that or blockading ships loose there stealth advantage
     
  10. zienth

    zienth Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Messages:
    79
    Location:
    Silicon Valley, CA
    This might be it:
    Fixed first strike combat animation for non-ranged units

    But I don't think so. The problem I was seeing was that ranged unit figures that didn't have an opponent (like when there were 3 archers on one side and two axemen on the other) would take a nap and then pop up when they actually had someone to fight. They weren't really dead, they just laid down while waiting. :)

    A key set of rules one learns in the army:
    - Never run when you can walk.
    - Never walk when you can stand still.
    - Never stand when you can sit.
    - Never sit when you can lie down.
    - Never stay awake when you can be asleep.

    So you see, it wasn't really a bug, they were just depicting proper military actions for the figures that used to just be standing around.

    And I agree, this does look like a great patch. Just looking at the AI improvements is a little scary.

    Zienth
     
  11. TheLastOne36

    TheLastOne36 Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    Messages:
    14,045
    I still see no fixes to the "always Peace" mode. That dissapointed me a little, as i'm a builder. anyway can't wait for the patch.
     
  12. Virulent

    Virulent King

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    662
    Location:
    Canada
    I think it just means they are fixing it up so it looks nicer. Hopefully the bug where the glance screen will sometimes get messed up and hard to read will be fixed as well.
     
  13. Imrahil91

    Imrahil91 Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    538
    Location:
    Norway
    I reported that! Think they even posted it two times :lol:
     
  14. DilithiumDad

    DilithiumDad Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2002
    Messages:
    114
    Location:
    Ohio
    Fantastic patch work!

    There are a lot of buildings no one builds because they stink. Military Academy is not one of them. It's not a priority for buffing! I always build them. I'll build more now that the tech is moving earlier again.
     
  15. KrikkitTwo

    KrikkitTwo Immortal

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Messages:
    12,316
    Well lf theat was the case, the would have said "Colony maintenance capped at twice the distance maintenence CAP"

    The question is whether the cap is based on the distance maintenance Before or After State Property sets it to 0.
     
  16. GenocideBringer

    GenocideBringer King

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Messages:
    628
    God damn. This patch is MORE than worth the wait. I love it.

    Excellent job :)
     
  17. TheLastOne36

    TheLastOne36 Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    Messages:
    14,045
    OH yes how can i forget?

    Another option i'd most appriciate is, To allow Barbs, but no Animals or vice versa on costum game. I personally hate having animals, and i miss seeing the barbs having that option would make some people really really happy.
     
  18. dutchking

    dutchking Deity

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2007
    Messages:
    3,317
    And Global Warming should be an option too. ;) [thelastone36]
    BTW, like the new avatar?
     
  19. manu-fan

    manu-fan Emperor

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,005
    I can't go the list with a fine tooth comb.

    Can anyone confirm if:

    "The game is now supported on Machintosh computers"

    is on the list :)

    Cheers.
     
  20. dutchking

    dutchking Deity

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2007
    Messages:
    3,317
    ^LOL. Get windows. I did. Come to the "light" side of the force. The OS sucks but you get great game coverage. And it runs better than Mac too [CIV].

    Aspyr is too lazy to port it over....[pissed]
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page