1. Firaxis celebrates the "Asian American and Pacific Islander Heritage Month", and offers a give-away of a Civ6 anthology copy (5 in total)! For all the details, please check the thread here. .
    Dismiss Notice
  2. We have selected the winners of the Old World random draw and competition. For the winning entries, please check this thread.
    Dismiss Notice

[UNIT] PPQ unit art and questions thread

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Unit Graphics' started by PPQ_Purple, Dec 13, 2017.

  1. Sword_Of_Geddon

    Sword_Of_Geddon Arbiter of the Sword

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2003
    Messages:
    14,162
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    New England, USA
  2. MightyToad

    MightyToad Sith Lord

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2015
    Messages:
    477
    Cool looking units. I made a modified strikeA.kf that uses the FF Torpedo. It is trivially easy to change the effects in the kfs with nifskope. I made a hopefully useful info graphic.
     

    Attached Files:

    rtt4a likes this.
  3. Sword_Of_Geddon

    Sword_Of_Geddon Arbiter of the Sword

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2003
    Messages:
    14,162
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    New England, USA
    Wow I didn't expect that very impressive Toad! I have to add that to my game right away.
     
  4. PPQ_Purple

    PPQ_Purple Techpriest Engineer

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2008
    Messages:
    4,702
    Figured it was about time for a name change.
     
  5. PPQ_Purple

    PPQ_Purple Techpriest Engineer

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2008
    Messages:
    4,702
    Does final frontier have something like an energy ball effect?
     
  6. MightyToad

    MightyToad Sith Lord

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2015
    Messages:
    477
    :thumbsup:
    One of the units has a forcefield looking thing. I don't think it is a projectile effect if thats what you mean. I think it was called a "sentry" or something?
    The "redeye" laser effect is green/yellow bolts like laser cannons. I think.
     
  7. MightyToad

    MightyToad Sith Lord

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2015
    Messages:
    477
    While I was shopping for knight animations I checked out the Omen Horsemen. They have this cool fire effect. Not energy balls, but could have potential for modifications. I think it would have been a good starting point for the Byzantine Dromon greek fire effect.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. PPQ_Purple

    PPQ_Purple Techpriest Engineer

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2008
    Messages:
    4,702
    I ran into some issues working on a custom flag for NOD. This is the decal I am working with and it is transparent and everything. But in game the teamcolor does not show and instead the whole flag is black. What's the deal with that?

    Help would be greatly appreciated.
     

    Attached Files:

  9. MightyToad

    MightyToad Sith Lord

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2015
    Messages:
    477
    I "copied visible" and pasted into a clean file. Exported as DXT3. Works for me. The vanilla files are DXT5. So, I think that rules that variable out. It seems visible crap remains in the alpha channel for some reason. The work around I use is to just paste visible crap into a new empty file. Maybe it is a limitation of GIMP2, or I am missing some simple fundamental thing about how alpha channels work. :think:
     

    Attached Files:

    <Nexus> likes this.
  10. SaibotLieh

    SaibotLieh Emperor

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,549
    Seems to be working for me:
    Spoiler :

    The only always-black area is the one you have black in your decal "image" (not the alpha channel). Normally for flags the image part is completely white, and the flag gets colour via the alpha channel. Not completely sure, but I think black means primary colour, white secondary colour and grey is a mixture of both colours.
     

    Attached Files:

    <Nexus> likes this.
  11. PPQ_Purple

    PPQ_Purple Techpriest Engineer

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2008
    Messages:
    4,702
    Thanks toad. That fixed it. The error was probably down to the Paint.NET exporter than, either that or my compression method of choice.
     
  12. MightyToad

    MightyToad Sith Lord

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2015
    Messages:
    477
    @PPQ_Purple While I'm thinking about it. A work around to the lack of alpha fade for the flag shader is to use a visibility controller. That does work. You can't throttle the alpha up and down. But, you can switch it on or off with a "NiBoolInterpolator". You just have to swipe a "NiVisController" and put it in the ninode that contains your trishape. Then add the Boolinterpolator to your kf.
     
  13. PPQ_Purple

    PPQ_Purple Techpriest Engineer

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2008
    Messages:
    4,702
    Just when does Anti-AirStrike trigger in actual gameplay?
    I tried a bunch of bombing runs on a test map against SAM infantry and I can't get it to trigger. I can trigger it manually via CTRL+U but that's not the point.
     
  14. MightyToad

    MightyToad Sith Lord

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2015
    Messages:
    477
    I think it is broken in the 319 patch. The air craft animations also hang during intercept. That bug has made me forgo air strikes in most games.
     
  15. PPQ_Purple

    PPQ_Purple Techpriest Engineer

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2008
    Messages:
    4,702
    Seriously? I assume there is no way of fixing it ever. Dam
     
  16. MightyToad

    MightyToad Sith Lord

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2015
    Messages:
    477
    Maybe one of the code bois knows different? :dunno:
     
  17. PPQ_Purple

    PPQ_Purple Techpriest Engineer

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2008
    Messages:
    4,702
    I wonder if it can even be patched or if its in the unreleased part of the code. I'll have to check.
    Also, if the bug is new to 3.19 is there a way I could get a hold of the 3.18 code somehow? What was the earliest released version?
     
  18. f1rpo

    f1rpo plastics

    Joined:
    May 22, 2014
    Messages:
    1,156
    Location:
    Germany
    I'm not sure what animation this is about. In K-Mod, if I let some Fighters carry out air strikes against a group of Barbarian Mobile SAMs, an animation is played when an interception occurs: the launching station gets aimed toward the sky and the vehicle shakes a bit. I'm attaching a screenshot.

    I've put the whole patch history of Civ 4 on GitHub a few days ago (edit: Oh, I see you had already noticed.)
    https://github.com/f1rpo/Civ4CE/commits/main

    Looks like CvUnit::updateAirStrike is responsible for playing the animation (assuming that we're talking about the same thing). That function was added by patch 3.13; I don't see any changes to it in patches 3.19 or 3.17.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: May 17, 2021
  19. PPQ_Purple

    PPQ_Purple Techpriest Engineer

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2008
    Messages:
    4,702
    For some reason I couldn't get it to fire using a mod based on vanilla files. Which is odd because I have distinct memories of seeing it in games. Which is why I was confused.
    I spent a couple hours yesterday even before you replied using your repo to hunt down the relevant function and came to the same conclusion you did including the fact that there is no diff between the 3.13 and 3.19 versions of that function. Which got me even more confused.

    At this point I am beginning to question if my CD is scratched. Only toad says he has the same problem as well. Could it be something that was patched out by some major mod like BUG and everyone just uses from than on?
     
    Last edited: May 18, 2021
  20. <Nexus>

    <Nexus> Traveler of the Multiverse

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014
    Messages:
    4,847
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    In a constant brainstorm...
    Maybe a stupid question, but can't it be just some settings? :confused:
     

Share This Page