1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Preview: Star Trek Mod 2.0

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Star Trek Mod' started by deanej, Dec 27, 2008.

  1. Pablod

    Pablod Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2005
    Messages:
    294
    I Can Play
    I Dont Have First Ship
    Barbarian Apear To Soon Turn 47 In Maraton

    Marathon Need 475 Research Porcentage
    I AM USING PREVIEW 3
     
  2. deanej

    deanej Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Messages:
    4,859
    Location:
    New York State
    In 2.0 the following buildings will be added (for everyone):
    -Exocomp Center: Requires Exocomp tech, provides free Advanced Repair promotion for units build in city, required to build Exocomp unit
    -Geological Power Plant: slightly cheaper than Fusion Reactor, no resource requirement, small chance of meltdown (think Praxis).
     
  3. Imrahiel

    Imrahiel Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    98
    Good news.:)

    I think Praxis was not destroyed by a Geological Power Plant Explosion.
    From Star Trek Generations , we know the explosion of a star is not much faster then the light speed ( the Enterprise-D moved away with a speed not over warp 2). A Explosion with the whole energy of a Moon or Planet ( Praxis)
    can not have more energy then a star explosion, but several lightyears away from Praxis the Execelsior was hited by the explosionwave and that means that the explosionwave moved faster then the one in Generations or had more time to move. The second option is realy not the right one. The first option means that the explosion had more energy than a solar explosion.
    So my opion is that Praxis was destroyed by a big explosion of antimatter or a kind of subspace based technology.
     
  4. deanej

    deanej Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Messages:
    4,859
    Location:
    New York State
    In 2.0 the following units will be added (I think the last two are the most interesting):
    -Warp 5 Ship: Requires Warp 5 Drive, 1 strength, 1 move, 20 cost
    -Warp 7 Ship: Requires Warp 7 Drive, 2 strength, 2 moves, 40 cost
    -Starbase II: Requires Quantum Torpedo, upgrades from Starbase I, 40 strength, does more collateral damage than Starbase I (note: Starbase I reduced to 20 strength, requires Combat Shields)
    -Exocomp: Requires Exocomp Center in city, max 3 allowed, can rush production (1/20 strength of GE)
    -Sensor Station: built by Construction Ship, requires Long-Range Center, starts with Sentry and Tacheyon Detector (note: because of this I am considering reducing the cost of the cloaking device. Thoughts on this?)
     
  5. Pablod

    Pablod Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2005
    Messages:
    294
    yes more stuf for construction unit
    good job thank you
     
  6. apenpaap

    apenpaap Tsar of all the Internets

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,468
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    As it is now, the TOS and Movies eras are over really quick. Perhaps you should increase the cost of techs in these eras.
     
  7. deanej

    deanej Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Messages:
    4,859
    Location:
    New York State
    I've raised the tech cost for the TOS and Movies era techs. I've also attached a screenshot of the new models for the Sensor Station.

    Any feedback on whether to reduce the cloak cost or not? I was thinking of lowering it to 25 (from 50). It could help the AI as the sensor stations will make it much easier to detect cloaked ships (so much so that if used well the cloak is nerfed). However, the AI is probably oblivious to the mechanic and a lower cloak cost could be abused by human players, as well as making an AI that hoards its units in its cities worse.
     
  8. Pablod

    Pablod Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2005
    Messages:
    294
    levit as it is
     
  9. Majicman182

    Majicman182 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    When will 2.0 be near finished? I know you prob get asked that a lot but after playing the first mod...I gotta have me some more!!


    Also..I noticed half the races are from Voyager... ever consider adding more traditional races from the Alpha quad? Like the Gorn...Tholians.. Vulcans.. and lets not forget the most feared race in Star Trek... the Tribbles!! :crazyeye:
     
  10. deanej

    deanej Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Messages:
    4,859
    Location:
    New York State
    No idea. It won't take as long as 1.0. Mostly what I have left is finishing the new civs, the new leaders, unit models, and game text, as well as the scenarios.

    2.0 will add the Gorn, First Federation, and the Tholians, as well as a couple mirror universe civs. The only new Delta Quadrant civ is the Vaadwaur. After 2.0 is released version 3.0 will add four more Alpha Quadrant civs.
     
  11. deadliver

    deadliver Loud Mouth Amateur

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2003
    Messages:
    1,508
    Location:
    Anvilania
    I like this idea too! Birth of the Federation had a setup like this where you could "discover" minor races which each contributed something if they joined your faction.

    These minor factions did *okay* in BOTF but in Rhys I have seen minor factions hold their own against the major civs in amusing fashions sometimes.
     
  12. Imrahiel

    Imrahiel Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    98
    @deanjei:The new models lokk great pls give me them when they are finished.
    @deadliver: I said this mainly, because I will need them for my scenerario( the factions who join UFP later.
     
  13. Agent327

    Agent327 Observer

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Messages:
    16,059
    Location:
    In orbit
    I think cloak cost is fine as is; the problem is (was?) more that the AI doesn't seem to grasp what to do with it. At any rate, I still think Cloaking Device should be available to Romulans and Klingons, i.e. not attainable through combat (?!) or otherwise. Just my 2 cents.

    Sounds good (and from Preview 2.0 it also looks good)!:goodjob:
     
  14. deanej

    deanej Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Messages:
    4,859
    Location:
    New York State
    Those particular models are ported from Star Trek: Bridge Commander. I'm not sure how I'm going to get the models for the new races; I have the Tholians now as I used them in the 22nd Century scenario and the Terran Empire and Alliance don't need new models, but I'm not sure what I'm going to do for the others (Jaydn still hasn't replied to my PM and hasn't even been here in over a month; perhaps I should try email?). I did get the flags done, though (the first time I managed to make flags work properly, too!).
     
  15. Imrahiel

    Imrahiel Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    98
    When you can convert Bridge Commander files. Why do you not use the graphics frome the Brigdecommander moddingsites this is big a http://bridgecommander.filefront.com/ ?
    Just this site has over 100 models.
     
  16. deanej

    deanej Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Messages:
    4,859
    Location:
    New York State
    I may do that for the Gorn ships. However, as far as I know they don't have any ships for the First Federation or the Vaadwaur. In any case, conversions from Bridge Commander wouldn't have animations, as I have no idea how Jaydn did them. I could easily use the Swarm ships for the Vaadwaur though. Neither would be canon but their ships were small and barely seen anyways so it really doesn't matter (and it would put the swam ships to use).

    I suspect the units may now be using the default Final Frontier animations but I'm not sure. I'll use the swarm ships for the Vaadwaur and see what I can do for the Gorn. Won't be able to do anything for the First Federation, though.
     
  17. deanej

    deanej Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Messages:
    4,859
    Location:
    New York State
    Here's a preview of the unique buildings:

    Stasis Chamber (Vaadwaur, replaces Hospital)
    Stores 50% of food after growth
    Only 1 allowed per system

    Cultural Exchange (First Federation, replaces Library)
    +1 additional scientist

    Heater (Gorn, replaces Recreation Facilities)
    +1 additional health
    +1 additional happy

    Defense System (Tholian, replaces Planetary Defense Grid)
    Units build in city can see cloaked ships
    (note: because of this, the Dominion UU is being reduced in cost)

    Agony Booth (Terran Empire, replaces Jail)
    -75% war weariness, no spy specialist (but other espionage effects still apply)

    Labor Center (Alliance, replaces Factory)
    +1 additional engineer

    I've also added another tech; I'll reveal it with the UUs since it would fit in better with that preview.

    Spoiler :
    Let's just say that one of the civs gets this powerful tech instead of a UU.
     
  18. Agent327

    Agent327 Observer

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Messages:
    16,059
    Location:
    In orbit
    I really appreciate the extended tech tree for the main mod.:goodjob: After several trial games I've noticed however that getting that 1st ship design is giving several civs some trouble. In 3-4 trials at least 1 civ gets annihilated within the 1st 100 turns (in my previous game even 2 civs didn't make it through the 1st 50 turns). I think you should consider this an issue, especially with Pirate Scouts being able to attack.
     
  19. deanej

    deanej Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Messages:
    4,859
    Location:
    New York State
    Those previews out don't have the new units and reworked barbarian spawning. Though I haven't really tested this, I don't think it happens in the version I have (at least none fell in the first 50 turns when I was testing the new options from the Assimilation mod).
     
  20. Jaydn

    Jaydn Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Messages:
    89
    Hi I've returned... I think, just got your PM. I'll discuss further what models are needed and start ASAP.
     

Share This Page